Chevron Left
Back to Autism Spectrum Disorder

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Autism Spectrum Disorder by University of California, Davis

4.7
stars
2,112 ratings
525 reviews

About the Course

Understanding the characteristics of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and their implications for behavior, learning and the ability to process information is critical for anyone working or interacting with those on the spectrum -- educators, clinicians, counselors, therapists, medical staff, family and employers. This course will give you a fundamental understanding of what ASD is, how it is diagnosed, the primary areas of impairment, and why prevalence is increasing. Examine the developmental and sensori-motor differences that may impact academic, play, social and self-help skills at different stages of life, including the transition to higher education and employment. Gain a clear understanding of how sensory regulation differs for individuals on the spectrum, and explore practical tools for identifying triggers and communicating feelings. Learn to use evidence-based practices to provide effective interventions and explore typical strengths and weaknesses of individuals on the spectrum in relation to identified impairments. The course culminates with a description of the ASD system of care, an overview of the National Standards Report studies and treatments, and an explanation of how evidence-based practices are established and implemented. Those seeking a more in-depth, instructor-led experience are encouraged to check out the Professional Concentration in Autism offered by UC Davis Extension: https://extension.ucdavis.edu/certificate-program/professional-concentration-autism-spectrum-disorders...

Top reviews

AS
Sep 22, 2020

I thought that this course was very informative for being an overview of ASD. I know that there is so much to learn about Autism, but this course was a great starting block for learning about ASD.

MF
Feb 13, 2016

Very interesting and informative. I taught children with special needs for 33 years. I think this course would be very helpful to new teachers and anyone interested in learning basic info on ASD.

Filter by:

501 - 522 of 522 Reviews for Autism Spectrum Disorder

By Julie D

Mar 17, 2018

It's very focused on the American system. (which isn't bad, but it's not for me.)

there are problems with the sound not fitting with the image shown sometimes

By Andrea J V

Mar 12, 2018

The material was good, but I really think access to the quizzes should be free. Especially since so many lectures all but advertised the UCDavis centre.

By Pat D

Jul 6, 2016

The course had some useful content, but there was too much time spent on USA centred materials for an iavailabe course.

By Sara A

Oct 5, 2017

Good course ... but it gives so basic information. I wish it gives more deep and specialized information about autism.

By fouad m

Sep 22, 2019

overall experience was good, but efforts could be implemented to stream newer videos and develop smarter quizzes

By Elena A

May 11, 2017

It was interesting but not profound. You had to buy the course in order to submit the quiz.

By Anjana M

Oct 21, 2020

I would have liked to learn more about the neurological basis of ASD

By Sushmita J

Jan 4, 2017

a good course, especially if you are not too aware of Autism

By Sidra A

Apr 9, 2020

very basic for an occupational therapist,

By Claire A

Sep 3, 2016

Good introduction to ASD.

By Manoj J

Feb 13, 2016

This course is informative and introductory. It has a value in generating a general awareness about ASD. It would be useful for parents and learners who are new to disability issues. The content can be used for introducing and familiarizing with clinical practice with ASD. But this course has the limitation on following grounds

1. The contents of the course are coloured with medical perspective and with pathological view point

2. At some point this course appeared like an advertisement for the institute and its research work

3. This course tried to cover too many things like theory, practice, research, experience and so on. But at the end it failed to do justice all

4. Finally the contents are infected with virus of medicine, market and military science. Terms such as intervention, package, therapy so many terminology. The unfaithful use of "social" in few instance look like an altruism to social science by dominant discipline.

I am sure that this course has market. Evidence based research/ practice will corroborate it. Best wishes

By Verity T

Oct 7, 2020

Some good information regarding strengths and weaknesses and the potential causes behind some behaviours. However the input from young people and adults was lacking and as a result did not provide a very rounded or informed perspective. Additionally, the suggestion that neurodiverse adults should seek out unpaid internships and voluntary work to develop professional skills is actively contributes to the unemployment/underemployment of people with a disability, particular those who have achieved high school or higher education.

On the whole I think this was quite a reductive view of autism, and while it may be useful in assisting in the education and support of very young children, I don't believe this adds value to supporting school aged children and may be detrimental as the children get older. Please look to incorporate more perspectives from actual neurodiverse/autistic people

By Stevie H

Sep 14, 2020

They do have some useful information within this course, but a majority of it is pushed to perceive autistic people as diseased and something to be fixed. One example of this negative teaching is when they provide resources from the hate group Autism Speaks. If you really wish to learn about Autism Spectrum Disorder, youtube videos from autistic individuals would be far more useful and accurate.

By Giuliana B L

Mar 23, 2020

O tipo de recurso para as aulas não é interessante, não há leitura complementar e há muitos vídeos para explicar os objetivos de aula, o que deixa o curso bem cansativo, com vídeos que não trazem conhecimento.

By Gregory W C

Mar 13, 2016

Aimed at those needing to get services -- in a spectrum of family living. Too much on California systems, not enough on direct coping with day-to-day.

By lisa m e

Aug 17, 2016

Lots of theoretical information but very little practical information about what to do with people with Autism Spectrum Disorder

By Esther K

Aug 22, 2020

This course portrays autism as something negative by referring to symptoms as "red flags", by supporting Autism Speaks which talks about autism as something horrible that needs to be cured (and who does several other problematic things) and by having ties with institutions who believe/propagate that autism is caused by vaccines. How Coursera let this course on their platform is beyond me and I have already made an official complaint against them. I hope this course gets taken down and that the creators will be ashamed of themselves.

By Stephanie W

Jan 16, 2016

I was really, really hoping that this course would be educational. I personally work with an individual with AS and I excepted to have a better insight into some of the things he goes through. So far, however, I have found many of the lectures condescending. As a person with a disability I find it highly offensive when people speak like they're doing the person with whatever kind of disability a favor for even helping them. People with disabilities are just that, people.

By SANDRA L G

Aug 30, 2020

They gave false claims that the course was available in Spanish. How come someone thinks that just because the videos have subtitles, it's considered as an "Spanish Course". I encountered the horrible surprise that the test in each module was in english. How you expect me to answer those questions if I'm not an english speaker, but again, you claim that the course was in Spanish. Shame on you.

By Mercutio H

Nov 23, 2020

Autism Speaks is a hate group that should not be featured as a credible source on autism. Interview actually autistic people instead of just their neurotypical parents. This course perpetuates a lot of harmful, offensive, and untrue misconceptions about autism. Were any actually autistic adults consulted during the making of this course??

By Sandra K

Apr 14, 2020

Based on stereotypes and unevolved misunderstandings about autism. Little substance supported by the actually autistic community. Not a course that enables understanding of the neurotype.

By Camilla Z

Feb 19, 2016

I found it very easy. But if you do not know anything about Autism, I think you might would contribute from it.