Chevron Left
Back to Front-End JavaScript Frameworks: Angular

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Front-End JavaScript Frameworks: Angular by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.7
stars
1,955 ratings
592 reviews

About the Course

This course concentrates mainly on Javascript based front-end frameworks, and in particular the Angular framework (Currently Ver. 6.x). This course will use Typescript for developing Angular application. Typescript features will be introduced in the context of Angular as part of the exercises. You will also get an introduction to the use of Angular Material and Angular Flex-Layout for responsive UI design. You will be introduced to various aspects of Angular including components, directives and services. You will learn about data binding, Angular router and its use for developing single-page applications. You will also learn about designing both template-driven forms and reactive forms. A quick introduction to Observables, reactive programming and RxJS in the context of Angular is included. You will then learn about Angular support for client-server communication through the HTTP client and the use of REST API on the server side. A quick tour through Angular animation support and Angular testing rounds off the course. You must have either completed the previous course in the specialization on Bootstrap 4, or have a working knowledge of front end web-UI frameworks to be able to navigate this course. Also a good working knowledge of JavaScript, especially ES 5 is strongly recommended. At the end of this course you will: - Be familiar with client-side Javascript frameworks and the Angular framework - Be able to implement single page applications in Angular - Be able to use various Angular features including directives, components and services - Be able to implement a functional front-end web application using Angular - Be able to use Angular Material and Angular Flex-Layout for designing responsive Angular applications - Be able to use Observables and RxJS in the context of Angular applications...

Top reviews

SD
Jun 13, 2020

Overall it is a great course.It would be appreciated if the mistakes in the instructions are rectified and the syntax which are outdated are updated in instructions which are provided with the course.

MW
May 17, 2020

The instructor was knowledgeable, patiently explained all aspects of the lectures and assignments, and provided useful exercises to acquire the skills of Angular framework. I even liked the dad jokes!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 592 Reviews for Front-End JavaScript Frameworks: Angular

By Sriram K

Mar 4, 2020

The course is a bit dated, it uses angular 6 , now it is 9

I have angular 9 installed globally on my machine and the exercise does not even compile.

I want a refund of the subscription please.

By Bachir C

May 5, 2020

I previously rated it as 5 stars, when I came to real life, the course is based on very old material, this is not acceptable at all !

By Sadiksha

Nov 29, 2018

This is a very good course on Angular whether you already have an experience with angular.js or only experience in javascript. This course provides with hands on experience with the concepts.

By shubhi d

Jun 14, 2020

Overall it is a great course.It would be appreciated if the mistakes in the instructions are rectified and the syntax which are outdated are updated in instructions which are provided with the course.

By Jad C

Aug 7, 2018

Jogesh Muppala is an excellent instructor! He explains very well the concepts of the framework (Angular) which let the student understand the topic in the right way.

By Max-Elie S

Aug 19, 2018

First, this is a great course to get familiar with a modern JavaScript web development framework. However, a lot of the course material is out of date.

This is mostly due to library versions changing at a fast rate, sometimes making instructions in the videos impossible to follow. Updated instructions are available in text format. The Test driven development section, for me, was the most frustrating. I did entice me to learn more about it, but I will have to do that elsewhere.

By Kajal D

Jan 1, 2019

Although videos are outdated but you have maintained updated angular's document which helped a lot.

Also reaching out to you for any doubt was easy

By Shawn A

Feb 2, 2019

Most concepts are clearly explained and the assignments are helpful

By Kishore K B

Jan 20, 2019

I learnt a lot of new things from this course

By Suzuma A B

Jan 2, 2019

i really like it .....

By Javier G H

Jan 30, 2019

Great course!!!!

By Bimal C K

Feb 1, 2019

Very Nice!!!

By kailas s

Jan 30, 2019

it was good

By Peter S

Nov 22, 2017

The second of 5 courses in the specialization. The 5 courses are 5 small shining gems: all extraordinarily well structured, up to date and to the point. The whole series is a complete overhaul of the material from an earlier specialization. The material has been updated and restructured. In this case the material moves from AngularJS to Angular(2). I took the old courseseries, but even then the new series was worthwhile for me.

By Gustavo H C L

May 8, 2020

Great content! I loved the explanations and material that the instructor gave to us through the course.

I was used to AngularJS and a little scared about the fact that Angular is an entire framework to learn. I heard that this framework was difficult to learn, but with this course I learned at least the sufficient knowledge to participate in projects where Angular is used.

By Matt W

May 18, 2020

The instructor was knowledgeable, patiently explained all aspects of the lectures and assignments, and provided useful exercises to acquire the skills of Angular framework. I even liked the dad jokes!

By Teo Y Z

Jul 22, 2019

I really enjoy this course so much. Just that maybe because of some version problem, i am not able to complete unit testing section, but it is optional, still fine.

By ISLAM K

Mar 5, 2020

angular application always crash because of versions incompatibilities , and you will not find a support or the proper ways to solve the issue

last time i followed instructions carefully , then at last after i installed font awesome module it crashed again my angular platform

By Ablajan S

Dec 23, 2017

One of the excellent courses I have taken. I learned a lot from this course. Really useful and very detailed.

Prof. Jogesh K. Muppala is a great instructor who has advanced teaching methods.

By Ivan M

Jun 1, 2019

There are way better quality online courses out there like Dan Wahlin's (angular.js, angular2) or Mongo University, where not only the information found in the Reference Guide is being taught, but the very concepts behind every aspect of the framework are being explained, ensuring better understanding of how things work. Course instructor clearly lacks teaching and speaking skills to the point it's not worth time spent listening to the instructions but instead concentrate on the code analysis and reference material.

By Lavangna D

Jun 29, 2020

I was unable to understand the basics of the angular , file structure not explained properly, directly jumped into creating components using CLI commands . Can be enhanced by teaching more essential things about angular diving into the basics.

By Sumit D

May 5, 2020

Very good course for a person who wants to learn from scratch. The assignment part is the best for testing whether you're really learning or not. So overall very goof course on Angular framework.

By Juan C

Apr 20, 2020

I think the course is great to get the fundamentals of Angular 6. The only reason I don't rate it with 5 starts is because is out of date. At the time I took the course the Angular version available was 9. In spite of that, I think the content is adequate and focalizes in the basics needed to start a personal project.

By Rob J

Jun 2, 2018

Versions of the various Angular modules that are used in the lessons are not up to date

By Kyle M

Jun 8, 2020

Pros: The course is structured appropriately so that it is neither hand-holding or leaving anyone with any intermediate coding knowledge behind from one step to the next. The course is do-able with the latest versions of technologies referenced.

Cons: You should be already proficient with understanding technology documentation as the versions and methods used in this course are very outdated and never updated. The discussion boards are full of questions never answered by the instructor. Grading the work is useless as most submissions are plagiarized or incomplete. Honors was impossible. Only plagiarized/empty submissions and the same people I failed for cheating failed me back.