Chevron Left
Back to Graph Analytics for Big Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Graph Analytics for Big Data by University of California San Diego

4.2
848 ratings
161 reviews

About the Course

Want to understand your data network structure and how it changes under different conditions? Curious to know how to identify closely interacting clusters within a graph? Have you heard of the fast-growing area of graph analytics and want to learn more? This course gives you a broad overview of the field of graph analytics so you can learn new ways to model, store, retrieve and analyze graph-structured data. After completing this course, you will be able to model a problem into a graph database and perform analytical tasks over the graph in a scalable manner. Better yet, you will be able to apply these techniques to understand the significance of your data sets for your own projects....

Top reviews

KM

Dec 17, 2017

Got an amazing introduction to Graph Analytics in Big Data. Technical issues with Neo4J made this course a little more challenging than necessary. But the introduction to Spark GraphX was invaluable.

JT

Oct 26, 2016

This course was excellent as an introduction to Graph Analytics and using Neo4j. Not only did I learn a lot, I've been given tasks related to what I've learned in this course after finishing it.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 160 Reviews for Graph Analytics for Big Data

By Adam G

Dec 21, 2018

Within the usual pedagogical standards, it is a very good course

By John C

Dec 09, 2018

Graphs are quite interesting and in many cases offer a better representation than relational databases.

One can gain lots of insights looking at graphs.

By ANANT K

Feb 07, 2019

Can be improved further by including rigorous Hands-on exercises

By Federico A G C

Nov 11, 2016

Very good material, very good Neo4j hands on for new comers. The critique goes to the coverage of GraphX hands on which, at least to me, is not explained clear enough

By Gabriel T

Feb 09, 2018

Very sound course with lots of information to digest. Just enough for "lift-off".

By Álvaro G C

Jun 19, 2017

a course focused on enhance basic skills supported with very good tools. If you want to learn, this course will be as good as you work

By Juan P

Sep 08, 2016

Maybe the best course of all the specialisation. Good balance between theory and hand-ons. I would give the fifth star with more details and explanations in some hand-ons (mainly the ones from the last lesson). In summary, a good introductory course to graph analysis.

By Anthony W U

Mar 22, 2017

Displaying handson queries graphically would make it more appealing as it was in Neo4j

By Antony C

Apr 05, 2018

This module introduced a lot of technical knowledge and theory around Graph Analytics. I understand there is great value in Graph analysis but I got a bit confused with so many examples, programming languages and many technical terms. I think Graph Analysis should be a specialisation on its own.

By Seth D

Sep 09, 2016

best course of the series

By Nicolas I

May 10, 2017

It started well, but it became a little hard when Java came in. Apart from that, it was great.

By Amir A

Feb 09, 2017

Thanks so much

you are great people

By Saleem K

Feb 17, 2017

The concepts are brilliantly taught but the technical part that was programming was rushed through and not explained step by step. This is probably out of scope for this course but would have been good to get a little more technical training

By Paras M

Dec 31, 2017

Great Course and Lot of learning.Best part was the detailed description and explanation of Neo4j

By Fernando M

Jun 30, 2016

interesting practices with neo4j

By AGARAOLI A

Feb 10, 2017

-

By freddy a

May 07, 2017

A good topic to continue building upon big data with Graphs, however Week 5 needs some more understandable examples and exercises.

By Kun Z

May 10, 2017

Very good project! Hopefully it will be helpful in my future career!

By Juan J R M

Aug 26, 2017

It's really long and we need more practical examples

By Clint E

Aug 07, 2016

Great course. The reason I did not give it five stars because I thought the last week of the course was not up to par with the first 4 weeks. The lessons on Giraph and GraphX were confusing in my opinion and the hands on exercise did not really clear things up for me. Otherwise, a great course.

By MikeP

Sep 15, 2017

Good course overall for concepts of graph analytics.Too much time spent setting up and going through the hand-on exercises. What I feel is somewhat lacking are use cases for relating how this could be used in normal business.

By Dennis N

Jul 06, 2017

This is a really good course as an introduction to Graph analytics as well as the types of analyses and techniques used in graph analytics. There were a lot of new concepts for me and it was a lot of information to take in but it was explained very well. The hands-on exercises in Graphx introduced a lot of unfamiliar code and seemed very technical but I believe that it is needed. This portion of the course might require more time to digest but I believe it was absolutely necessary. All in all, loved it!

By Efendi

May 22, 2017

Suggest to remove the peer-grade assessment as it could be bias :)

By John G

Feb 05, 2017

The neo4j parts were good, and nice introduction to graph terminology and concepts. would like to see detailed hands-on for wk#5 (like wk#4 had w/neo4j, which was very well done). like the tools survey and concepts. would like to see recommendations for other course(s), not necessarily in this series or by UC SanDiego, about where to go for deeper math.

By Othmane B

Feb 20, 2017

Very interesting class, large applications possibilities, unfortunately the hands on machine wont work properly