Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.7
5,459 ratings
1,139 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second). Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top reviews

SG

Jan 20, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MM

Sep 29, 2017

good course, I like the fact you can use a lot of languages for you programming exercises, the content is really helpful, I would like to have more indications from the grading system to save time.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,071 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Дон В Р

Sep 07, 2017

cool!

By Abhishek j

Sep 24, 2016

An exception and resourceful course from best instructors n teachers globally.I am glad to be a part of this.

By Nagaraj G

Dec 24, 2016

This is a fantastic course. Great material well supplemented by assignments.

By saurabh p

Dec 02, 2016

It was quite interesting .

By Rohit J

Aug 16, 2016

this course is very useful. Every topic is covered here and the assignments were also very effective to check your concept.

By Ahmad B E

Jul 28, 2017

Very good course especially for competitive programmers. Not like other courses on design algorithms which focus on teaching stander algorithms. This course focus on improving the ability to design and create new algorithms to solve real life problems which makes it prefect for competitive programmers.

By Aniket R

Dec 06, 2016

Awesome. Learnt many things.

By Aadil S

Jun 30, 2017

A must to do course for everyone interested in Computer Science

By Leonid G

May 30, 2017

Very good one!

By Imaani E

Jan 22, 2017

Great course - the problem sets were challenging and appropriate for the learning goals. For participants who have not been exposed to significant mathematical coursework, the mathematical notation may be intimidating at first, but is not an insurmountable obstacle.

By XIAO S

Feb 12, 2018

I really love this course, but the problem is that I hope to have better texts to read and understand.

By LI W

Oct 16, 2016

good!

By Rashmitha

Dec 11, 2016

Good content . And very good assignments.

By Nestor A

Jan 22, 2017

Very informative. I am a self-taught programmer, and this definitely helps with the programmer's mindset. Definitely challenging.

By Sawal M

Apr 18, 2017

Great course! The programming assignments are very helpful in understanding the topics in the course. It would be better if the threshold to pass the assignment is increased to 50% or more.

By Ваганов Н И

May 02, 2016

Very, very good!

By Elizabeth L

Aug 27, 2016

Awesome start! Loved the programming assignments!

By Unicorn

Jun 13, 2016

Pretty Nice

By Bjornn B O F F

Feb 19, 2017

Very interesting topic. Hard push

By pratik r

Sep 11, 2017

every important concept are cleared in this course.This course gives you idea to how to take right approach by giving tools like greedy algo, divide & conquer and dynamic approach.

By Shubham K

Nov 02, 2016

A good course , programming assignments are also good , even the discussion forums are good. Tutorials are wonderful everything is explained very clearly and hints are given at each point overall good for computer science undergrad.

By Joel D

Sep 01, 2016

Excellent course

By David F

Jan 30, 2017

Awesome course - one of my favorites I've done on Coursera. It's thorough yet clear. I also like that you can pass the course just by implementing the algorithms as shown in the lectures, but then each assignment has multiple additional problems which challenge you to think for yourself. Really great course design!

By 孟宇伟

May 20, 2016

I love it!!!!!!! excellent!

By Shree R K

Aug 31, 2016

Very good subject and very good topics presented. Professors are very good. And the video presentation is awesome.