Chevron Left
Back to Business Model Innovation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Model Innovation by HEC Paris

4.7
stars
252 ratings
74 reviews

About the Course

Innovation goes beyond technology, products and processes. The new competitive landscape requires another, more holistic and strategic perspective, based on the concept of business models. This course gives you access to the Odyssey 3.14 approach, a pioneering framework that will help you invent or reinvent business models. This highly innovative approach has been developed by Laurence Lehmann-Ortega and Hélène Musikas and has proven to be a very valuable methodology for start-up entrepreneurs, business unit managers and intrapreneurs alike. It offers a practical and highly effective framework and toolbox to create, invent or reinvent business models in a very disciplined way. The approach starts with a deep dive into the 3 pillars of the business model: - The value proposition (who are our customers and what are we offering them?) - The value architecture (how are we organized in order to deliver this value proposition to our customers in due time) - The profit equation (how the alignment between the first 2 pillars generates a profit) 14 directions are then explored in order to invent or reinvent a business model. Examples of the directions include “reducing clients overall costs”, “modifying the revenue stream”, “introducing a third party”, “eliminating a step in the value chain”, and “exploring new resources”. Illustrated by numerous examples, both iconic (Ikea, Tetra Pack, Grameen Bank…) and more recent (Airbnb, Zopa, Drive Now…), these directions stimulate your creativity to rigorously explore all possible innovation paths. Innovation becomes an adventure, an odyssey… hence the name of the approach! Odyssey 3.14 is the result of over 15 years of research, consulting and teaching. Over 150 companies that have successfully invented or reinvented their business model have been thoroughly analyzed and will inspire you to develop your own new, innovative business model. This course is a part of the MSIE program at HEC. If you liked it, do not hesitate to consult the other courses of the program....

Top reviews

MN

Jan 17, 2017

Superb course with great structure and well designed modules and videos. You end up with a very practical toolbox to think about business models in a very disciplined way.

BM

May 06, 2018

Very good course! the pedagogy is excellent, and the whole way to re-invent a business model is really operational! thanks a lot for the people who prepared this course!

Filter by:

51 - 71 of 71 Reviews for Business Model Innovation

By Anne-Marie S

Mar 31, 2020

Really interesting

By Pascale D

Feb 18, 2017

Amazing course !

By Alby K P

Jun 02, 2020

Great Content.

By Victor B

May 18, 2020

Great course.

By Benyamina M

Aug 24, 2017

très bon cour

By Laurent B

Apr 14, 2018

Le cours (Re)-invent your business model with the Odyssey 3.14 approach permet de découvrir une méthode de business model innovation qui complète bien un outil tel que le Business Model Canvas d'Alexander Osterwalder et l'approche de l'effectuation. Le travail final offre une opportunité de produire un livrable fouillé ou le support d'un réel projet entrepreneurial.

By Lars A

Jun 09, 2018

This is a great course on business model innovation. The instructors have carefully planned a progression with exercises and tests that reinforce the learning. They provide many examples of the models 3 core components and the 14 directions, all of which they explain in great detail. Highly recommended even if you know about the business model canvas.

By Biagio C

Jun 09, 2016

I would have like a longer course about these arguments. Anyway it offers really a lot of examples, effective analytic tools and ispirations to develop innovation in the business.

By Diaa E A E

Aug 01, 2019

Course is unique as it uses the Blue Ocean Strategy indirectly to re-invent the business. It would have been perfect if the Business Model Canvas was used with the process

By Prasanna P

Mar 30, 2020

Well guided approach to invent or re-invent business models. Course content and Examples are engaging.

By Koen H

Jan 27, 2019

I enjoyed the structural approach to business model innovation. Very usefull!

By Sergio R

Apr 19, 2020

very interesting model and teachers were great

By Niel K

May 19, 2020

Very practical and stimulating!

By Humbert

Dec 22, 2016

Great course, very inspir

By Keith B

May 14, 2020

Very interesting course.

By Lois M

Jun 28, 2020

Sharply constructed!

By Sajith R C

Aug 01, 2020

is fine can improve

By Adam N

Jun 07, 2020

Good course!

By T.E M

May 21, 2020

Hi

By Adam M

Aug 07, 2017

It was a good course, but I felt that there was some difficulty with the questions; they were not always well defined.

This was generally not an issue on the multiple choice questions, but for the open assignments that were graded by fellow students, I felt like it was an issue. We did not always know what aspect of the assignment would be graded. In addition, I feel like this led to some grades from fellow students that were "out of scope"; basically, they were grading on things that were not part of the grading rubric.

By Luisa W

Mar 12, 2020

The Quizes are way too difficult and you don't get feedback on which answers of the quiz were wrong. I can't revommend this course and will stop doing it.