Chevron Left
Back to Big History: Connecting Knowledge

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big History: Connecting Knowledge by Macquarie University

4.8
981 ratings
265 reviews

About the Course

We currently face unprecedented challenges on a global scale. These problems do not neatly fall into disciplines. They are complicated, complex, and connected. Join us on this epic journey of 13.8 billion years starting at the Big Bang and travelling through time all the way to the future. Discover the connections in our world, the power of collective learning, how our universe and our world has evolved from incredible simplicity to ever-increasing complexity. Experience our modern scientific origin story through Big History and discover the important links between past, current, and future events. You will find two different types of lectures. ‘Zooming In’ lectures from multiple specialists enable you to understand key concepts through the lens of different disciplines, whilst David Christian's ‘Big History Framework’ lectures provide the connective overview for a journey through eight thresholds of Big History....

Top reviews

BG

Jan 07, 2016

Finally! A creation myth based on evidence and multiple scientific disciplines for all humans is here! The time for stories based on speculation and superstition for the chosen group is finally over.

MS

Aug 01, 2017

Very informative, cross and inter-disciplinary course. Lot of effort is put into formulating and developing the course. Thanks for all the people who have contributed to run the course successfully.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 259 Reviews for Big History: Connecting Knowledge

By Niels M S

Sep 15, 2019

Fantastic and trailblaizing course. Changes your perspective on so many things and educates you in state-of.the-art knowledge in many fields such as astrophysics, geology, palaeontology, biology, archelology, social sciences and history. Great focus on what science is as well and differences between natural sciences on the one side and social sciences and history on the other. Where possible they also let you see 'the data' for yourself.

By christian

Sep 16, 2019

interseting to learn

By Jess. H

Sep 21, 2019

This is a pretty though provoking course. It allows me to learn about history from a general view. My biggest gain from this course if understanding that everything, including lifes, or even the universe, will at some point come to an end. The course sort of forces me to face this reality, therefore make me think about how I'm going to do with the rest year of my life before it comes to the end.

By Mark S

Sep 01, 2019

A brilliant course. I am fascinated by David Christians central premise about a multidisciplinary study spanning the whole of creation. The course videos are well constructed, engaging and easy to understand. These are backed up by a wealth of glossary's, timelines and supplementary readings. A great course for lovers of learning.

By Francisco J d o (

Sep 03, 2019

A connection of all knowledge into one line of understanding of our beautiful and mysterious universe. Thank you very much.

By Brandon H

Sep 30, 2019

Interesting. Informative. Exciting.

By bill w

Oct 11, 2019

Really enjoyed the course. In particular, the concepts of increasing complexity, thresholds and Goldilocks conditions and the knowledge testing tools gave me a very useful framework for organising my knowledge and for further learning.

By Mariam C

Nov 23, 2019

Really interesting and covers a whole bunch of different disciplines !

By Cameron W

Oct 29, 2019

Gave me a great insight into the different theories of how the world was created and many more. Great course. Very interesting and would strongly recommend.

By Cathy B

Oct 29, 2019

Excellent course. Eye opening.

By Monique U

Oct 31, 2019

I found this course very interesting, although not coming from a science background the first three thresholds were a bit hard. The concepts are very well described and the videos entertainingI loved how the course brought everything together

By Angus C

Oct 17, 2019

extremely interesting and helpful

By Carmen M L C

Nov 04, 2019

Excelente te da una gran visión

By Andrew C

Oct 20, 2019

A great beginners guide to understanding our origins and place in the universe.

By Benjamin J K

Nov 08, 2019

Very educational and beneficial

By Tom G

Oct 22, 2019

Absolutely excellent course, really enjoyed it

By Julio C N P

Mar 21, 2019

i like big history

By Will S

Sep 26, 2018

This course places you right in the midst of the whole universe without forgetting about your local environment.

By Mark E R

Oct 30, 2016

Very nice course, only minor issue is that the assignments were a tad easy

By Muhammad A S

Sep 20, 2016

An excellent course indeed! Strongly recommended for 'everyone'!

By Stephanie B M

Dec 21, 2016

Interesting concepts here and loved seeing all the connections. At times it was a bit too cutesy in its presentations.

By John D

Dec 15, 2015

Very nice overview, but it seemed to be too much information for the limited time. There should be a separate six week course for each threshold.

By Jay L

Nov 13, 2015

A logical expansion of the way history should be taught, Big History starts with the Big Bang and moves on from there. The historical information is not new but the perspective it encourages provides a way to tie history closer to science and the major events that have changed the universe, our world and human life. To often in history we get caught up in the details. Big History makes sure that the big picture, and how we fit into it, is always visible.

By Tsambikos P

May 25, 2017

very good lessons!!

By Vernon G

Jan 29, 2016

Initial reaction: Superb……Lectures are succinct and understandable. Support material seems well selected and informative. Forums are lively and peopled by very interested students……

Towards the end of the course however I began to wonder about the efficacy of some of the claims and I had a growing doubt about much of the material used…...