Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics by University of Cape Town

4.8
1,244 ratings
341 reviews

About the Course

If you’ve ever skipped over`the results section of a medical paper because terms like “confidence interval” or “p-value” go over your head, then you’re in the right place. You may be a clinical practitioner reading research articles to keep up-to-date with developments in your field or a medical student wondering how to approach your own research. Greater confidence in understanding statistical analysis and the results can benefit both working professionals and those undertaking research themselves. If you are simply interested in properly understanding the published literature or if you are embarking on conducting your own research, this course is your first step. It offers an easy entry into interpreting common statistical concepts without getting into nitty-gritty mathematical formulae. To be able to interpret and understand these concepts is the best way to start your journey into the world of clinical literature. That’s where this course comes in - so let’s get started! The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion which you become eligible for, if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

Top reviews

AM

Dec 16, 2018

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

LK

Jul 29, 2017

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 336 Reviews for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

By Massimiliano B

Jul 25, 2019

Perfect course four clinicians that want better understand the logic under a clinical study and the use of statistic in standard data analysis. I will suggest this course to all clinical researcher that need a basic but complete understanding of statistics applied to daily clinical problems.It will help you better understand papers (an allow you to read them more critically) and better chose between different approaches, designing a clinical trial or doing statistic for it. This course is explained in a simply way and the supports are very well prepared.

By Ankitkumar J A

Jul 30, 2019

V

By Katherine S R

Aug 01, 2019

This is an excellent course, the Dr Koppler gave us the very powerful piece of information of each subject.

By Leigh

Aug 02, 2019

Excellent. I would love to have had some of the final test answers explained in some way so I could understand why I got a couple wrong. Either way it was an excellent course, excellent Instructor and appropriate material for basic level statistics.

By Priscila d S N

Aug 06, 2019

The course highlights the most important concepts on statistics for students beginning in Health research, helping us interpret the data in published papers. We also learn to decide which tests to choose when analyzing our data. As a bonus, we end up curious about how to calculate the statistics - and I've heard when a class gives you more questions than answers, so it's reached its goals.

By ashutosh k p

Aug 13, 2019

VERY INFORMATIVE AND EXPLAINED IN SIMPLE WAYS TO UNDERSTAND BIOSTAT. BEST COURSE FOR BEGINNERS LIKE ME.

By SAJEDA M A A

Aug 09, 2019

It is such a great course that provide a complete comprehension of clinical researches and their analysis!

By Yasser N A

Jun 13, 2019

Great course. I recommend any medical personnel to take it.

By Ahmad T Q

Jun 13, 2019

Simplified outline course, short videos that target the main questioned point ! Highly recommended.

By Edgar W

Aug 17, 2019

Excellent, highly recommend

By Dong H N

Sep 11, 2019

It's really good to get the basement in reading clinical research.

By Uma N

Aug 23, 2019

Excellent course to start understanding the core basics of research in clinical set up

By Hala A Y O

Sep 13, 2019

Very nice

By Gerda S

Sep 13, 2019

This course was perfectly designed for beginners and it was even good for advanced students. The tests gave very good case studies and it was a verg good experience. Really to recommend.

By Sebawe S

Oct 06, 2019

A very exceptional course that teaches you so much about clinical research, and I think it's a must for every medical student, who wants to become and evidence-based physician as all the 21st century novel physicians should be, and not just researchers.

By Hasan N

Sep 16, 2019

Wow, this course is amazing!!

By Hugo H Z

Aug 28, 2019

Very easy pace of learning things related with clinical research. The concepts are very well explained, and if you are not an statistician, this course is gonna help you a lot. Thanks to the Dr. Juan Klopper for doing this couse. I higly recomend this couse.

By Venkataragavan

Sep 28, 2019

I am a Masters student in Molecular Biology. Though this course uses examples from Clinical Research ( and probably best that it did!), I was able to get a what-does-a statistical-term-actually-mean understanding of the myriad tests that I find in the literature. That makes a whole lot of difference in how I view the Data Analysis section of a paper from now on! I have learnt to understand the pros and cons of each test and what exactly to look for.The course has achieved what it intended to achieve. Not to teach the maths of a stat test but to explore the understanding behind why a particular test was used as opposed to another test!

By ropafadzo a b

Oct 01, 2019

i learnt a lot about research and the basics needed in my field of study

By Aysar A I

Oct 08, 2019

it was really useful for me, now I can read any research article and understand it very well. and also I can mad e my own research in the future by avoiding mistakes that might happen.

By Egehan S

Oct 29, 2019

Fantastic course for both medical students and medical professionals alike (and anyone else interested in this field :). Would definitely recommend anyone trying to improve their statistical knowledge. This is a good starting point for anyone planning on conducting their own statistical analyses.

By Rodrigo G M

Oct 14, 2019

Un excelente curso de inicio a la metodologia de la investigacion, donde necesitas pocas horas efectivas y la retencion es excelente una vez que inicias diariamente o por un periodo constante de tiempo, el esfuerzo es minimo y el entendimiento, reitero, es excelente, no va mas alla ni tiene la profundidad de un curso avanzado, sin embargo, estudiantes de medicina o recien iniciados en ciencias de la investigacion son bienvenidos en un curso de excelente talla, para los mas avanzados, les ayudara para quitar algunas dudas que hayan tenido desde la facultad. nunca es tarde para revisar este rapido, divertido, y util curso.

By Malaz A

Oct 31, 2019

a very beneficial course for medical researchers, it helped me get familiar with variable concepts of statistics without smothering me with mathematical jargon and mind fuzzing equations, it was simple easy to grasp and health profession-oriented. in this course, you'll have a better understanding of the statistical tools, figure out the right way to use them in analyzing data and getting reliable results. it also offers an explanation of how to interpret the results in a sophisticated way.

By AKSHAY D M

Nov 02, 2019

I was never so intuitive about statistics, thanks to Sir, he explained statistics so amazingly with prefect blend of clinical research. Happy that I took this course.

By Ökkeş Z

Oct 15, 2019

This course is good for me, there is not a lot of mathematical analysis but we will want how to do statistics in clinical research.