Chevron Left
Back to Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis by University of California, Santa Cruz

4.6
stars
2,538 ratings
667 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Top reviews

GS
Aug 31, 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB
Oct 16, 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 654 Reviews for Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

By Aravind M

Apr 17, 2019

Good introductory course. Could provide more hands-on examples

By Juan C C E

Feb 23, 2020

Explain with more details the concepts, the mathematics is ok

By Dziem N

Jun 22, 2020

I wish there are lecture notes to accompany the videos.

By Wate S

Dec 23, 2017

For me Chinese, it 's not easy to understand the quiz.

By Vittorino M C

Jul 17, 2020

Well explained, I fit all the gaps about probability.

By Gil S

Mar 3, 2019

Clear and consise introduction to Bayesian statistics

By Yuanruo L

Nov 5, 2016

Good and simple introduction for Bayesian statistics.

By Sunsik K

Aug 23, 2017

well instructed basic course of Bayesian statistics.

By Alexei M

May 13, 2018

More examples are required as well as more practice

By Venkataraghavan P K

Feb 10, 2019

Loved the theory & analytical part of the course.

By Bishal L

Mar 7, 2017

It is a nice introductory course on Baysian s

By JhZhang

Mar 14, 2020

深入浅出,结合理论推导、实际应用与直观理解,挺好的一门课,让我对贝叶斯推断有了极大的兴趣

By Carson M

Oct 27, 2017

Pretty good overview of Bayesian statistics.

By xuening

Jan 25, 2017

from week 3, the learning curve become steep

By Wenbin M

Feb 9, 2020

The normal distribution part lacks detail.

By Ezra K

Feb 13, 2020

Good overview of Bayesian statistics.

By Xindie H

Jan 27, 2019

Nice and easy introduction course.

By Witold W

Aug 29, 2017

Liked it and can recommend it.

By Chuck M

Jan 11, 2017

A good course - recommended.

By Valentina D M

Mar 29, 2018

Need more material on R.

By Ankit P

May 26, 2020

Excellent fundamentals.

By Spyros L

Sep 20, 2017

Very good introduction!

By Guim G P

Aug 18, 2020

Very useful!

By kaushal k S

Aug 28, 2020

good

By Linda S

Aug 24, 2020

In the course, I liked that there were questions asked during the videos. That makes you think about the content, the professor was just talking about.

Anyway from my point of view, the supplementary material should have covered more of the content of the course. That would have helped me a lot.

Also, I sometimes felt lost when the video started, some introducing words why this topic is now discussed, or an overview about the topics handled in the topic area would have helped me to understand the connections. What would have also helped are overview slides (also in the supplementary material e.g.) Also I had sometimes the feeling, that the answers to the questions of the quizzes were not always included in the videos. For this, I would have been glad to have a extensive supplementary material.

To sum up, I was able to learn a lot, but I could have learnd a lot more with better supplementary material or a clearer structure.