Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
2,536 ratings
339 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN

Dec 15, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

JS

Mar 12, 2017

Extremely practical and essentially human, this was really interesting to better understand the different roles and how to help data science teams to work together, highly recommended

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 332 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By Michael A L

Mar 16, 2018

Team builders of all stripes can benefit from the insights imparted in this course, not just data science groups.

By Nupur B

Sep 30, 2015

Very Informative & Elaborate

By Andre G G

Mar 06, 2017

Must do it! Really good!

By william K

Dec 27, 2016

G

By SOM D M

Feb 21, 2017

A quick and Great introduction on building effective Teams

By Ignatious C

Apr 04, 2017

Really enjoyed myself

By Robert W

Nov 18, 2017

This is a great course for gaining a top-level understanding of how to build a Data Science team.

By Pooja S

Jul 07, 2017

Great course material!

By Anupama B M

Oct 13, 2016

This course delivered all the materials the way I expected it to and was easy to understand.

By Md Z R

Aug 20, 2017

Concise & good overview on Data team building & management.

By chenneng007

Oct 22, 2017

SO GOOD

By Abdul W

Nov 19, 2017

Thank you very much Instructors for introducing this course.

By ABDALRAHIM A

Jan 06, 2018

Very Important with Managing Data Analysis course

By Jill M W

Jun 19, 2017

I really enjoyed learn the specific roles of each person in a data science team. By learning the role of each team member, it is a start in learning how to manage each individual role and the whole class came together in a cohesive way.

Great class!

By Juan F

Oct 24, 2016

Great course for someone who will be leading a DS team for the first time.

By mikkel B M

Sep 19, 2016

Great course!

By Debashis D

Jan 08, 2018

Good coverage regarding finer nuances of managing a Data Science team

By Josh T

Nov 20, 2016

great course and instructor!

By MD A

Jun 20, 2017

Excellent course!

By david c

Nov 18, 2015

david

By Nwokedi T

Nov 26, 2015

Excellent presentation

By Joseph S

Jul 17, 2017

Great Course. very helpful in my current assignment in leading a Data Science Team.

By Olayiwola T

Nov 08, 2016

The mode of teaching was interesting and I hope you can do better in the area of providing answers to questions we missed after the course. Thanks for the opportunity given to me.

By Andrew R

Mar 07, 2017

Great class!

By Naren

Mar 02, 2017

Very helpful and easy learning and objec