Chevron Left
Back to Graph Analytics for Big Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Graph Analytics for Big Data by University of California San Diego

4.3
stars
1,120 ratings
214 reviews

About the Course

Want to understand your data network structure and how it changes under different conditions? Curious to know how to identify closely interacting clusters within a graph? Have you heard of the fast-growing area of graph analytics and want to learn more? This course gives you a broad overview of the field of graph analytics so you can learn new ways to model, store, retrieve and analyze graph-structured data. After completing this course, you will be able to model a problem into a graph database and perform analytical tasks over the graph in a scalable manner. Better yet, you will be able to apply these techniques to understand the significance of your data sets for your own projects....

Top reviews

KM
Dec 16, 2017

Got an amazing introduction to Graph Analytics in Big Data. Technical issues with Neo4J made this course a little more challenging than necessary. But the introduction to Spark GraphX was invaluable.

JT
Oct 25, 2016

This course was excellent as an introduction to Graph Analytics and using Neo4j. Not only did I learn a lot, I've been given tasks related to what I've learned in this course after finishing it.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 213 Reviews for Graph Analytics for Big Data

By Dag S

Oct 11, 2016

The professor is well spoken and the class started out very well. But by the final section the hands on example were simply cut-paste with no explanation of what we were doing or how it worked. It's not the fault of the professor but this course and the Big Data specialization attempts to cover too much information. Graph Analytics should be its own 6 course specialization. But really, to understand graph analytics one should be spending a great deal of time with the subject. Perhaps online courses are not the way to understand such a complex subject.

By Carlos M

Oct 8, 2019

Unfortunately the videos and lectures about Neo4j installation is not up to date making it difficult to install by the learner. Mostly if you take into account that not all the students have the technical background to do it. On the other hand, after installation Neo4j was returning an error that don't let complete the labs. Regardless these issues, all the other course content is really helpful to get a high level understanding of how Graph Analytics can be used in a Big Data ecosystem.

By Marcel V N

Jan 15, 2017

Probably because I'm new to all the big data and graph analytics terminologies but the lectures in this chapter were quite difficult to follow in my opinion. The instructor was just talking, not teaching nor explaining, just like someone who prepares notes and is reading to students. The hand-ons were a bit helpful, but overall this class is more for those who already know about the subject.

By Priyadarshi V

Dec 30, 2019

A lot of online resources have changed over the years like the way to download and work on Neo4j. But the video lesson is not reflecting the change. If not for the learner's community support I would not have been able to complete this course. I would urge the mentors to keep updating the course materials from time to time and post the changes in forums.

By Jyothi-Raghav J

Nov 21, 2017

Except for the Neo4j week 4 and week 2, the other weeks were really confusing as it was hard to follow where the instructor is on a slide. Week 5 hands-on videos really were too fast and the instructor in video hands-on seems to be in a hurry. I also had hard time copy pasting the code snippets from the hands-on material.

By Shruti P

Sep 26, 2020

The instructions could be more easy to understand and save lot of time juggling through Course forum and other online forums and videos. Some systems do not support all the software and so was big obstacle to complete assignments and quiz as they were dependent on the working of these software.

By Alex T

Jun 17, 2020

The introductions and examples are great. Later in the course, the use of Neo4J requires the student to do a lot of research on their own to become familiar with the platform. What hurts this course is that additional software is required that has been discontinued.

By Harlan M

Mar 2, 2017

I like the content at a high level, and I have a better appreciation for the value of graph analytics. That being said, I struggled with the GraphX hands on exersizes, where many of the Scala commands simply hung.

By Misha

Aug 10, 2020

I enjoyed this course during the first three weeks, as it was interesting and informative. From week four onwards, the material was dense and the lectures were not adequate to understand the hands-on assignments.

By Hadi B

Jan 28, 2017

Really Thank you for all the big data course, just a little about the 5th course, Graph analytic, I think can must go to the deeper insight with more explanation, some of the modules was really vague!

Thank you

By Benh L S

Mar 13, 2020

I bit hard to follow... too fast transitions. Not sure about the structure. Very interesting Hands-on on Node4j, but the one on GraphX could be much improved (too fast, and assuming we know Scala is wrong)

By David A

Jun 27, 2018

Only 3 stars because the course is in need of a serious update. Neo4J has changed quite a bit since the course was created. Also, there needs to be better instructions for getting the Cloudera VM to work.

By Cédric L

Jan 9, 2017

Concepts are explained in a rather structured way and hands-on with Neo4j are interesting.

The last part with GraphX is pure copy-paste of orders, it is disappointing and not a good way to practive.

By Basil C

Feb 21, 2020

Lectures on graph analytics is awesome. However, the hands-on exercises need a serious update. In one of the many outdated examples, Neo4j Version 4 does not support EXTRACT().

By Gopi N

Dec 9, 2018

This course was intense, though instructor seemed to be in rush of finishing the course :). Final module in graphs was packed with lot of info.

By Rahul P

Aug 6, 2019

The last week was absolutely not fruitful at all, with no such introduction given to Scala. That took away all the sheen from the course.

By David T

Oct 25, 2016

Another good and interesting course but the total lack of engagement by the course team and community mentors makes it hard going.

By Juraj P

Apr 19, 2017

Lower quality when compared to the previous courses in this specialization. Neo4j is very interesting but it is poorly explained.

By Vineeth V

Aug 18, 2017

This was ok till week 3. Week 4 was too much information and too many bugs in the code. Weeks 4 and 5 could be better presened

By Martin L

Dec 26, 2017

I encountered numerous issues with the hands on exercises. Either copy paste errors or the VM simply hanging.

By Rodrigo V d S

Nov 18, 2017

The last two weeks was very hard to understand. This module could be a separated course.

By Kartik K

Dec 31, 2018

A lot of unanswered doubts. And a lot of improperly explained concepts and codes.

By Jesus C

Jul 30, 2018

The course is good, but I would prefer the examples to be coded in Python.

By Devi V V

May 17, 2017

not much explanation about the syntax of the commands given in excercises

By Petr P

Mar 17, 2017

All the complexity of the course is concentrated to the last week.