Chevron Left
Back to Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis by University of California, Santa Cruz

4.6
stars
2,541 ratings
667 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Top reviews

GS
Aug 31, 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB
Oct 16, 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 654 Reviews for Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

By Alessandra T

Jun 29, 2017

We still don't understand how Bayes differs to Frequentist... A worked example comparing the two at the end would have been nice.

By Ken M

May 1, 2019

It would have been great if more graphs had been provided, for easier visualization of the e.g. distributions, or concepts.

By roger

Jul 24, 2019

It would be better to add more explain about those equations and connect the math stuffs with the real world samples

By Max H

Jul 14, 2019

It would be much better if there was a more sufficient introduction to the various distributions used in the course.

By Victor D

Jul 9, 2019

Very informative as an introduction to concepts, but nowhere near the deep dive I'm now interested in taking.

By Isra

May 4, 2020

Good course!!... Additional examples of real life explained and done in R or excel will make it great

By Binu M D

Sep 21, 2019

Too much theoretical than practical applications. No need to give both R and Excel videos.

By A A

Nov 26, 2018

Would have liked more problem solving and real-world application examples.

By Jyh1003040

Jun 15, 2020

The workload is manageable however the homework is somewhat challenging.

By Hassan S

May 11, 2020

Not well organized.

No sufficient materials, references, etc.

Very short.

By sokunsatya s

May 31, 2018

Overall, it's Ok. but the explanation is too short and incomplete.

By aref h

Aug 24, 2017

better to come up with more examples and more mathematical details

By Rajesh k

Jan 1, 2019

This course could be taught in better understanding way

By Tawan S

Jun 2, 2019

For some derivations, the explanations are too sparse.

By Damir M

Apr 9, 2017

A bit too short.

By Patrick K W

Jul 28, 2019

It's alright because it gives you an overview of what is covered in a Bayesian Stats class, but the material is presented quite poorly and I had to do a lot of second hand reading to answer the questions. It is not particularly enlightening even and the formulas are presented without proper grounding, context, and intuition. I can recommend this only for dedicated self-studiers who already have some sort of grounding in Bayesian reasoning.

By Jorge P

Feb 2, 2017

Some matters were just given formulas and there was a lack of practice. The course should cover less materials or be longer to be effective in teaching.

By Brett B

Sep 7, 2020

Disappointing. Hard to follow, as concepts are not fully explained or linked. Steps in equations are often skipped without notice.

By Mehrdad P

Jul 3, 2019

it was an okay course, I liked that they used R occasionally in the course, but I did not like how the concepts were discussed

By Fabian K

May 1, 2017

Not very much in depth and does not offer complete lecture notes, which are necessary for answering the quizzes...

By HEMLATA J

Aug 29, 2020

Dear Sir, My assignment Quizzes are locked and i am not able to unlock that. Kindly unlock it and help me out.

By Mario R H

Jul 12, 2020

Materials could be more "worked". Blackboard Classes does not explain all what they should.

By Nick T

Jun 22, 2020

Ok overview, but not detailed enough to get a thorough understanding

By AliAkbar G

Aug 16, 2020

I don't learn new things. It wasn't as good as I expected.

By Sina A N

Nov 27, 2019

I would have given this course a zero rating if I could have. The worst online course I had so far. There is no intuition of the subject provided. The instructor just looks like reading from a text (like a robot) and write some equations without enough explanation. There are many Youtube videos available for free that explain concepts way much better than what is available here. Don't waste your time. Reading a book and watching those Youtube videos would help you more.