Chevron Left
Back to Front-End Web UI Frameworks and Tools: Bootstrap 4

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Front-End Web UI Frameworks and Tools: Bootstrap 4 by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.8
stars
6,383 ratings
1,937 reviews

About the Course

This course will give you an overview of client-side web UI frameworks, in particular Bootstrap 4. You will learn about grids and responsive design, Bootstrap CSS and JavaScript components. You will learn about CSS preprocessors, Less and Sass. You will also learn the basics of Node.js and NPM and task runners like Grunt and Gulp. At the end of this course, you will be able to a)Set up, design and style a web page using Bootstrap 4 and its components, b) Create a responsive web page design, and c) Make use of web tools to setup and manage web sites. This course also includes an honors track that enables you to work on your own project developing a website using Bootstrap 4. Students enrolling in this course should have prior good working knowledge of HTML, CSS and JavaScript....

Top reviews

AS
Apr 4, 2020

This is course is amazing given ou already know some html, css and javascript. People say Bootstrap is easy but after this course I realized many wrong things I have been doing. Recommend it for sure!

DG
Oct 10, 2018

Excellent course for anyone who is familiar with html, css, but cannot organise the subject in their mind. This course excellently teaches you the what is what, and how to do things in the correct way

Filter by:

1651 - 1675 of 1,927 Reviews for Front-End Web UI Frameworks and Tools: Bootstrap 4

By S T

Jul 8, 2019

good

By vakil

Jul 6, 2019

good

By SenthilKumar

Jun 24, 2019

Good

By orientalboyli

May 22, 2019

good

By Kalive P K

Oct 1, 2018

nice

By armin

Sep 6, 2017

good

By Kuchkarov S K

Dec 21, 2020

sad

By Elias Z D

Aug 8, 2020

...

By Zainab Z

Sep 17, 2020

😀

By Asad M

Aug 26, 2020

dd

By SANJEEV S [ B C K 2 ]

Aug 23, 2020

ok

By Estrella P

Jun 20, 2020

:)

By Muhammad T A

Oct 15, 2019

<3

By Адилбеков А

Jul 2, 2020

.

By Arnab D

Apr 6, 2020

.

By Vinod B

Jun 18, 2019

T

By John G

Jul 24, 2020

This was an excellent introduction to UI frameworks, a skillset with which I have previously been unfamiliar. My only caveat is that as the video presentation ages, the many specific versions of supporting Node modules will become more and more out of date and increasingly encounter incompatibilities. Indeed, I did run into a handful of such incompatibilities; fortunately a little time on Google and Stackoverflow was enough to overcome them. I certainly understand Prof. Muppala not wanting to re-record the entire video just to update those versions, a brief recorded addendum directing the student to a list of updated modules would do the trick. All in all, a great course that was just what I needed to get my feet wet in this area.

By Carah S

Jan 1, 2021

I enjoyed the course a lot and got lots of good information from it. A couple of points though:

the forum was pretty useless since it is just full of people asking to review. It would be nice if all those messages were removed so that people asking for help could get help.

It made me uncomfortable to code review some people's work because some were full of links etc and I was worried about the security of my computer.

Grunt and Gulp were very out of date. Grunt doesn't seem to be used anymore and gave me warnings that it was deprecated and Gulp has moved to a much newer version that is very different than the one in class. I did eventually get the new version of Gulp working though and I did learn a lot.

By Andrey B

Feb 18, 2021

Very good and actual course for someone who wants to start using Bootstrap 4. Maybe a little shallow sometimes but all important things are covered. Also the course helps to start working with GIT, NPN and task runners (Grant/Gulp) which are very important for modern web development. Unfortunately I had issues with installation of some node modules especially with gulp modules. And some node modules from course are deprecated now or have many vulnerabilities. Anyway the course provides basics of these instruments and that will be useful in the future.

By Edgar L A

Jun 22, 2020

Great course, has a lot of good information, I just would recommend updating the videos, if you follow just the videos, you will get into trouble, because of old libraries or code missing, that is on the lectures but not on the video, I spend hours trying to solve issues that were solved on the lectures, or at least mentioned somewhere. Something that I have highlighted is that the forums for the course are very helpful, people post on them how to solve the issues you can encounter on the course, because of the outdated information.

By Haroldo M T F

Aug 31, 2017

Great points:

The content improved a lot from the previous version of the course. The explanation of navbars now is understandable and the presented code is much cleaner.

Suggestions for improvement:

The two last units of the last week are very very very confusing. Lot´s of code with few explanations (look at the documentation...). I don´t know what you wanted us to understand. The only thing I learned was Grunt/Gulp = too much complexity. Suggest a specific lesson about this topic or to summarize this content.

By Khawaja T T

May 6, 2020

Instructor has covered some of the great details of Bootstrap. He has good knowledge of the Framework that he delivered in this courser. At the start, I was bothered due to accent but somehow with time I adjusted with it. Im giving four stars only due to reason at times in almost every video there are syncing issue of audio and video i.e. its like instructor is speaking ahead of what he's about to do and also sometimes keyboard tapping go so much annoying. OVerall Great !!!!

By Giuseppe V G

Oct 30, 2017

A basic but almost complete introduction to Bootstrap 4 alpha 6. It also focus a little on npm, grunt, gulp, less, sass and other useful stuffs that could make an initial approach to front-end web development easier.

The only things that should be improved IMHO are the discussion forum and the method of peer reviews. It should be augmented the number of peer reviews that each student should do because 90% of the posts on the discussion forums are about peer review request.

By Kwan S M

Apr 27, 2020

The course is very useful. Through the lecture materials (videos and readings) and exercises, we learn how to develop mobile first website. However, some contents of the exercises need to be updated. The software versions used in the lecture are quite old. Some software versions have been withdrawn and the command syntax of new version are quite different from the old version. It causes some problems to the students while doing the exercises.

By SURAJ B

Feb 1, 2021

Good Course! The course takes you from understanding concepts and then applying the knowledge gained on the Graded Assignments. The assignments really help and give a hands on experience. Giving one star less as some packages made to install in the exercise are outdated and deprecated. Apart from this the course is really good. You really need some knowledge of HTML, CSS and JavaScript beforehand so that you clearly understand the course.