Chevron Left
Back to The Changing Arctic

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Changing Arctic by National Research Tomsk State University

4.4
106 ratings
27 reviews

About the Course

What will I learn? After taking this course you will have an understanding of Arctic landscapes, how they were formed and how they are changing. You will also learn how scientists from countries around the North are working together to understand how these changes will affect the People of the North and the global community. You will experience a range of scientific topics, up-to-date-methods for understanding our environment, and the current consensus views on the future of the Arctic environment. Do I need prior knowledge? No prior knowledge is needed for this course; participants should only come equipped with natural curiosity and a willingness to invest time in understanding an environmental issue of global concern. The terms and concepts are targeted at an educated public, not specialists, but resources will be provided so those who are motivated can explore some issues in more depth....

Top reviews

GT

Jul 28, 2017

Everyone should take this course! A wonderful exploration of a breathtaking region. Presented by an eminent polar scientist who has contributed much field research to extend our understanding.

SG

Nov 11, 2016

Great information from the lectures and great photo's of the Arctic, the free downloadable book is an extra bonus and helps with the quiz questions, well done Terry and team..

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 27 Reviews for The Changing Arctic

By Jonathan G

Mar 23, 2018

I didn't get the point of this course. It was boring as hell.

By amod k

Feb 24, 2018

Excellent knowledge gained. Truly an eye opener. very valuable for someone working in Arctic countries

By Karla E

Oct 23, 2017

Very good non technical introduction - just skip past the quizzes as they are too picky and pointless. I am sure the included booklet would be very interesting but it was scanned / stored as PDF with double wide pages and thus very difficult to read on my laptop screen. Need my big office monitors! There is some pretty extreme sound level differences between the weeks.

By Gipsi T

Jul 28, 2017

Everyone should take this course! A wonderful exploration of a breathtaking region. Presented by an eminent polar scientist who has contributed much field research to extend our understanding.

By Philip H

Jun 09, 2017

An excellent class on the issues and concerns facing thew arctic.

By Ali Y

Jun 07, 2017

The Course content is excellent and informative. Thanks, Prof. Callaghan for providing such a unique course. I hope more and more courses about Arctic in the future.

THE ONLY problem was about Quizzes. I could not pass some of the quizzes. Because there were some questions that cannot be answered........ even by reading the whole chapters of the book.. especially for the Week 1 Q2 there was a serious issue.

Finally, I gave up and could not get a certificate which is disappointing :(

By Mohammed M

May 25, 2017

excellent course and material. The tutor is extremely knowledgeable!

By Melanie V K

May 14, 2017

I enjoyed the course very much, though having a background in biology and environmental sciences I would described it as an introduction/101 course and thus information touched only the surface of the matter. The literature given was helpful and interesting.

By Mark

Mar 27, 2017

The video lectures are informative and interesting, but the QUIZZES COVER INFORMATION NOT ADDRESSED IN THE LECTURES!!

By Bruce w

Jan 01, 2017

info good, photos way too small, would be nice if they were full screen

By Francine

Dec 26, 2016

Interesting subject matter, but offered in an insufficient way. Bad transcripts, for example: AND THE POTENTIAL IMPACT COULD BE SERIOUS FOR LOCAL POPULATIONS AND THE GLOBAL COMMUNIST, THAT MEANS YOU – am I a global communist? And quizzes with questions that cannot be answered from the course texts. There are far better courses on this subject, from the University of Alberta (Coursera) or the University of British Columbia (edX).

By Sean G

Nov 11, 2016

Great information from the lectures and great photo's of the Arctic, the free downloadable book is an extra bonus and helps with the quiz questions, well done Terry and team..

By Hailey M

Aug 22, 2016

Quizzes kept requiring information that was oddly specific (needing an exact decimal number without multiple choice options), which would have been okay except that it was not covered in the lectures. Ended up dropping course because there is no way to get through the quizzes if the information is not covered.

By Richard H

Jul 13, 2016

Great course, but there is a problem with 2 of the exams not accepting correct answers.

By BRENDA G

Jun 27, 2016

LOVE THIS COURSE KEEP BRING MY INTERESTING COURSE ON CLIMATE CHANGE. THANKS BRENDA

By Gunhild J

Jun 20, 2016

This was a very interesting course. I only wish it could be made deeper and extended a bit!

By John P

Jun 07, 2016

I thought this was an brilliant introduction to a complex and vitally important topic. I certainly want to know more about this topic

By Turlea O

May 31, 2016

Great!

By Mescola G

May 26, 2016

Great media support (video and Interact Book) with teacher's quality for explanations and course's structure

By Joy S

May 14, 2016

This rating system seems to be broken

By Evangelos G

Apr 22, 2016

Perfect course !!

By Idoia C G

Feb 14, 2016

Very usefull course but I think It should be also with spanish subtitles.

By Erwin

Feb 03, 2016

Excellent Presentations! Answers for Quizzes are typically not provided in the lectures and extremely hard to find in the textbook or challenging to enter.

By Gara M M

Feb 02, 2016

This is a very bad course

By Jessica N

Dec 01, 2015

Excellent course, informative, good use of visuals. Work is at an easy pace for those with less time.