Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.7
5,462 ratings
1,140 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second). Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top reviews

SG

Jan 20, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MM

Sep 29, 2017

good course, I like the fact you can use a lot of languages for you programming exercises, the content is really helpful, I would like to have more indications from the grading system to save time.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,071 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Akshath V

Jul 09, 2017

A excellent course to begin with competitive programming. Taking up this course helps you to understand many difficult concepts and get a grip over what you learned by solving the assignment questions.

By Arthur Z

May 17, 2017

Learned a lot of useful techniques in this course.

By Fangda C

Jun 21, 2016

I like it very very much. I would like to recommend this course to all of my friends.

By عبدالحميد ع ع

Sep 09, 2017

It is a wonderful but i recommend some examples on slides on python or c++ to clarify the concepts

By Kirill Z

Sep 18, 2016

very cool

By Gautham K G

Jan 01, 2017

Awesome! :D

By Куликова А Г

Oct 07, 2016

Прекрасный курс для начинающих!

By PrimeAI

Oct 06, 2016

Awesome!!! Thanks to all instructors.

By Rakesh G

Sep 25, 2017

Best course for algorithm

By Martin H

Feb 08, 2017

Very good design of course. It seems simple at the beginning but later very useful.

By Anand S S

Jan 22, 2017

Lots to learn and a great course.

By Nguyen M C

Oct 19, 2016

I think this course is pretty interesting!

By Sergei D

Dec 17, 2016

Everything was super. Extremely useful course.

By Oscar C

Nov 03, 2016

Really enjoyable, and a good learning curve

By Kapila P

Oct 17, 2016

awesoeme

By mohnorain@gmail.com

Mar 06, 2017

This is a very useful very rich algorithms course, it is one of the best i have ever attended online, i would really recommend this course to any one who wants a challenging algorithms program.

By Mohamed A

Dec 15, 2016

Really iam so so so happy :) this course is the best course i met before :) <3 <3 <#

By Madhav R

Feb 23, 2017

It was an awesome experience and this course is all one needs to get good at algortihms.

By Suresh K D

Nov 13, 2016

It's really insightful, It would be great if the test cases for each problems, shared with the student.

Thank you!

By Ananya G

Feb 11, 2018

Amazing course!

By Alexander D

May 16, 2017

Great introductory course. Lots of details and interesting problem sets. Extremely quick responses with the discussion forum. Great help.

One suggestion would be to be a bit better at explaining things, especially the mathematical proofs. They are quick rigorous, yes, but more emphasis should be given on understanding why in simple, human language. Then we could go over the proof together.

By Lucy W

Jan 21, 2018

Enjoyable videos, manageable assignments.

By Sahil B

Sep 15, 2016

Really Useful Content.

By David D

Feb 10, 2017

This was my first taste of algorithm design--I loved it! The course was challenging but just easy enough for me to get through in an unfamiliar language.

By Carlos D R S

Jun 26, 2017

Ta' con madre