Chevron Left
Back to The 3D Printing Revolution

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The 3D Printing Revolution by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
1,389 ratings
448 reviews

About the Course

This course will demonstrate how 3D printers work, show what people make with them, and examine the 3D printing ecosystem. It will also explore the future of 3D printing and discuss how this technology will revolutionize our world. The course materials include informative video lectures, on-location interviews with a variety of 3D printing experts, and engaging hands-on exercises. Learners who complete this introductory course will have a solid understanding of 3D printing and its revolutionary potential, and will be able to print and customize 3D designs. This course was listed in the top 50 MOOC's of all time by Class-Central (https://www.class-central.com/report/top-moocs/)...

Top reviews

RP
Jun 27, 2020

A must attend course for those who like innovation and engineering. Will become a must complete subject for engineering graduates. This technology will definitely be a part of our day to day life.

SA
May 8, 2020

It is an amazing technology that has revolutionized the world. This course really help me in understanding the 3D printers working principle and much more. I really feel proud to learnt about it.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 432 Reviews for The 3D Printing Revolution

By SAHIB A

Jul 28, 2020

It is good to intership

By Bishal s

May 18, 2020

it is a great course

By Alexander H

Dec 29, 2016

good introduction!!!

By Kirtikumar K

Jun 25, 2020

It was good

By Vikas P

May 30, 2020

Nice course

By ajay k v

Jun 12, 2020

Useful

By Ashutosh R K

Jun 21, 2020

Good

By Inbasekaran. K

Apr 23, 2020

good

By INGLE T R

Jul 16, 2020

.

By Ricardo H J P

Aug 13, 2017

The introductory course nr 1 was fine. Was a good way to start learning about 3D printing, with the indication of some interesitng resourses to know more if the student so wants. However, some of the material I would already revise. For example, in week two there is an interview with the CEO at Normal that produces earbuds, and after checking out this company on the web I got the impression that this company was not active any more. Possibly new companies have in the mantime formed, doing more interesting things. On the other hand, the course does not speak enough about bioprinting. With bioprining I mean not only food rpinting but alos organ printing. This is currently not developed enough to reach the consumer but is a reality which is around the corner and should be spoken more.

By Brenda Y

Jul 6, 2020

I think this would have been better as a documentary than a course, because there was a lot of introducing of different maker spaces and different people, which is not bad, but there was also not a lot of teaching, which is generally what most people are looking for. I got this course for free, but I can't imagine ever paying for this.

By Anthony E S

Nov 9, 2017

Good course, but not what I was expecting. Perhaps the rest of the specialization will give me more of what I was expecting.

By Darien N

Oct 14, 2019

Good overview of 3D printing, but does not go into the specifics and does not get technical.

By Himanshu P

Apr 5, 2020

It's more for beginners of 3d printer learners .but real-life application is good to watch

By Neftali W

Apr 30, 2016

Good information but way too short for what Coursera charges.

By LOKI S

Aug 21, 2020

Looking for more technical aspect, but great course anyways

By MR. R G

Jul 3, 2020

good course but try to add some technical content .

By Mehran B

Mar 11, 2018

the course wasn't as professional as I expected!

By Daryl m

Jun 28, 2016

good introduction to 3D printing

By David L V

Oct 20, 2016

Not according what I expected

By Aagam s s

May 21, 2020

good

By Dirk R

Apr 12, 2020

Assignments are interesting and you fell the enthusiasm of the team. However, whole course is interviews only, no slides, nothing in writing (I am quite a visual type of learner, therefore bad for me). Each of probably more than 30-40 videos has the same title strip and the same trailer at the end, together more than a minute so that you waste around 40 minutes of your time seeing the same (marketing material for their university and lab). Furthermore technology does not work well. videos repeat and repeat unless you go back to course overview and select the next one.

Some of the quizzes show up before the videos, so that I was wondering why i could only guess to answer some of the questions, later realizing that answers were given in the following videos.

Some of the quiz questions really strange and not fully covered in videos (and see above, no slide or anything you could use to resume what you should have learned)

TO SUMMARIZE - REALLY EXCITING CONTENT BUT COURSE NEEDS SIGNIFICANT IMPROVEMENT

By Cyndi W

May 20, 2016

I didn't really care about the stories from the students or seeing the space for one whole lecture video. It's clear that Ultimaker is the sponsor, but it felt like a commercial. I want to learn more.

By Deb K

Feb 7, 2020

Good over view of technology, good list of references and resources to explore more on your own. Didn't really need to be 2 "weeks" worth. Audit for the info.

By John w

Oct 6, 2020

Great for someone who knows nothing about 3d printing, but overly simplistic if you have any concept of whats going on in that space.