Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
9,847 ratings
2,076 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

SG
Jan 19, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MM
Sep 28, 2017

good course, I like the fact you can use a lot of languages for you programming exercises, the content is really helpful, I would like to have more indications from the grading system to save time.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 2,000 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Hritik K S

Jul 11, 2019

Solving problem is my passion which I know, after taking this course.

By Mohit G

Jul 13, 2019

It was a very interesting course I enjoyed it and learned new things

By Jhosevic C

Jul 6, 2019

Magnífico curso, todo muy bien explicado y con ejercicios geniales.

By Rakshita M

Jun 18, 2019

Absolutely needed introduction to algorithms.

Thank You. :)

By RAJ S

Jun 24, 2019

Unique, Helpful, I am always eager to solve problems

By AKSHAY A

Jun 22, 2019

Good lectures and programming assignments !

By umang k g

Jun 17, 2019

it was good learning and excellent

By Ranjeet K M

Jun 10, 2019

An amazing course for Algo Lovers.

By Subash T

Jun 6, 2019

It was a very productive course

By Воробьев А А

Jun 2, 2019

Extremely useful course.

By Suman B

Jun 22, 2019

SELF PACED BEST COURSE

By Himanshu P

Jun 23, 2019

Exceptional material!

By Bhawana C

Jun 16, 2019

it is a nice course!

By Manish K J

Jun 18, 2019

Highly Recommended.

By Tantravahi A

Jun 22, 2019

Excellent intro

By Krishna s

Jul 5, 2019

Outstanding

By Abhishek G

Jul 12, 2019

excellent

By Mashhood A S

Jun 14, 2019

good

By Moaaz

Mar 17, 2019

The course content is really great. It helps with learning algorithms in a very neat and organised way.

However, the grading system is little bit hard to use. It is not interactive by any means and breaks sometimes with changing behavior.

By Lee M Y

Sep 25, 2020

Pretty good, lots of good practice but it gets extremely difficult later in the course. And since this is just the first course of the specialization, I think this specialization is going to be tough as hell

By Prabhuyadav P

Oct 24, 2018

language of professor in a dynamic programming part 1 is tough to understand and makes he concept even harder to understand through videos.(this is only for week5)

By Brian E

Mar 31, 2019

The lectures are hit and miss. Some are helpful, and others are pretty hard to follow. The coding challenges are helpful.

By Melody C

Aug 15, 2019

I'm giving 3 stars out of respect for the hard work the instructors, Coursera community and course mentors put together to make this course happen, but the quality of the course is at most 1-2 stars. I finished 100% of the assignments even though half of that was required to pass the course, and I have a few concerns about this course:

1 - Poor Use of Pseudo Codes. While Pseudo codes are perfectly fine and sometimes extremely helpful, none of the Pseudo codes in this course were intuitive and can be efficiently translated into real codes. First of all, variable names are confusing and do not tell you what this symbol holds at the first glance, just like how the whole course was taught in a mathematical way rather than programming way, variable names are all like i, j, s, t, l .... when we could have made them into something meaningful and readable.

2 - Since only Pseudo codes were given, it's hard for newer students to learn how a working algorithm actually looks like and how it runs at each step. I feel that either you already know how to do it, or you can't come up with one at all before debugging for hours. So it is more important to show something that actually works from the beginning, then students can imitate -> improvise -> create. Again the Pseudo codes are terrible examples.

3 - DP sections were badly explained, really really bad ........ any of the YouTube videos and GeeksforGeeks explanations are 10X clearer and more intuitive. I feel like the instructors just wanted to teach the math instead of how to program. But the math isn't any difficult to understand, the key is to convert ideas into codes, and this part was completely ignored.

By Joe M

Aug 24, 2018

There is barely any support for this course. On most assignments, if your code doesn't work, you get zero direction in regards to having any clue on how to proceed.

By Jibran Z B

Nov 7, 2019

The way of communicating can be improved, rest is good.