Chevron Left
Back to Big History: Connecting Knowledge

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big History: Connecting Knowledge by Macquarie University

4.8
stars
1,544 ratings
428 reviews

About the Course

We currently face unprecedented challenges on a global scale. These problems do not neatly fall into disciplines. They are complicated, complex, and connected. Join us on this epic journey of 13.8 billion years starting at the Big Bang and travelling through time all the way to the future. Discover the connections in our world, the power of collective learning, how our universe and our world has evolved from incredible simplicity to ever-increasing complexity. Experience our modern scientific origin story through Big History and discover the important links between past, current, and future events. You will find two different types of lectures. ‘Zooming In’ lectures from multiple specialists enable you to understand key concepts through the lens of different disciplines, whilst David Christian's ‘Big History Framework’ lectures provide the connective overview for a journey through eight thresholds of Big History....

Top reviews

SA
Jul 1, 2020

I absolutely LOVED Big History! It's so interesting and insightful!! I highly recommend everyone to take this course, you will learn a lot about the world! Thank you Professor Christian and Baker!! :)

BG
Jan 6, 2016

Finally! A creation myth based on evidence and multiple scientific disciplines for all humans is here! The time for stories based on speculation and superstition for the chosen group is finally over.

Filter by:

401 - 424 of 424 Reviews for Big History: Connecting Knowledge

By Berkan C

May 6, 2020

Good overview of Big History. But some recommended links didn't work

By Wondearth W o E

Aug 3, 2020

Great course, but could have had more information on human history.

By Vipul A

Jan 20, 2017

It was very intuitive course with lots of example and explanation.

By Maxim B

May 14, 2020

Helpful, but most of the material is a recap from school program

By Muhammad A S

Sep 20, 2016

An excellent course indeed! Strongly recommended for 'everyone'!

By Emily D

Jun 16, 2020

I really enjoyed this course! Would definitely reccomend

By Jukka H

Apr 23, 2020

Nice course, very good perspectives and a great journey!

By Henry I

Apr 11, 2016

It is very good but it doesn't explain every thing

By Tony A

Feb 9, 2016

Good, engaging and thought-provoking course.

By Якупов А

May 26, 2019

Global view of the evolution process.

By Medhedi

Apr 26, 2017

Excellent Cours.. Merci a tt l'équipe

By Patrick L

May 29, 2016

Very interesting and mind expanding.

By Md. R H

Apr 27, 2020

Good, thanks for the opportunity :)

By Robert S

Apr 19, 2016

Great ideas. Great course.

By ADITYA R K

Oct 13, 2020

It is a very good course

By Tsambikos P

May 25, 2017

very good lessons!!

By Julio C N P

Mar 20, 2019

i like big history

By Atul P

Sep 16, 2020

Great course it really broaden my perspective and my vision and my ability to connect several of the inter -disciplinary fields !!

By Paolo S

Dec 18, 2015

The history of the universe, mainkind and the future in 6 weeks. A very short introduction but a good idea

By John j c

Aug 17, 2020

I do not turning in a paper is fair since i am not getting college credit for this course

By Kiran M

Jun 13, 2020

this is very good course to increase our knowledge about history

By Francisco F

Jul 19, 2021

I​t is based on far too much ideology, particularly last week.

M​akes many unfounded claims that actually contradict what the central idea is. Instead of presenting the different lines of thought, it asserts one as if it was a fact

By Mitch C

May 28, 2021

T​his course has so many dead links. The course provides a great deal of links to other sources of information and it suggests that you read them, however most of the links don't work and haven't worked for years. The so called "Help Desk" at Coursera was useless in resolving this issue. The course contradicts itself in some areas which is annoying. It states in one area that the first stars were formed 200 million years after the big bang and then it states in another chapter that they were formed 540 million years after the big bang and based on outside reading the actual answer is 100 million years.

T​he course also pushes the Global Warming, eh, I mean Climate Change, eh, I mean Climate Crisis narative in the final chapter. There is no need to place a progressive spin on the course. Just state the facts, including all of the predictions that proponents of global warming have made that have failed to be true.

T​he tests are super easy and are hardly University level material. Multiple choice, open book, with the option to re-take over and over. The final essay is 50% of the grade and is ambiguous in what the essay is expected to be about. Instead of being about facts, it is about feelings.

T​he course's discussion forum is a joke. There is no one on it. There are no staff or moderators. It is like entering a chat room and you are the only on on-line.

I​ got much more out of the youtube series called Big History by Crash Course with John Green. Link - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tq6be-CZJ3w&list=PL8dPuuaLjXtMczXZUmjb3mZSU1Roxnrey

By aneli h

Nov 26, 2018

no