Chevron Left
Back to Autism Spectrum Disorder

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Autism Spectrum Disorder by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
937 ratings
251 reviews

About the Course

Understanding the characteristics of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and their implications for behavior, learning and the ability to process information is critical for anyone working or interacting with those on the spectrum -- educators, clinicians, counselors, therapists, medical staff, family and employers. This course will give you a fundamental understanding of what ASD is, how it is diagnosed, the primary areas of impairment, and why prevalence is increasing. Examine the developmental and sensori-motor differences that may impact academic, play, social and self-help skills at different stages of life, including the transition to higher education and employment. Gain a clear understanding of how sensory regulation differs for individuals on the spectrum, and explore practical tools for identifying triggers and communicating feelings. Learn to use evidence-based practices to provide effective interventions and explore typical strengths and weaknesses of individuals on the spectrum in relation to identified impairments. The course culminates with a description of the ASD system of care, an overview of the National Standards Report studies and treatments, and an explanation of how evidence-based practices are established and implemented. Those seeking a more in-depth, instructor-led experience are encouraged to check out the Professional Concentration in Autism offered by UC Davis Extension: https://extension.ucdavis.edu/certificate-program/professional-concentration-autism-spectrum-disorders...

Top reviews

MF

Feb 14, 2016

Very interesting and informative. I taught children with special needs for 33 years. I think this course would be very helpful to new teachers and anyone interested in learning basic info on ASD.

KS

Sep 15, 2017

Loved the videos, lots of good material. Wish there had been more discussion, but I was so busy, I might not have been able to participate very much. Overall helpful and useful in my profession.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 247 Reviews for Autism Spectrum Disorder

By Georgia B

Sep 12, 2018

Statistics not relevant for those outside of US, but good general info regarding ASD

By Maitu B

Jun 02, 2017

El curso es muy completo, pero creo que le hacen mucha propaganda a la universidad.

By Areej A

Jul 28, 2017

great course. It would be made even better if it included more medicine. Thank you

By Rowey A

May 10, 2017

Comprehensive course- gives a good overview of ASD across all age groups.

By Daniela V

Mar 02, 2016

It was excellent, but I expected more feedback in the discussion forums.

By Tamara E

Dec 16, 2019

A great overview especially for those with limited knowledge of autism.

By Deborah L L

Jul 31, 2018

The course needs to update data from CDC regarding rates of prevalence.

By Barbara A B

Jan 19, 2017

Very informational. Seemed to be geared towards parents and caretakers.

By Mariela V E D

Jun 03, 2016

Very clear and complete for a first approach to the ASD

By Lucero B C

Jun 15, 2017

Really helpfull but more of a general look into autism

By Maria d F A L

Mar 02, 2018

Great course. A general look into autism. Thank You.

By Tenzin T

Aug 30, 2019

great initiative and very enlightening. thank you.

By Moises D R C

Jan 26, 2016

I'd like to learn a bit more about ASD.

By Preeti

Jan 29, 2017

Informative for beginners

By Pandora R

Oct 10, 2019

I enjoyed this course.

By Olaf

Aug 18, 2018

Too much USA focus.

By Oxana T

Dec 23, 2016

nice but too short.

By Kyle D M

Mar 11, 2019

Wonderful course !

By Stephen B

Dec 02, 2016

Excellent course

By Jessica F

Jan 04, 2019

Great overview!

By JORGE R M

Jun 06, 2018

Thanks

By Salau R A

Jan 10, 2016

n

By Joydip M

Oct 17, 2017

A good course in terms of content that is shared. Not so good in terms of pedagogy and teaching method. Doing this course is equivalent to listening someone Voicing power point slides on the screen word for word 90% of the time. That is not why most of us join these courses but that is what comprises 90% of the instruction. Balance 10% comprises short videos and interviews with esteemed personalities from Mind Institute, parents of autistic children and of course, Temple Grandin - that is the part worth spending time on. Also the test questions are very poorly set. Why is it important to have 5 questions in a quiz, of which 2 are asking - what percentage of children need this or that - basically testing rote memory of autism statistics? How exactly does that help learning? Note - I did pass all the tests and the course with flying colors - so this is an impartial observation :)

By Bethany B

Oct 16, 2016

In general, I enjoyed the contents of the course. It's a general overview that introduces all aspects of Autism Spectrum Disorder which is exactly what I wanted. However, half of the final week is a list of established and emerging practices, so this was quite boring. I could have read them off the screen faster.

My least favorite aspect of this course is that you can't take the quizzes without buying the certificate. Currently, the certificate won't assist me; I simply wanted to learn more about ASD so as to be more informed. This was quite frustrating because I use the quizzes as a means of checking my understanding and retention of the material.

By Tom G

Dec 21, 2018

Clear and factual course with well presented materials. I found the scope of the course to be very narrow though, lacking a diversity of perspective and no consideration given to the new directions that international autism research is taking. For example, the challenges to the role of theory of mind in autism deficits or the research being conducted by autistic academics. There are autistic individuals working in academia who are responsible for more than photocopying and making the tea! It is also somewhat telling that Autism speaks features prominently in the recommended reading, not to mention the implied ABA bias in the intervention module.