Chevron Left
Back to Analysing Complexity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Analysing Complexity by Macquarie University

4.5
stars
124 ratings
37 reviews

About the Course

The first course of the specialization ANALYZING COMPLEXITY will teach you what unifying patterns lie at the core of all complex problems. It advances your knowledge of your own field by teaching you to look at it in new ways. ANALYZING COMPLEXITY is constructed in the following way: Week I. "What is Complexity?" - What is at the core of all complex problems Week II. "Complex Physical Systems" - What complex problems all have in common in the inanimate world Week III. "Complex Adaptive Systems" - What complex problems all have in common in nature Week IV. "Complex Cultural Systems" - What complex problems all have in common in human society Week V. "Complexity, Fragility, and Breakdown" - Why complex problems arise Week VI. "Complexity in the Anthropocene" - What complex problems face us today...

Top reviews

JW
Nov 7, 2018

This is a fascinating topic. I've been looking for something to provide a solid base for knowledge and this appears to be it. It gives me a different perspective about life and life challenges.

JB
May 14, 2017

Me gusto el curso. Una visión muy interesante acerca de porque aumenta la complejidad del ambiente que nos rodea aunque ello contradiga el segundo principio de la termodinámica.

Filter by:

26 - 37 of 37 Reviews for Analysing Complexity

By Ritesh A

Aug 19, 2020

V

By FJ K

Mar 10, 2020

The scope of the course is wonderful: big history tracking lines of development of life on Earth and the evolution of the Anthropocene. How do we analyse the big questions for today?

Not related to this and the other courses in the Specialization, the waiting for someone to grade your final assignment is very long. I've seen people waiting for more than a year. I've rated more than twenty final assignments for each course, and even that doesn't seem to be enough. This is why I won't rate the course with five stars.

Only do this course if you're not in a hurry to get your certification.

By Matthew H

Sep 9, 2020

I haven't done many courses on Coursera but this is one of my favourite ones so far. :-) I've always valued the concept of history and how it helps us to make more informed decisions for the future. The term 'Big History' and its content is new to me but it was a great introduction. The videos and extra resources (readings, videos, audios) add a lot of extra value to the course. Thank you for putting this together. Looking forward to the next three courses in the specialisation.

By Bernard D V

Aug 14, 2020

A fascinating course about complexity. The transdicisplinary approach is amazing. However, I don't really see the business impact of this course. I agree that it is important to be able to understand what is going on around us but it is too much according to me, I think that too many subject are being analysed through the lenses of complexity.

By Bjorn D

Feb 12, 2021

Super interesting! Well spoken video's, good pace, plenty of information in the course, and plenty of links to material on complexity by other institutes such as SFI and Stockholm Resilience Centre.

By Bhuwanesh M

Aug 11, 2020

Course is well structured very useful and relavent considering present scenario of world and education level & standard

By Saar H

Jan 31, 2020

Very insightful. The structure is well design and convay its unique approach to the subject.

By Bhavesh L

Jul 20, 2020

Excellent content.

By Niko S

Oct 31, 2019

The module was very broad, and at times made me frustrated as I was expecting more concrete learning. However, I was able broaden my views and thinking regarding complexity and was inspired to learn more. The major negative feedback concerns for the numerous missing or not working links, which hindered the learning process.

By Ige F O

Jul 7, 2020

It could be made simpler

By Yuqin L

Feb 18, 2021

sorry, fell asleep 2 minutes into the second video, I'm sure they are great lectures but the lack of passion and reading from a script makes it really hard to focus.

By Daniel H

Dec 31, 2020

No longer participating. As far as I got, it was a real let down as far as solving complex problems.