Chevron Left
Back to How to Apply to College

Learner Reviews & Feedback for How to Apply to College by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
81 ratings
22 reviews

About the Course

How to Apply to College will empower learners of all backgrounds to demystify and better understand the college search and selection process, combining the expertise of an Ivy League admissions office and a leading college access and success organization. Led by expert educators, including Eric J. Furda, Dean of Admissions at the University of Pennsylvania, and Dr. Sean Vereen, President of Steppingstone Scholars, Inc., this free course will help students, family members, college counselors and any inquisitive learner to navigate each stage from the start of the college search process through the transition into a college environment. Through dialogue with students applying to and currently in college as well as campus advocates, How to Apply to College also aims to close the information gap for students who may be the first in their family to attend college and students who are underrepresented in higher education. A range of video and web resources are provided through a collaboration with a number of educational partners including The Common Application, with nearly 700 colleges on the application platform, and Raise.me, which provides a new way for high school students to earn money for college starting in 9th grade based on their achievements in school and life. Other resources and tools featured in the course include Naviance, College Greenlight, College Scorecard, BigFuture by the College Board, College and Pell Abacus, ZeeMee and Federal Student Aid....

Top reviews

H

Sep 01, 2019

I wanted to apply for my masters in the US. This course has been clearing all my doubts. This gives me good knowledge on how to select a college or university.

VR

Dec 08, 2017

Highly recommended course if you are about to apply to college! It gives you a very good idea of how it all works, great advise and resources.

Filter by:

1 - 22 of 22 Reviews for How to Apply to College

By Deleted A

Feb 04, 2019

This course offers every little detail you need to know about college.

By Marco L

Feb 12, 2019

Best app to use for your future plans.

By Purvi S

Feb 14, 2019

Excellent course even for international students who are just beginning to think about the college application process.

By Lindsey B

Mar 04, 2019

loved it

By Veyonce’ W

Mar 22, 2019

It was a good experience.

By Sofia G

Aug 07, 2017

Great!

By Robell Y

Apr 16, 2018

Very detail

By Romuald D

Jul 25, 2017

A good and comprehensive course. The instructors are expert in their fields and the additional resources are very relevant.

By Zander L

Mar 20, 2017

Great tool for students!

By Maab A

Sep 25, 2017

amazing

By Ben D

May 14, 2017

Great resources for DIY student! Really eye-opening information that you need to have before apply U.S. Universities.

By Wendy R

Aug 01, 2017

Good course for students and counsel

By Veronica R

Dec 08, 2017

Highly recommended course if you are about to apply to college! It gives you a very good idea of how it all works, great advise and resources.

By Adam A

Jun 09, 2018

Excellent course. But it's a good idea to issue the certificate of completion.

By Aashka

Mar 08, 2017

Fantastic!

By emiliano t

Jul 24, 2019

very informative.

By Junghoon

Aug 25, 2019

This course helped me navigate through a daunting college application process. I highly recommend the course to students and parents who are looking for some assistance with the college admission process.

By Hemprakash P

Sep 01, 2019

I wanted to apply for my masters in the US. This course has been clearing all my doubts. This gives me good knowledge on how to select a college or university.

By Sahire E

Aug 07, 2017

It is a good introduction to a long and stressful process.

By Taghizadeh

Jun 06, 2018

Informative course. Good for high school students.

By James S

Apr 09, 2019

Horribly slanted with political correctness, racism against whites (and Asians), and local (Philadelphia) concerns which do NOT belong in a MOOC. The idea was great; the implementation (partnering with a special interest) was horrid.