Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
2,566 ratings
341 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN

Dec 15, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

JS

Mar 12, 2017

Extremely practical and essentially human, this was really interesting to better understand the different roles and how to help data science teams to work together, highly recommended

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 334 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By Evangelos T

Aug 27, 2017

Great insight into how to build a data science team beyond common management issues that typically apply to team management.

By 杨波

Nov 05, 2017

Excellent!

By Santanu C

May 17, 2017

Excellent.. Thanks Jeff

By Sohail B

Sep 07, 2017

Brief Profile: Sohail Butt

I am a man of 58 years old and having an experience of almost 30 years of Business Management of Pharmaceutical & Nutraceutical Industries of Pakistan. Presently I am having my own Consulting Company " AIMMS CONSULTING" and extending my services as Management Consultant to different companies of said sectors.

I am of the conviction that learning is never ending and have a habit of learning new ideas about my favorite subject about Data Science. Although I have the limited usage of this subject in my working areas but I love to know about new areas of different specialties.

I really appreciate highly the efforts of respected instructor and enjoyed the course material and videos presentation of this course. Mind blowing approach was adopted especially in the basic components of Building A Data Science Team Data Analysis.

SUGGESTION:

MY PERSONAL HUMBLE REQUEST, Please make also the important components of course material as a part of this Certificate with % AGGREGATE so that it has a much more worth & impact for the courses participated.

A separate Transcript must be issued with having Aggregate % Score and important Components of participated course.

Thanks & best wishes to all Coursera Team.

By John E

Dec 20, 2017

Helpful breakdown, thanks!

By Francesco I

Jun 04, 2017

Excellent!!! I learned a lot, the videos are explanatory and very clear. I would warmly recommend this course

By ellen w

Jul 29, 2017

Practical info that's a useful quick reference for data science managers.

By Chris C

Nov 20, 2017

Very in depth (almost too in depth!)

By Kuldeep S S

Nov 17, 2017

awesome

By Shivakumar H

Oct 27, 2017

very informative

By Chloe L

Oct 18, 2017

Great course, great teacher, super useful!

By Ashish L

Apr 20, 2019

Very nice overview of how to build a Data Science Team.

By Omid F

May 10, 2019

Thank you very much for your excellent course.

Best Regards

Omid Faseli

By James L

Jun 16, 2019

Very applicable course structure. Thank you for placing the strengths and challenges of managing a DS team into a well delivered course.

By Penny A B

Jun 17, 2019

Informative and worth your time especially if you lack HR knowledge.

By Paul T R

Jun 19, 2019

Very useful - real world insight

By Abhishek V K

Jul 22, 2019

This is an excellent course for those who want to conceptualize a Data Science role or team for their organizations. The course not only explains the roles played by a data scientist, data engineer and data science manager, but also cover the intricacies working with the data science team. Their interaction with othe

By Nitin S M

Jul 29, 2019

thanks

By Christos R

Jun 02, 2019

Very nice course, highly recommended

By Manuel E

Jul 03, 2019

Excellent course. Liked the practical approach to interviewing.

By Paulo B M d S

Jul 05, 2019

Excelent combination between management and data science.

By Le T P T

Jul 08, 2019

very good scoure

By Ivan D

Oct 25, 2019

It was really helpful, useful and give me a lot of pleasure to listen.

By Andres J

Nov 07, 2019

Effective. Quick and to the point.

By Rajneesh T

Nov 25, 2019

na