Chevron Left
Back to The Changing Arctic

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Changing Arctic by National Research Tomsk State University

4.3
stars
133 ratings
38 reviews

About the Course

What will I learn? After taking this course you will have an understanding of Arctic landscapes, how they were formed and how they are changing. You will also learn how scientists from countries around the North are working together to understand how these changes will affect the People of the North and the global community. You will experience a range of scientific topics, up-to-date-methods for understanding our environment, and the current consensus views on the future of the Arctic environment. Do I need prior knowledge? No prior knowledge is needed for this course; participants should only come equipped with natural curiosity and a willingness to invest time in understanding an environmental issue of global concern. The terms and concepts are targeted at an educated public, not specialists, but resources will be provided so those who are motivated can explore some issues in more depth....

Top reviews

GT

Jul 28, 2017

Everyone should take this course! A wonderful exploration of a breathtaking region. Presented by an eminent polar scientist who has contributed much field research to extend our understanding.

SG

Nov 11, 2016

Great information from the lectures and great photo's of the Arctic, the free downloadable book is an extra bonus and helps with the quiz questions, well done Terry and team..

Filter by:

26 - 38 of 38 Reviews for The Changing Arctic

By Melanie V K

May 14, 2017

I enjoyed the course very much, though having a background in biology and environmental sciences I would described it as an introduction/101 course and thus information touched only the surface of the matter. The literature given was helpful and interesting.

By Erwin

Feb 03, 2016

Excellent Presentations! Answers for Quizzes are typically not provided in the lectures and extremely hard to find in the textbook or challenging to enter.

By Mescola G

May 26, 2016

Great media support (video and Interact Book) with teacher's quality for explanations and course's structure

By Gunhild J

Jun 20, 2016

This was a very interesting course. I only wish it could be made deeper and extended a bit!

By Richard H

Jul 13, 2016

Great course, but there is a problem with 2 of the exams not accepting correct answers.

By Bruce w

Jan 01, 2017

info good, photos way too small, would be nice if they were full screen

By Emil

Oct 15, 2020

A short course. One can describe it as introductory course.

By Joy S

May 14, 2016

This rating system seems to be broken

By Francine

Dec 26, 2016

Interesting subject matter, but offered in an insufficient way. Bad transcripts, for example: AND THE POTENTIAL IMPACT COULD BE SERIOUS FOR LOCAL POPULATIONS AND THE GLOBAL COMMUNIST, THAT MEANS YOU – am I a global communist? And quizzes with questions that cannot be answered from the course texts. There are far better courses on this subject, from the University of Alberta (Coursera) or the University of British Columbia (edX).

By Christopher D

Aug 28, 2020

The course presents a wealth of information in a digestible form. The instructor is clearly very knowledgeable in his field of study and his enthusiasm comes through clearly. The only thing that lets the course down are the very variable audio quality in the lectures and the frustratingly difficult assignments.

By Brent L

Oct 05, 2019

npt bad

By Jonathan G

Mar 23, 2018

I didn't get the point of this course. It was boring as hell.

By Gara M M

Feb 02, 2016

This is a very bad course