Chevron Left
Back to Advanced Machine Learning and Signal Processing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advanced Machine Learning and Signal Processing by IBM

4.5
stars
1,120 ratings
201 reviews

About the Course

>>> By enrolling in this course you agree to the End User License Agreement as set out in the FAQ. Once enrolled you can access the license in the Resources area <<< This course, Advanced Machine Learning and Signal Processing, is part of the IBM Advanced Data Science Specialization which IBM is currently creating and gives you easy access to the invaluable insights into Supervised and Unsupervised Machine Learning Models used by experts in many field relevant disciplines. We’ll learn about the fundamentals of Linear Algebra to understand how machine learning modes work. Then we introduce the most popular Machine Learning Frameworks for python Scikit-Learn and SparkML. SparkML is making up the greatest portion of this course since scalability is key to address performance bottlenecks. We learn how to tune the models in parallel by evaluating hundreds of different parameter-combinations in parallel. We’ll continuously use a real-life example from IoT (Internet of Things), for exemplifying the different algorithms. For passing the course you are even required to create your own vibration sensor data using the accelerometer sensors in your smartphone. So you are actually working on a self-created, real dataset throughout the course. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you will also earn an IBM digital badge. To find out more about IBM digital badges follow the link ibm.biz/badging....

Top reviews

MM
Apr 28, 2020

I learned a bit in terms of signal processing and the theory behind that. That could have been a course by itself, but the addition of great machine learning material made it a wonderful experience.

A
Sep 7, 2018

A career changer course, thanks the hand-ons which is second to none, i have gained experience which on other online course can produce, thanks to IBM for this course which timely and excellent.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 199 Reviews for Advanced Machine Learning and Signal Processing

By Swarupa D

May 22, 2020

it's very helpful...Thank u Sir for guiding me

By Krishna K N

Apr 14, 2020

Programming exercises could be more difficult.

By Pragati A

Jun 28, 2020

Both of the instructors were really amazing.

By Jeffrey G D

Jan 15, 2020

Great concepts, but light on application.

By BAUDRY S

Nov 22, 2019

Some spelling errors here and there

By Rich E

Feb 25, 2020

Great explanations and examples

By 俊鴻 林

Dec 3, 2019

Thank courser and teachers

By Aditya K

Jun 27, 2019

Great learning!!!

By Megha S k

Sep 12, 2020

Very Good Course

By Chris E

Mar 23, 2021

A good summary of machine learning, but way too quick. Only skims the surface and I doubt anyone could come away from this course with a good understanding of the material. You will know how to write the required code in Apache Spark but fundamentals are limited, so developing and iterating your models outside of the code templates will be difficult. Likely to have a lot of people creating models that they have no idea about how they actually work, or even if they do work.

By Filip G

Sep 27, 2019

This course is second in the IBM specialization. It covers basic supervised and unsupervised ML models on a very high level with too little explanations. Especially around veryfing results and optimizing models. Metrics, crossvalidation and gridsearch are all explained on cca. 10 minutes! On top I can't figure out why did the authors put in a whole week on Fourier Transformation.. :S

By Stefan T

Dec 31, 2019

I don't like giving negative reviews, but for the amount of money asked for the certification I would expect better quality of material (audio especially). I took many courses back in the day it was free to do and the quality of material was much much higher.

The course is well presented, but if you don't use IBM environment and their libraries, you will not be so happy to follow.

By Jeramie G

Sep 4, 2019

The information and examples presented in this course are helpful and pretty easy to follow. My only complaint is - and this is true for a lot of these online courses - the programming assignments are way too easy.

I know this isn't a full-blown college level curriculum. I feel like I retain the material better when the assignments are more challenging.

By Roger S P M

Jan 29, 2019

This is the second in the Advanced certificate series. By this time you are starting to understand their teaching method. So it is a better experience than the first one. Also you are getting more experience with the studio, cloudant, and Node-RED - which is very helpful and rewarding.

By Mohsen F

Dec 24, 2020

It is supposed to be an advanced course but there is almost no advanced topic in this course and it is just a shallow overview of machine learning with the Pyspark. SystemML explanation was very vague and incomplete.

By Björn ' H

Sep 19, 2019

The assignments are too easy, the level of coding required is not very challenging, it's just a fill-in-the blanks exercise, I don't know if I could actually do any of these things on my own with a new data set.

By Michael P C

Nov 5, 2020

Excellent brief math lectures by Manchev. The course materials do MOST of the programming for you and so you only get a light exposure to the Apache Spark API -- insufficient to develop real proficiency.

By Greg R

May 12, 2020

Overall very useful material covered however I was disappointed that some key concepts such as Baynesian inference and PCA were not well explained. I supplemented most of that material from Youtube.

By Mario R

Aug 8, 2019

The learner needs to do more by his own. I think the course should follow up on the teaching style from the IBM specialization of Data Science. The teachers are good at replies.

By BORVORNTAT N

Jul 7, 2020

Assignments are too easy, and not cover every lecture that I have learned for advanced ML, also some of the lectures are quite short.

By Muhammad e

Mar 29, 2021

The weekly assignments are quite bad, and the course name ,advanced ML and signal processing, is misleading

By Anastasiia S

Sep 15, 2019

Not enough programming assignments and the ones in this course are too easy for the "advanced" course

By Salvatore S

Jan 11, 2020

The assignments are way too easy. Not very challenging for a course with 'advanced' in its title.

By Thiago d S B

Jul 7, 2020

Some videos with low quality so it was hard to read the code and lack of pratical exercicies

By Ayushman S

Jul 18, 2020

The course might need some updating, it does give a lot of information about many things.