Chevron Left
Back to Applied Data Science Capstone

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Data Science Capstone by IBM

4.7
stars
5,722 ratings
756 reviews

About the Course

This capstone project course will give you a taste of what data scientists go through in real life when working with real datasets. You will assume the role of a Data Scientist working for a startup intending to compete with SpaceX, and in the process follow the Data Science methodology involving data collection, data wrangling, exploratory data analysis, data visualization, model development, model evaluation, and reporting your results to stakeholders. You are tasked with predicting if the first stage of the SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will land successfully. SpaceX advertises Falcon 9 rocket launches on its website, with a cost of 62 million dollars; other providers cost upward of 165 million dollars each, much of the savings is because SpaceX can reuse the first stage. Therefore if you can accurately predict the likelihood of the first stage rocket landing successfully, you can determine the cost of a launch. With the help of your Data Science findings and models, the competing startup you have been hired by can make more informed bids against SpaceX for a rocket launch. This course is the final course in the IBM Data Science Professional Certificate as well as the Applied Data Science with Python Specialization. It is expected that you have completed all of the prior courses in the specialization/certificate before starting this one, as it requires the application of the knowledge and skills taught in those courses. In this course, there will not be too much new learning, and instead, the focus will be on hands-on work to demonstrate what you have learned in the previous courses. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you will also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course....

Top reviews

LD
Oct 23, 2019

Its was great experience in completing the project using all skills that we learned in the course, thanks to coursera and IBM for giving me an opportunity to update my selft and also to test my skills

SG
Mar 3, 2020

Very good capstone project. Learnt lot of insights on how to represent data through out this course.\n\nVery good starting point for ""Data Science" field. I would definitely recommend this course.

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 757 Reviews for Applied Data Science Capstone

By yelamanchili v r

Jun 13, 2020

good to have it very complicated unless you complete the previous courses of this relavent specialization

By Hugo R

Oct 21, 2019

The contents of the courses are good, but I feel that there could be more support to student questions.

By Alex S

Mar 10, 2019

Good course that teaches the fundamentals of Data Science, although not much focus on machine learning.

By Wilton B

Sep 29, 2019

Challenging and good, it is good to be creative and invest the necessary hours to get a good project.

By Seungwon ( S

Jun 9, 2019

touch assignment but it drives me to keep studying and research from several sources on the web. ;)

By Mehregan K

Sep 9, 2020

This course allows you to apply modern techniques to real life tasks and consolidate your skills.

By David R J

Jun 28, 2020

Really good, the only issue was the doubts I could have and I had to search them on the internet.

By Marcos C S

Jul 26, 2021

excellent, the most important was the final project. the practice was useful - very practical

By Ammar B

May 29, 2020

Excellent course for applying the knowledge learned throughout the certificate program.

By Srinivas S R B

May 2, 2020

Wonderful Expericence But I Didnt get the Specilization Badge Only Capstone badge I got

By LINSON P

May 24, 2020

its a very good program for those who wants to start with the basics of data science

By Amy E

Jun 12, 2020

It's great. Minus one star for changing an assignment's requirements in the middle.

By Kartik N

Jul 3, 2020

you should allow students to use datasets other than which requires Foursquare

By RICHARD D

Apr 6, 2020

This Course is one of the Best Course to enlighten your Data science carrier.

By Kevin H

Mar 12, 2019

The project more or less limit the ML algorithm to unsupervised learning only

By Ravindra D

Nov 20, 2019

Hands on project it involves and let us do all the concepts learnt so far.

By Sachin K K

Aug 29, 2020

Great course as it provides the best knowledge and hands-on experience.

By Varun V

Mar 13, 2019

The course should have explained more about using the Four Squrae API.

By Xin G

Feb 27, 2020

almost the best and available recourses for data science beginners!

By Poongodi P

Jul 27, 2021

Excellent but restrictions on usage of foursquare was a draw back

By Nguyen T H

Mar 19, 2020

Can we have more Artificial Intelligence algorithm in this course

By Roger S P M

Jan 18, 2019

Hard final assignment. But a good way to wrap up the certificate.

By Constantinos L

Nov 2, 2019

Was very good although I was expecting something more advanced

By VIGNESHKUMAR R

Dec 25, 2019

Learn new concept in this course .Thanks to IBM and coursera.

By Daniel D

Sep 22, 2021

A good level of challenge, didn't need the 50 slide PP.