Chevron Left
Back to The Changing Arctic

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Changing Arctic by National Research Tomsk State University

4.3
stars
133 ratings
38 reviews

About the Course

What will I learn? After taking this course you will have an understanding of Arctic landscapes, how they were formed and how they are changing. You will also learn how scientists from countries around the North are working together to understand how these changes will affect the People of the North and the global community. You will experience a range of scientific topics, up-to-date-methods for understanding our environment, and the current consensus views on the future of the Arctic environment. Do I need prior knowledge? No prior knowledge is needed for this course; participants should only come equipped with natural curiosity and a willingness to invest time in understanding an environmental issue of global concern. The terms and concepts are targeted at an educated public, not specialists, but resources will be provided so those who are motivated can explore some issues in more depth....

Top reviews

GT

Jul 28, 2017

Everyone should take this course! A wonderful exploration of a breathtaking region. Presented by an eminent polar scientist who has contributed much field research to extend our understanding.

SG

Nov 11, 2016

Great information from the lectures and great photo's of the Arctic, the free downloadable book is an extra bonus and helps with the quiz questions, well done Terry and team..

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 38 Reviews for The Changing Arctic

By Mark

Mar 27, 2017

The video lectures are informative and interesting, but the QUIZZES COVER INFORMATION NOT ADDRESSED IN THE LECTURES!!

By Ali Y

Jun 07, 2017

The Course content is excellent and informative. Thanks, Prof. Callaghan for providing such a unique course. I hope more and more courses about Arctic in the future.

THE ONLY problem was about Quizzes. I could not pass some of the quizzes. Because there were some questions that cannot be answered........ even by reading the whole chapters of the book.. especially for the Week 1 Q2 there was a serious issue.

Finally, I gave up and could not get a certificate which is disappointing :(

By Hailey M

Aug 22, 2016

Quizzes kept requiring information that was oddly specific (needing an exact decimal number without multiple choice options), which would have been okay except that it was not covered in the lectures. Ended up dropping course because there is no way to get through the quizzes if the information is not covered.

By Sherry S

Oct 14, 2020

I learned about topics ranging from glacier formation to permafrost thaw to the impact of climate change on wild reindeer. The course features wonderful visuals/graphics and compelling videos. I gained access to INTERACT Stories of Arctic Science, an accompanying full-color book of scientific research which is integrated into the coursework. While I don't have a science background (just a math degree), I was able to follow along. HIGHLY recommended.

By Karla E

Oct 23, 2017

Very good non technical introduction - just skip past the quizzes as they are too picky and pointless. I am sure the included booklet would be very interesting but it was scanned / stored as PDF with double wide pages and thus very difficult to read on my laptop screen. Need my big office monitors! There is some pretty extreme sound level differences between the weeks.

By Matthew R

Nov 04, 2015

This a really nice introduction to how the Arctic is changing and its potential impact on lower latitudes in the remainder of this century. A big thanks to Terry Callaghan and National Research Tomsk State University in the Russian Federation for making this course happen. It would be great if there were a more advanced course on this topic in the

By Gipsi T

Jul 28, 2017

Everyone should take this course! A wonderful exploration of a breathtaking region. Presented by an eminent polar scientist who has contributed much field research to extend our understanding.

By Cristy T B

Sep 08, 2020

It´s clear, interesting and transmit passion for study the arctic. The science story section in the book I love it. I would like learn more about the topic. I enjoyed the course.

By Sean G

Nov 11, 2016

Great information from the lectures and great photo's of the Arctic, the free downloadable book is an extra bonus and helps with the quiz questions, well done Terry and team..

By Manish R

Apr 26, 2020

Very educational and touches Important topics. Quizzes are tricky, but they are worth the effort to solve them. Think a bit more creatively and in large.

By John P

Jun 07, 2016

I thought this was an brilliant introduction to a complex and vitally important topic. I certainly want to know more about this topic

By amod k

Feb 24, 2018

Excellent knowledge gained. Truly an eye opener. very valuable for someone working in Arctic countries

By Jessica N

Dec 01, 2015

Excellent course, informative, good use of visuals. Work is at an easy pace for those with less time.

By BRENDA G

Jun 27, 2016

LOVE THIS COURSE KEEP BRING MY INTERESTING COURSE ON CLIMATE CHANGE. THANKS BRENDA

By Idoia C G

Feb 14, 2016

Very usefull course but I think It should be also with spanish subtitles.

By Mohammed M

May 25, 2017

excellent course and material. The tutor is extremely knowledgeable!

By Philip H

Jun 09, 2017

An excellent class on the issues and concerns facing thew arctic.

By KAUSHIKKUMAR K R

Apr 06, 2020

THE QUIZ IS TOO MUCH DIFFICULT, BUT I ENJOY THE COURSE.

By Winston A W

May 31, 2020

Excellent, thank you.

By Evangelos G

Apr 22, 2016

Perfect course !!

By Turlea O

May 31, 2016

Great!

By Jessica M

Nov 18, 2015

This is a very good course. The material is formatted in a way that is very digestible even for those without a strong science background. Some of the quiz questions are harder than they should be, and challenging to locate the correct answer to. And it is not immediately clear that in order to pass the course a student must read the book the course is based upon. There are some spelling errors that should be corrected, and a few errors in the filmed dialogue. But the information contained in the course is good.

By Ishtiaq A

Jul 01, 2020

A course rich in information and statistics, The Changing Arctic has been quite an interesting journey highlighting some of the most basic yet crucial factors that play a part in the dramatic changes in the arctic region, and how these changes may affect the landscape and living beings as a whole. The course materials provide enough content for hours of reading and encourages further research into the topic.

By Alice Z

Aug 12, 2020

Week one quiz answer is in week 5 conclusion. This speaks to a serious lack of integrity in the course and so I will seek another course that teaches rather than perhaps just sell their ebook.

Coursera needs to check their courses.

Thank being said there is a lot of information - basic but worthwhile

By Wu H Y

Jul 19, 2020

Please improve those questions. I believe you can see from the discussion forum, most of the students have complained about it, which is stupidity and torture. But, the course's knowledge is still of good quality. Hope that you can make an improvement in it. Best.