Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
2,567 ratings
341 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN

Dec 15, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

JS

Mar 12, 2017

Extremely practical and essentially human, this was really interesting to better understand the different roles and how to help data science teams to work together, highly recommended

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 334 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By Sophie L B

Mar 04, 2018

very nice. The boundaries of skills between data engineers and data scientists are sometimes a little artificial but I enjoyed the material a lot.

By Michelle W

Feb 28, 2018

Succinct and engaging.

By Stephen L

Oct 04, 2015

I thought this course was great.

By Shibaji M

Sep 20, 2015

This is a great course for helping you decide where you fit in the data science domain. The content is very clear, informative and have definite suggestions and conclusions. Unlike most of the information available on this topic, which mostly says that you need to be a unicorn to be in this space, this course talks sense, divides scope, suggests achievable targets and you can plan and assess rationally.

Also Jeff is a classic teacher,it's always rewarding to listen to him whatever be the topic.

By Antonio P L

Sep 26, 2015

Great Course

By tommy c

May 23, 2016

great for existence human and android based life-form simulation internal lifestyle...

The course improves life within the simulation 10 fold at least(when combined with the other specialization courses) ...

Perfect learning tool for those who have worked professionally in research field sin our simulation and yet now have a touch of "the turrings" or you know : CBI...

Special thanks to the designers of the course.

Top scores for coursera.org &John Hopkins ...

By Nisha S

Aug 26, 2017

This course is a good-start for new Data science managers

By Mukesh R

Jul 04, 2017

This course proved very useful to me as I am in the process of setting up a data science team for my customer.

By Paul H

Jan 04, 2017

Great overview, lots of useful tips, and an interesting angle to approach data science that i was not well versed in.

By Jurie S

Mar 12, 2017

Extremely practical and essentially human, this was really interesting to better understand the different roles and how to help data science teams to work together, highly recommended

By Deleted A

Apr 01, 2017

Good introduction to managing a team from the perspective of Data Science.

By 周宁 N Z L

Mar 28, 2016

Easy to understanding the structure knowledge of building a data science team.

By Lisa G

Oct 27, 2016

Really well put together material and the Jeff Leek is engaging as a lecturer

By Vijai K S

Feb 10, 2016

Short yet nice :)

By Michael B

Sep 04, 2017

Clear and concise guidelines on what to consider when building and managing a high performing data science organization.

By Olga A

Jan 19, 2017

Very good course! Thanks to it, i got an interest in developing my skills in Data Analysis further.

By Naren

Mar 02, 2017

Very helpful and easy learning and objec

By Andrew R

Mar 07, 2017

Great class!

By Federico Z

Apr 26, 2018

Excelente la organización de las clases. Ejemplos claros que sirven para fortalecer la parte más conceptual del curso.

By Olayiwola T

Nov 08, 2016

The mode of teaching was interesting and I hope you can do better in the area of providing answers to questions we missed after the course. Thanks for the opportunity given to me.

By Allen J M A

Aug 28, 2017

I really like the way this course was divided into manageable sections. It is really engaging and fun (and for those of you wondering, no, it's not boring at all). The course offers all the basics of how to build a data science team. I look forward to more courses like this from JHU and I would love to complete more courses and specialization courses from JHU. Kudos and Thank you!

By Mark H

Aug 24, 2017

Very informative and easy to digest. I am the Manager of a Data Science team Manager, so I'm a bit removed from the team and this course is helping me appreciate and understand more about what goes on within the team and how we as an organisation can get more from them and they from the organisation. Very good lectures, with transcripts and all well paced in small, easy to swallow chunks. Very good.

By jackie c

Aug 26, 2017

a good course to get the Data Science team up and running. gives an overview of each roles and their responsibilities so as possible shortcoming.

By Edij

Dec 30, 2017

Excellent introduction to how to build a data scientist team.

By Anna S

Nov 24, 2017

Very interesting, because it deals with "soft skills" too and handling these seems increasingly important. It helps you understand how a data team works and how to interact with them and manage the environment best. I find this course very useful.