Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Big Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Big Data by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
10,482 ratings
2,452 reviews

About the Course

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

DK

Aug 11, 2021

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

HM

Sep 8, 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

Filter by:

1851 - 1875 of 2,400 Reviews for Introduction to Big Data

By Suresh V

Apr 20, 2017

Very nice introduction to Big Data. This is were you decide whether to take the blue pill or the red pill (sorry that's from the 1999 movie Matrix )

By chiuyuwen

Dec 1, 2016

In this course, I learned how to use Hadoop basically. With the clear explanation of the Professor, I believe every one can realize in a short time.

By Harrison T

Nov 23, 2018

i would like to see more intermittent testing and application of my knowledge. it felt like it had a high ratio of lecture to hands-on/testing/etc

By Tamas M

Aug 28, 2016

The beginning is a bit theoretical, only the end brings some practical examples up. Slides are a bit old fashioned and presenters are a bit rigid

By Alexander P

Oct 30, 2020

Great content, very broad and provides a good overview of BigData. They alloy you to taste the subject and try a "Hands on" approach at the end.

By Inés T R

Jul 12, 2021

The course is quite appropiate to introduce you in to the field of Big data. Some lessons become more difficult if you don`t know informatics.

By Yukta S

Aug 20, 2020

It’s a good and helpful course which will take you through all the basics.Apart from theoretical topics,practical application is also taught.

By Amrit P P

Jul 25, 2020

great course to understand the concept of bigdata and famalarize yourself to hadoop and cloudera. only issue i faced the VM used is outdated

By Sanskriti O

Jul 24, 2020

This is a wonderful introductory course for Big Data . If people are confused whether to go for it or not , this course will be very helpful.

By Akshay P

May 19, 2020

This is probably the best Introduction to Hadoop. Minus 1 star only because I wish I could receive the sessions on mail for future reference.

By Phuc T

Jun 4, 2021

It gave me knowledge, but the voice and the presentation of the teacher sometimes too fast and unreachable. The presentation seems outdated.

By Ramesh P

Jun 19, 2017

Increase the depth on hands on exercises. There were very basic and did not explore even all the examples which hadoop provides by default!

By Yogesh P

Feb 28, 2018

Very good course . It was a bit slow in the beginning but went to a good pace covering a whole lot of basics as the course moved forward.

By Ali R

Jun 18, 2016

There is room to improve, but much better than previous version. Thanks for your good work as a good resource on learning about big data

By Fernando H T d S

Aug 7, 2016

For a introductory course it covers a lot of things, not in too much detail, but it covers a lot of important concepts and definitions.

By Kamlesh K

Sep 9, 2019

This is a perfect beginner-friendly course. Clears many doubts and give you a clear idea of Big Data. Also, the data provided is good.

By Waqas J

Aug 15, 2016

Loved every second of it, easy to understand, well structured, more big data usage examples in video formats would be a nice addition

By Priya D

Jun 5, 2018

Nice learning and content are very good to understand. There were example which help to understand the topic more accurately. Thanks.

By Divakar C

Nov 16, 2017

If more case studies and writing MapReduce programs using Python are added to the last section of the course, it would be awesome.

By Kailash B

Jun 19, 2017

Very good explanations serving a comprehensive introduction. The transcript of the videos could however be reviewed for accuracy.

By Raghavendra P

Jun 20, 2019

Nice study material, easy and lucid explanation. Covers the basic concepts and gives necessary overview. Teachers are excellent.

By Nicolas R

Nov 24, 2018

Very instructive and well designed course for an introduction to Big Data. Liked the hand on projects and the quality of videos.

By Kabeer B

Mar 2, 2018

can be more business oriented...would love to learn more on its business implication

for beginners, this is a very useful course

By Statistics A A A

Aug 16, 2021

A REALLY HELPFUL COURSE TO UNDERSTAND HOW THE WORLD OF BIG DATA ANALYSIS WORKS,LOOKING FORWARD TO LEARN THE REST OF THE SERIES

By Siphephelo B G

Oct 6, 2017

The course provides a solid introduction to Big Data, even if your knowledge is Big Data as a buzzword. Definitely recommended