Chevron Left
Back to Autism Spectrum Disorder

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Autism Spectrum Disorder by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
939 ratings
251 reviews

About the Course

Understanding the characteristics of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and their implications for behavior, learning and the ability to process information is critical for anyone working or interacting with those on the spectrum -- educators, clinicians, counselors, therapists, medical staff, family and employers. This course will give you a fundamental understanding of what ASD is, how it is diagnosed, the primary areas of impairment, and why prevalence is increasing. Examine the developmental and sensori-motor differences that may impact academic, play, social and self-help skills at different stages of life, including the transition to higher education and employment. Gain a clear understanding of how sensory regulation differs for individuals on the spectrum, and explore practical tools for identifying triggers and communicating feelings. Learn to use evidence-based practices to provide effective interventions and explore typical strengths and weaknesses of individuals on the spectrum in relation to identified impairments. The course culminates with a description of the ASD system of care, an overview of the National Standards Report studies and treatments, and an explanation of how evidence-based practices are established and implemented. Those seeking a more in-depth, instructor-led experience are encouraged to check out the Professional Concentration in Autism offered by UC Davis Extension: https://extension.ucdavis.edu/certificate-program/professional-concentration-autism-spectrum-disorders...

Top reviews

MF

Feb 14, 2016

Very interesting and informative. I taught children with special needs for 33 years. I think this course would be very helpful to new teachers and anyone interested in learning basic info on ASD.

KS

Sep 15, 2017

Loved the videos, lots of good material. Wish there had been more discussion, but I was so busy, I might not have been able to participate very much. Overall helpful and useful in my profession.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 247 Reviews for Autism Spectrum Disorder

By Zoila T

Sep 28, 2019

This course gave me all the information I needed to continue working on my goal to be a Registered Behavioral Technician.

By Gary D

Dec 16, 2016

This is an excellent course for understanding the basics of Autism Spectrum Disorder. The information is invaluable.

By JOHN Q

Dec 20, 2015

What a wonderful course and great review of the new information on Autism and Aspbergers Syndrome. Thanks so much.

By yingyangruli

May 08, 2016

Really great course for people who want to systmatically learn ASD. No need for prior knowledge in Psychology.

By MARIA L P

Aug 08, 2018

Excelente curso !!! Para aquellos que necesitan aprender sobre autismo es una excelente introducción al tema.

By Olivia W

Mar 04, 2017

I loved this course, I found it really interesting and I look forward to using my knowledge in the future.

By Mary L S

Apr 04, 2016

very informative with latest research for evidence based interventions with those on the autistic spectrum

By Maureen

Jan 30, 2016

Me ha gustado mucho, es sencillo y claro. Ha contribuido mucho a mi preparación profesional en Psicología

By Ruth F

Dec 04, 2016

There was a wealth of good information, strategies and ideas for working with children that have autism.

By SUSHIL K S V

Feb 20, 2019

The narrator was monotonous, however the course was enlightening to an extent and reinforced learning

By Clinton S T

May 16, 2018

Very helpful class for anyone wanting to expand his or her knowledge about Autism Spectrum Disorders.

By Danielle C

Sep 19, 2017

Very Informative. Great for everyone to establish or reestablish introductory level knowledge of ASD.

By Pilar A B Á

Sep 26, 2019

Excelente curso, aprendì muchas cosas que puedo utilizar en mi quehacer profesional!!! me encantò!

By Dimple m

Mar 22, 2016

An excellent overview of what ASD means and well designed foundation program for new beginners .

By Natalia P

Oct 19, 2019

Great inro course, everybody should complete it for better understanding of people in spectrum.

By Aditya K P

Apr 28, 2018

As an autism parent, I knew everything but the last week. The last week was more than worth it.

By Uma R

Dec 11, 2016

I work with kids with special needs, this course has helped to understand kids with ASD better.

By krithika a

Aug 16, 2018

very informative and the basic information about the disability is covered in simple words.

By Daniele C

Nov 19, 2018

This course helped me to understand better Autism Spectrum Disorder. Highly recommended.

By Luiza P L V

May 29, 2017

Muito bom, excelente curso. Muito organizado, descritivo, com muitos exemplos, dinâmico.

By Richard C

Dec 07, 2016

The course is very informative . It is very concise and presented in a very simple way.

By Tiago F A d M

Feb 27, 2018

The course provides an overview about autism spectrum disorder. It was very helpful.

By Cho B B

Jun 21, 2016

This is best course to understand Autism prorperly.

I will recommend to my friends.

By Chantelle N

Apr 25, 2018

Great course for parents and teachers. Very informative and easy to understand.

By Klever D G

Feb 19, 2017

Excellent course. I intend to continue studying about autism spectrum disorder.