Chevron Left
Back to Autism Spectrum Disorder

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Autism Spectrum Disorder by University of California, Davis

4.7
stars
2,112 ratings
525 reviews

About the Course

Understanding the characteristics of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and their implications for behavior, learning and the ability to process information is critical for anyone working or interacting with those on the spectrum -- educators, clinicians, counselors, therapists, medical staff, family and employers. This course will give you a fundamental understanding of what ASD is, how it is diagnosed, the primary areas of impairment, and why prevalence is increasing. Examine the developmental and sensori-motor differences that may impact academic, play, social and self-help skills at different stages of life, including the transition to higher education and employment. Gain a clear understanding of how sensory regulation differs for individuals on the spectrum, and explore practical tools for identifying triggers and communicating feelings. Learn to use evidence-based practices to provide effective interventions and explore typical strengths and weaknesses of individuals on the spectrum in relation to identified impairments. The course culminates with a description of the ASD system of care, an overview of the National Standards Report studies and treatments, and an explanation of how evidence-based practices are established and implemented. Those seeking a more in-depth, instructor-led experience are encouraged to check out the Professional Concentration in Autism offered by UC Davis Extension: https://extension.ucdavis.edu/certificate-program/professional-concentration-autism-spectrum-disorders...

Top reviews

AS
Sep 22, 2020

I thought that this course was very informative for being an overview of ASD. I know that there is so much to learn about Autism, but this course was a great starting block for learning about ASD.

MF
Feb 13, 2016

Very interesting and informative. I taught children with special needs for 33 years. I think this course would be very helpful to new teachers and anyone interested in learning basic info on ASD.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 522 Reviews for Autism Spectrum Disorder

By Maureen

Jan 30, 2016

Me ha gustado mucho, es sencillo y claro. Ha contribuido mucho a mi preparación profesional en Psicología

By Kat

Nov 12, 2020

I hope there are more of these courses that give us educators knowledge about autism spectrum disorders.

By Ana P G C C

Oct 30, 2020

I loved learning a lot about autism spectrum <3 I feel so passionate to advocate for this amazing people

By Mel M

Oct 22, 2020

I was really interesting. The videos were short and full of information, I didn´t get bored :3 5 starts.

By Ruth F

Dec 4, 2016

There was a wealth of good information, strategies and ideas for working with children that have autism.

By Rebecca S M

Aug 5, 2020

Love the course. The videos, in particular, were fabulous. Thanks for making my quarantine productive!

By Valentina D P

Jul 16, 2020

Excelente oportunidad para expandir un poco los conocimientos sobre el trastorno del espectro autista.

By Angela G

Sep 1, 2020

Excelente curso, información realmente útil y relevante para complementar conocimientos profesionales

By SUSHIL K S V

Feb 19, 2019

The narrator was monotonous, however the course was enlightening to an extent and reinforced learning

By Clinton S T

May 16, 2018

Very helpful class for anyone wanting to expand his or her knowledge about Autism Spectrum Disorders.

By Danielle C

Sep 18, 2017

Very Informative. Great for everyone to establish or reestablish introductory level knowledge of ASD.

By Lucia L

Oct 19, 2020

El curso fue muy informativo, me ayudo mucho a entender como ayudar a mi hijo con TEA.

Muchas gracias

By Nguyễn T N T L

Mar 29, 2020

The course provides me with a lot precious knowledge of ASD. Thank teachers and instructors so much!

By Mohammad F B M J

Aug 15, 2020

The course was precise and concise and it was good for someone who don't know about autism like me.

By Büşra K

May 6, 2020

Thanks to this training, I learned a lot of information about individuals with autism. Thank you :)

By Valeria G

Aug 29, 2020

Es excelente, dinámico y con mucha información. Me ayudo a ampliar mis conocimientos sobre el TDA.

By Pilar A B Á

Sep 26, 2019

Excelente curso, aprendì muchas cosas que puedo utilizar en mi quehacer profesional!!! me encantò!

By Rebecca C

Nov 12, 2020

As a parent with a child on the spectrum it was really helpful to learn the information provided.

By munazzah n

Aug 17, 2020

This course was easy to follow and i liked the pace of it. Informative and eye opening. Thank you

By Esther F M

Aug 10, 2020

Although it was just basic learnings but I gained many and relevant information about this topic.

By Dimple m

Mar 22, 2016

An excellent overview of what ASD means and well designed foundation program for new beginners .

By Natalia P

Oct 19, 2019

Great inro course, everybody should complete it for better understanding of people in spectrum.

By Aditya K P

Apr 28, 2018

As an autism parent, I knew everything but the last week. The last week was more than worth it.

By Uma R

Dec 10, 2016

I work with kids with special needs, this course has helped to understand kids with ASD better.

By Morgana A V

Jul 22, 2020

Ótimo curso! Diversas informações e orientações importantes. Explicação muito clara e precisa.