Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Analysis: Hive, Spark SQL, DataFrames and GraphFrames

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Analysis: Hive, Spark SQL, DataFrames and GraphFrames by Yandex

4.1
134 ratings
28 reviews

About the Course

No doubt working with huge data volumes is hard, but to move a mountain, you have to deal with a lot of small stones. But why strain yourself? Using Mapreduce and Spark you tackle the issue partially, thus leaving some space for high-level tools. Stop struggling to make your big data workflow productive and efficient, make use of the tools we are offering you. This course will teach you how to: - Warehouse your data efficiently using Hive, Spark SQL and Spark DataFframes. - Work with large graphs, such as social graphs or networks. - Optimize your Spark applications for maximum performance. Precisely, you will master your knowledge in: - Writing and executing Hive & Spark SQL queries; - Reasoning how the queries are translated into actual execution primitives (be it MapReduce jobs or Spark transformations); - Organizing your data in Hive to optimize disk space usage and execution times; - Constructing Spark DataFrames and using them to write ad-hoc analytical jobs easily; - Processing large graphs with Spark GraphFrames; - Debugging, profiling and optimizing Spark application performance. Still in doubt? Check this out. Become a data ninja by taking this course! Special thanks to: - Prof. Mikhail Roytberg, APT dept., MIPT, who was the initial reviewer of the project, the supervisor and mentor of half of the BigData team. He was the one, who helped to get this show on the road. - Oleg Sukhoroslov (PhD, Senior Researcher at IITP RAS), who has been teaching MapReduce, Hadoop and friends since 2008. Now he is leading the infrastructure team. - Oleg Ivchenko (PhD student APT dept., MIPT), Pavel Akhtyamov (MSc. student at APT dept., MIPT) and Vladimir Kuznetsov (Assistant at P.G. Demidov Yaroslavl State University), superbrains who have developed and now maintain the infrastructure used for practical assignments in this course. - Asya Roitberg, Eugene Baulin, Marina Sudarikova. These people never sleep to babysit this course day and night, to make your learning experience productive, smooth and exciting....

Top reviews

SM

Nov 13, 2018

content of the course is remarkable and the way they explained concepts is very lucid. I just want to give suggestions please give link to the data set they are using for illustrating the concepts.

SS

Feb 03, 2018

I wish I could give more rating than 5 :). Excellent course. Thanks so much for such an excellent course. All the instructors are great.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 28 Reviews for Big Data Analysis: Hive, Spark SQL, DataFrames and GraphFrames

By Jingting L

Sep 05, 2018

A decent course with lots of room for improvement to be great.

I absolutely loved the sections taught by the two Pavels. Their presentation is top notch in depth, structure and clarify.

I could not stand Natasha's lectures. Please read to the feedback on the forum and rework those weeks. It is a shame that there is such inconsistency of quality from week to week.

The issues with the grading machine are unacceptable. It gets tripped by simple, common variations in code. (Ie putting the name of the database in the from statement as opposed to using a standalone "use" statement in the hive assignment - executes perfectly in the sandbox). Would have been nice to call out explicitly or better yet, provide a template notebook with the line written. Hours wasted on such problems makes me hesitate to recommend this course to colleagues and friends despite that this is probably the best one on Coursera for now.

By Sergei M

Jan 07, 2018

This course has a very good content for me. But I really tired fighting with the assignment grade system. I have crushed with many technical problems. And sometimes it's not clear how to find the right way to execute the assignment. It's why I'm unenrolled from this course.

By Pismarev V

Jan 06, 2019

I think lessons about GraphFrames were too hard. I cannot understood a lot about algorithmes and didn't do honor tasks ( More examples and more explanatons could help a lot

By Marco G

Dec 05, 2018

Unfortunately, I often spent more time trying to get my assignments to pass the automatic grader than on solving them. This made the course a bit frustrating at times.

By Josefa C S

Apr 06, 2018

Good content but the assignment grade system is frustrating. You spend so many hours trying to understand which are the errors or the way to execute the assignment. Tutors do not answer your questions . It's why I'm unenrolled from this course. I definitely do not recommend it.

By Scott D

Apr 25, 2018

Although I do believe that the teaching in this course was adequate, and I think the teachers involved were working their hardest to convey a complex topic, it was really hard for me to follow.

By Shubhajit S

Sep 07, 2018

Only good content can not suffice for a good tutorial. I tried hard to pursue this course, but now giving up for the poor speakers, poor communication and lack of helpful visual aids.

Thank you.

By Павел С

Jan 20, 2019

minuses: GraphFrames seems useless. No tasks on them. And a lot of time were spent on algorithms, not spark functions and internals.

Other were good!

By Luis V

May 13, 2018

The content of the courses and some of the weeks are very good, but other are terrible with many problems in the lessons and in the assignments. Some of the teachers seems to take very little care in the preparation of the lessons and the related material and this dramatically reduce the overall quality of the course. Could and must be improved.

By Максим У

May 27, 2018

Grader is awful

By Phi H T

Dec 18, 2018

Very useful

By Симкин И М

Feb 01, 2019

Excellent teachers, but material from lessons on graphs required a lot of time.

By shatabdi m

Nov 13, 2018

content of the course is remarkable and the way they explained concepts is very lucid. I just want to give suggestions please give link to the data set they are using for illustrating the concepts.

By amanpreet k

Aug 07, 2018

This course is so detailed and focused on the basics of the Hive and Spark SQL frameworks. Amazing professors.

By sekhar

Feb 03, 2018

I wish I could give more rating than 5 :). Excellent course. Thanks so much for such an excellent course. All the instructors are great.

By Sunny J

Apr 02, 2018

Eye Catching career Matching course..especially lectures by Alexey Dral

By Dilip N

Apr 01, 2019

Good informative Course

By Alok K

Jul 22, 2019

vey nice

By Muhammad B

Jul 24, 2019

Excellent very skill full

By Minh T

Sep 29, 2019

Great!!!!

By Viacheslav I

Dec 09, 2017

Quite a good course, but weeks about graphs I found somewhat poor. Apart from that you learn basics of Hive, details of DataFrame API of Spark and how it internally works.

By Luis M A P

Mar 27, 2019

Good. Please fix assignments explanations. i.e In week 5.

By Aldrin

Jul 30, 2019

Good course...Deep dive into optimization of spark for production environment.Also interesting graph implementations

By Kiselyov A

May 23, 2019

Nice course, but the impression about practical tasks is really awful. The tasks are ok, but grading system is too buggy

By Evgenii K

May 15, 2018

Grading system it terrible, it hadn't work for a week summary, no help from staff on Coursera forum, only Slack channel could help. Theoretical material is quite good.