Chevron Left
Back to International Law in Action: the Arbitration of International Disputes

Learner Reviews & Feedback for International Law in Action: the Arbitration of International Disputes by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
257 ratings
38 reviews

About the Course

‘The Arbitration of International Disputes’ is the third course of Leiden University’s series on International Law in Action. The first course covered generalities on the international courts and tribunals in The Hague, while the second course provided an insider's perspective into the work of international criminal courts and tribunals. This third course explores the major aspects of international arbitration as one of the most common method of international dispute settlement . Through this course you will gain an in-depth understanding of the various facets of international arbitration through the analysis of its role as a mechanism of dispute settlement, its institutions, the fields of law it is applicable to, and, of course, its most famous awards. The main question we will answer together during this course is "Can international arbitration contribute to the creation of a peaceful world through the settlement of disputes between States and between States and non-State actors?" In order to do so, we will learn the basic historical concepts or arbitration, as well as everything there is to know about the Permanent Court of Arbitration, based in The Hague. We will then dive into the role of international arbitration in settling disputes relating to the Law of the Sea, with a particular insight into the landmark South China Sea Arbitration. For an entire module, we will focus on investment arbitration, its principles and the procedure of the ICSID, the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes. We will conclude the course with a module on the interplay between state immunity and enforcement of arbitral awards. This is brought to light through the Yukos Arbitration which is a perfect illustration of the topic. This course offers you an opportunity to gain a better insight into international arbitration, its role and the current issues relating to it. You will gain in-depth knowledge of the principles and rules of arbitration. You will explore the topic through concrete examples and the most prominent arbitrations. You will also grasp the notion of international arbitration navigating between law and politics. International arbitration and The Hague go hand in hand: several key arbitration institutes are located in The Hague and important disputes were settled here through arbitration. The Hague is, so to speak, ‘the place to be for international arbitration’, especially when we are dealing with arbitration between States, or arbitration of investment disputes between foreign investors and States. Join us for the course and become an expert on international arbitration! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera....

Top reviews

HM

Apr 06, 2018

This was a very insightful course. The manner in which it is structured allows a considerable in-depth coverage of content and direction for further personal development.

RK

Jul 12, 2018

The course content was really good and met my expectations. I am very thankful to both the instructors for designing this wonderful course

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 38 Reviews for International Law in Action: the Arbitration of International Disputes

By Okachi A

Nov 13, 2018

It gave a broad understanding of international Arbitration and the law of the sea, international investment laws and others.

By Maureen S

Mar 23, 2018

Excellent course. Lectures are clear and concise. Testing is relevant and designed to help you understand the material.

By Irfan J

Nov 19, 2018

Excellent course and materials. The course has acted as a refresher for my understanding of international arbitration law. The video lectures are comprehensive and recommended reading lists are very helpful. Thanks a lot to Universiteit Leiden and the course organisers.

By Luka J

Nov 17, 2018

I have done the first two weeks and do recommend the course to all who have an interest in international arbitration. The course is easily accessible and provides you with an overview of all the major areas of the subject.

By Mukhtar K

Nov 19, 2018

Thank you for everything thank you very much for organizing such a chance. Thanks to this course, I gained new knowledge and information that was very useful to me. I would like most people to be aware of this course, thank you for doing something useful to people who are scared of such a system

By Elif Ö K

Feb 06, 2019

It was a useful and introducing course to learn the essential points about the arbitration in a simple and complete way.

By jacquesndjoku

Nov 10, 2018

C'est génial, ce cours!

By Oduor K K

Nov 10, 2018

Very helpful, especially the material which were shared. I would be using them in future.

By Sun J

Feb 10, 2019

Excellent course for Law school students to start learning arbitration in a systematic way.

By Zuzana M K

Feb 17, 2019

Excellent course for beginners to the international investment law and arbitration.

By Mohamed M G

Feb 17, 2019

The course content is clearly articulated and the mode of delivery (lecture videos) very personal and accommodating. I have thoroughly enjoyed and gained so much from the course work that I feel ready to practice Arbitration of International Disputes.

I highly recommend this course to any person interested in this field.

By Archa R

Mar 19, 2019

Absolutely loved it. It was highly informative and very useful.

By TULIKA S

Oct 12, 2018

The course was knit to perfection.

By Ethige B S

Oct 26, 2018

The course International Law in Action: the arbitration of international disputes is explanation very good and starting one and two lessons are not so difficult. But third questions are bit difficult. May be fourth and final exam might be like third questions have to spend more time to answer. I am studying law because of involving United Nation activities and improve my knowledge and not to become a professional layer. Thank very much Coursera helping to study law. Best wishers to the Coursera organization team.

By Ridhima S

Oct 28, 2018

Very Beneficial Course

By Ridwan K O

Nov 02, 2018

Excellent....Just excellent

By Rohit K

Jul 12, 2018

The course content was really good and met my expectations. I am very thankful to both the instructors for designing this wonderful course

By saurabh s

May 11, 2018

Excellent course for those who are engaged in international dispute settlement and it will serve as much needed food for thought for those who wishes to build their intellect in given field. It is also a gateway for those who wishes to see themself in Hague and particularly who want to do an advance LLM which Leiden University is about to offer. Highly recommendable!.

By Ngọc H L

May 15, 2018

Very informative and helpful

By LIU L

Mar 16, 2018

excellent! I have learned a lot of things !

By Ilanka

Feb 12, 2018

Concise and informative. Very good course for beginners. Thank you!

By Omar M

Mar 19, 2018

The course was very instructive.

By Yasmin C

Jul 06, 2018

amazing materials, really good content, best prefessors!

By Arvin A O

Feb 08, 2018

The videos are instructive. The readings are relevant. The instructors are great. The course can be done at one's pace and preferred time. Overall, the course is a great place to start if one wishes to embark on a deeper understanding of international arbitration.

By MOHAMAD S M S

Jun 07, 2018

Recommended to all!