Chevron Left
Back to Autism Spectrum Disorder

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Autism Spectrum Disorder by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
937 ratings
251 reviews

About the Course

Understanding the characteristics of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and their implications for behavior, learning and the ability to process information is critical for anyone working or interacting with those on the spectrum -- educators, clinicians, counselors, therapists, medical staff, family and employers. This course will give you a fundamental understanding of what ASD is, how it is diagnosed, the primary areas of impairment, and why prevalence is increasing. Examine the developmental and sensori-motor differences that may impact academic, play, social and self-help skills at different stages of life, including the transition to higher education and employment. Gain a clear understanding of how sensory regulation differs for individuals on the spectrum, and explore practical tools for identifying triggers and communicating feelings. Learn to use evidence-based practices to provide effective interventions and explore typical strengths and weaknesses of individuals on the spectrum in relation to identified impairments. The course culminates with a description of the ASD system of care, an overview of the National Standards Report studies and treatments, and an explanation of how evidence-based practices are established and implemented. Those seeking a more in-depth, instructor-led experience are encouraged to check out the Professional Concentration in Autism offered by UC Davis Extension: https://extension.ucdavis.edu/certificate-program/professional-concentration-autism-spectrum-disorders...

Top reviews

MF

Feb 14, 2016

Very interesting and informative. I taught children with special needs for 33 years. I think this course would be very helpful to new teachers and anyone interested in learning basic info on ASD.

KS

Sep 15, 2017

Loved the videos, lots of good material. Wish there had been more discussion, but I was so busy, I might not have been able to participate very much. Overall helpful and useful in my profession.

Filter by:

226 - 247 of 247 Reviews for Autism Spectrum Disorder

By Katharine A

Jan 06, 2016

Very helpful information particularly in the earlier weeks. I found the last couple weeks less helpful because of the large quantity of listed interventions without elaboration/examples - I did read the attached report but would have found it helpful to see some of the interventions demonstrated either via a video or diagram. Temple Grandin is a great documentary and I appreciated hearing her perspective regarding tactile sensitivity. She's also a great example of a person with autism who has developed her strengths and worked around her weaknesses and is a highly functional and successful individual. Overall enjoyed this class. Thanks!

By Bhrigu M

Mar 11, 2019

Good course covers everything related to ASD ,I feel the lecture goes at a very fast pace without explaining much. anyhow I completely enjoyed the course I being a special educator is confident enough this course has widened my horizons. Thanks to the UC Davis mind institute team.

By Elizabeth N

Feb 15, 2016

Could be more computer friendly. Had good information but hard to engage because the majority of the lectures are just powerpoints with the professor talking over them.

By Ana C M B

Mar 13, 2017

There are some errors on the quizzes in between the videos. I had to skip a lot of them because it wound't accept the correct answer. I liked the testimonial videos.

By Julie D

Mar 17, 2018

It's very focused on the American system. (which isn't bad, but it's not for me.)

there are problems with the sound not fitting with the image shown sometimes

By Andrea J V

Mar 12, 2018

The material was good, but I really think access to the quizzes should be free. Especially since so many lectures all but advertised the UCDavis centre.

By Pat D

Jul 07, 2016

The course had some useful content, but there was too much time spent on USA centred materials for an iavailabe course.

By Sara A

Oct 05, 2017

Good course ... but it gives so basic information. I wish it gives more deep and specialized information about autism.

By fouad m

Sep 22, 2019

overall experience was good, but efforts could be implemented to stream newer videos and develop smarter quizzes

By Elena A

May 11, 2017

It was interesting but not profound. You had to buy the course in order to submit the quiz.

By Sushmita J

Jan 05, 2017

a good course, especially if you are not too aware of Autism

By Claire A

Sep 04, 2016

Good introduction to ASD.

By Manoj J

Feb 13, 2016

This course is informative and introductory. It has a value in generating a general awareness about ASD. It would be useful for parents and learners who are new to disability issues. The content can be used for introducing and familiarizing with clinical practice with ASD. But this course has the limitation on following grounds

1. The contents of the course are coloured with medical perspective and with pathological view point

2. At some point this course appeared like an advertisement for the institute and its research work

3. This course tried to cover too many things like theory, practice, research, experience and so on. But at the end it failed to do justice all

4. Finally the contents are infected with virus of medicine, market and military science. Terms such as intervention, package, therapy so many terminology. The unfaithful use of "social" in few instance look like an altruism to social science by dominant discipline.

I am sure that this course has market. Evidence based research/ practice will corroborate it. Best wishes

By Gregory W C

Mar 14, 2016

Aimed at those needing to get services -- in a spectrum of family living. Too much on California systems, not enough on direct coping with day-to-day.

By lisa m e

Aug 17, 2016

Lots of theoretical information but very little practical information about what to do with people with Autism Spectrum Disorder

By Markus R

Feb 29, 2016

Short, superficial, and sometimes even condescending towards people with ASD.

By Anna P

Oct 18, 2018

By the end of the first week of the course, I was feeling that the authors are thinking about ASD as a disease that needs to be cured (as opposed to the idea of neurodiversity). The shameless promo of the MIND institute at the end of week one made me do some research on them — and what do you know, at least two of co-founders are adepts of 'vaccines cause autism' religion, which kind of explains it all. As an adult diagnosed with ASD, I find this course extremely dangerous, misleading and offensive.

By Stephanie W

Jan 16, 2016

I was really, really hoping that this course would be educational. I personally work with an individual with AS and I excepted to have a better insight into some of the things he goes through. So far, however, I have found many of the lectures condescending. As a person with a disability I find it highly offensive when people speak like they're doing the person with whatever kind of disability a favor for even helping them. People with disabilities are just that, people.

By Ron S

Mar 05, 2016

Lightweight and marginally informative. While it is clearly aimed at a lay audience, a deeper presentation of the scientific foundations of the disorder is sorely needed. If you're interested in the etiology of autism, you'll need to look elsewhere.

By Camilla Z

Feb 19, 2016

I found it very easy. But if you do not know anything about Autism, I think you might would contribute from it.

By Shelby P

May 02, 2019

this class supports autism speak which is at its worst.

By Aleksandra P

Jul 03, 2018

It promotes ABA.