Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
2,563 ratings
341 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN

Dec 15, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

JS

Mar 12, 2017

Extremely practical and essentially human, this was really interesting to better understand the different roles and how to help data science teams to work together, highly recommended

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 334 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By Chris J C

Jan 17, 2018

Pretty engaging class.

By Federico Z

Apr 26, 2018

Excelente la organización de las clases. Ejemplos claros que sirven para fortalecer la parte más conceptual del curso.

By Sateesh K R

Mar 10, 2016

Excellent Course for everyone keen to learn data science.

By Ivan D

Oct 08, 2016

Good and useful material

By Siddharth T

Apr 03, 2016

A very helpful course in understanding how the team composition should be and the typical Job descriptions of different members of the team.

By Samuel V

Feb 12, 2017

Jeff Leek is great, explains things in a very clear and understandable way. Loved the course.

By Teresa B

Mar 24, 2016

High level but with enough details and context to make sense of the manager/exec/director's role in data science or the enterprise employing data science.

By Allen J M A

Aug 28, 2017

I really like the way this course was divided into manageable sections. It is really engaging and fun (and for those of you wondering, no, it's not boring at all). The course offers all the basics of how to build a data science team. I look forward to more courses like this from JHU and I would love to complete more courses and specialization courses from JHU. Kudos and Thank you!

By jackie c

Aug 26, 2017

a good course to get the Data Science team up and running. gives an overview of each roles and their responsibilities so as possible shortcoming.

By Edij

Dec 30, 2017

Excellent introduction to how to build a data scientist team.

By Andras F

Feb 26, 2018

This is a very well structured and really useful course, with several real-life examples and some interesting blog posts and articles on the subject.

By Nitin P

Nov 19, 2017

Liked the way the course topics are organized to understand the basics.

By Mark H

Aug 24, 2017

Very informative and easy to digest. I am the Manager of a Data Science team Manager, so I'm a bit removed from the team and this course is helping me appreciate and understand more about what goes on within the team and how we as an organisation can get more from them and they from the organisation. Very good lectures, with transcripts and all well paced in small, easy to swallow chunks. Very good.

By Christos G

Aug 25, 2017

Well thought and communicated, concise and punctual. Great experience, excellent value for time invested.

By Liz H

Oct 15, 2017

good coverage of skills needed, what a manager of this type of team would need to look out for.

By Franziska M

Apr 30, 2017

This course was very helpful! Thank you.

By Chloe L

Oct 18, 2017

Great course, great teacher, super useful!

By Gabriel U U

May 26, 2018

Great learning experience

By SagarSrinivas

Oct 02, 2017

Good Course!

By Santanu C

May 17, 2017

Excellent.. Thanks Jeff

By TanShuLeng

May 17, 2017

good overview and introduction to manager as to what traits to lookout for and organising the team. Very practical approach and implementable without being over the top.

By Francesco I

Jun 04, 2017

Excellent!!! I learned a lot, the videos are explanatory and very clear. I would warmly recommend this course

By ellen w

Jul 29, 2017

Practical info that's a useful quick reference for data science managers.

By Daniel M M

Aug 24, 2017

Very useful. Practical orientation and general team management practices well translated to data science projects and teams.

By David S

Feb 11, 2017

Very well documented and presented. I thoroughly enjoyed the course.