Chevron Left
Back to Keeping up with Change: Issues for the Finance Professional

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Keeping up with Change: Issues for the Finance Professional by University of London

4.7
stars
401 ratings
119 reviews

About the Course

This MOOC identifies and explores a number of challenges to the finance professional arising from the ever changing business environment. Increasingly, financial decisions must take account of strategic consequences. The first module, Exploring Strategic Position, Choice and Action helps in doing that – setting a strategic context for planning for, monitoring and controlling projects and activities. An on-going set of challenges is found in the evolution of International Reporting Standards. The second module focuses on some recent changes in Standards, identifying the drivers for changes, and examining evolution in controversial areas such as leasing and goodwill. The third and final module, Corporate Governance, examines issues which are causing people to re-assess the nature, purpose and scope of corporate governance, and challenges to making governance function effectively. Key issues here are the move to include a broader range of stakeholders, the perennial challenge of agency theory issues, shareholder activism, changing Board structures, and challenges to internal control to better manage risk. This MOOC will be right for you if you are interested in engaging with some of the challenges facing finance professionals, even if you are not one yourself. If you are thinking about returning to study this will provide a taster of academic endeavours through reading articles, critiquing ideas, and blending theory with reality....

Top reviews

TF
Aug 23, 2020

This was very engaging and challenging at the same time. I learnt a lot about strategy, strategic choices, governance and stakeholders management. It is highly recommended!

KL
Nov 30, 2019

it matched the topic, keeping me up the change. learned new way of learning online. thanks to all help to my peers who helped me through to meet the deadlines.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 117 Reviews for Keeping up with Change: Issues for the Finance Professional

By SAFDER M

Dec 7, 2020

Excellent Course designed to keep Finance Professionals abreast with the latest trends and developments

By Muhammad A Y

Dec 3, 2016

This course is worth learning in order to be uptodate with new things in the business and standards.

By Tianzhao S Y

May 7, 2019

It is a great way to update accounting knowledge, and also a professional way for learning.

By Maria P

Dec 28, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. Perfect update of skills and refreshing previous knowledge.

By TORIOLA A T

Jun 11, 2020

This was a pleasant experience, often demanding time but it has been more than worth it

By Ian W

Dec 29, 2020

Very useful to keep up to date with the latest developments, and a useful refresher

By Njinwi J T

Dec 15, 2016

Quite interesting and very relevant as a good reminder of the fundamental concepts.

By Iain W

Jan 10, 2018

This was a very good thought provoking course and useful in my professional life.

By Ganesh K A

Jun 7, 2020

Very good one and give lot of opportunity to prepare project / analysis by own.

By Ali A

Feb 17, 2020

Good refresher of past studies plus good update for recent developments in IFRS

By Beenzu M C C

Jun 27, 2016

Very relevant program and applicable to current economic, social and global iss

By ahmad a

Jul 24, 2020

this course has important analysis methods and theories , it's very useful.

By Steve S L

Dec 28, 2020

This course was useful for me since it was along time since I graduated.

By Sameer M

Jun 18, 2017

It was a good refresher and a great way to bring me back to study mode.

By Rongguang G

Mar 15, 2020

very good course, challenging but fulfulled with confidence post study

By P X

Feb 25, 2017

Enjoyed working through this course. Well structured and paced.

By Mongi K

Jun 15, 2020

Really enjoyed the course, clear structure and great content!

By Edem B A

Dec 16, 2018

VERY EDUCATIVE COURSE. REALLY KEPT PARTICIPANTS UP TO DATE

By Tena S

May 14, 2017

Loving this course. Really getting me back into the swing.

By Muhammad Q A

May 27, 2018

A great course to refresh knowledge of Financial issues.

By Carol F

Apr 8, 2020

The online tutorials and explanations were excellent

By Tanya T

Apr 25, 2016

Great course. Well structuredould highly recommend.

By Peter m

Dec 7, 2020

Great in content. Covers materials extensively

By Grzegorz S

Feb 11, 2018

very simple and straightforward user friendly

By VIVIAN H W

Sep 11, 2017

Very good course as a refreshment to those!