Chevron Left
Back to Accounting, Business and Society: The Multi-faceted Role of Accounting

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Accounting, Business and Society: The Multi-faceted Role of Accounting by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.8
stars
123 ratings
25 reviews

About the Course

Course Overview: https://youtu.be/v1JJ8y_Zq5U Accounting professionals are open up for more tasks and duties that require their professional skills and knowledge nowadays, and yet not exerting their expertise just the way it used to be. Without bogging you down with the mechanics of accounting, this course provides an overview of the multi-faceted role of accounting in business and social contexts. You will get to know the essential of businesses and how they must work around the notions of ethics, the corporate governance (CG) framework and how accountants function as one of the key players in the practices. An thriving area of corporate social responsibility (CSR) is also discussed. An illustrative approach will be adopted and you will be surprised by how closely accounting is related to things happening around you in your daily lives. By the end of the course, you are able to: • Describe the accounting process and different forms of business entities • Explain the regulatory framework of accounting profession, and how the profession can serve information needs of stakeholders of different forms of business entities • Describe the broad framework of ethics, corporate governance, and corporate social responsibility, and their interrelationships • Demonstrate the knowledge and respect of ethical behaviour of individuals, businesses, and professionals including accountants in particular • Explain what are good governance practices and how accounting contributes to such, for both performance and conformance purposes • Identify good or bad corporate governance and CSR practices of businesses, by making reference to real-life incidents...

Top reviews

PE
Jun 28, 2020

One of the best course which provides complete guidance and Carrer development in terms of accounting and business\n\nThanks for Professor Dennis chan for your lecture on this course

AG
Jun 15, 2020

This is one of the unique courses I completed in Coursera. The course is well crafted to bring in lots of concepts which are important while we study/teach business management.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 25 Reviews for Accounting, Business and Society: The Multi-faceted Role of Accounting

By Peter U

Feb 27, 2020

I sincerely want to say thank you.. coursera it is been a great experience.. I enjoyed every minute I spent learning the subject.. ROLE OF ACCOUNTING.. once more thank you

By John K T

May 16, 2019

Nice

By Md. N

Jun 12, 2020

This course is really helpful. I have learnt about the accounting, business forms, ethics, corporate governance, CSR, etc. through this course. The instructor is awesome. His method teaching, & presentation is excellent! The interview of Sir Leo Lee helped to know about the current change of accounting profession. Thanks.

By Sheetal A

Oct 27, 2020

It's indeed a very good platform that considers the applicability of the subject. Introduces many more avenues of learning within the subject and the presentation skills are truly wonderful. Happy to have attended the same....will inculcate the same in my teaching...

By SALAM M A

Aug 18, 2020

It is incredibly versatile for like myself as it provides excellent prospects of furthering my career. The lecturers are incredibly dedicated to achieve good grades. I have enjoyed every movement

Excellent, are very good quality.

By Prasanth. E

Jun 29, 2020

One of the best course which provides complete guidance and Carrer development in terms of accounting and business

Thanks for Professor Dennis chan for your lecture on this course

By ABIR G

Jun 16, 2020

This is one of the unique courses I completed in Coursera. The course is well crafted to bring in lots of concepts which are important while we study/teach business management.

By Aysha R

Jun 13, 2020

A good course , giving the necessary Information regarding the relation of accounting and business for beginners

By Lady A B

Oct 15, 2020

This course was so nice and easy to understand . I've learned a lot . thank you

By Myeen u A

Apr 20, 2020

This is absolutely helpful for ours

By Gayathri .

May 31, 2020

VERY NICE COURSE. VERY HELPFUL

By RITHEESH V V

Jul 2, 2020

Excellent & Looking Forward

By Tharun R

Aug 25, 2020

VERY HELPFUL FOR BEGINNERS

By Pooja K

Mar 27, 2019

this course is interesting

By Zandro A

Mar 15, 2020

Very informative WEL

By Satyanarayana D

May 24, 2020

Learned more skills

By HEYRAMB T

Oct 16, 2019

very informative

By Jamili E P

Aug 9, 2020

good readings

By Abhishek P

Mar 30, 2019

Good course.

By SHREYA S

Jun 3, 2020

This is a fantastic course. It helped me enhance my knowledge on various accounting practices, know about various ethical and unethical practices etc. It was really very informative.

By Harry Z

Sep 14, 2020

It was a very good course to introduce accounting to everyone. It talks about the need for accountants and corporate governance.

By Aishwarya

Sep 4, 2020

The course was helpful and the explanation was easily understandable and was really good.

By Akanksha

May 22, 2020

Amazing understanding to CG & CSR in accountancy.

By Abdul M V

Jun 13, 2020

Very Good

By Niyaz P A

May 28, 2020

Amazing course