Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics by University of Cape Town

4.8
1,240 ratings
340 reviews

About the Course

If you’ve ever skipped over`the results section of a medical paper because terms like “confidence interval” or “p-value” go over your head, then you’re in the right place. You may be a clinical practitioner reading research articles to keep up-to-date with developments in your field or a medical student wondering how to approach your own research. Greater confidence in understanding statistical analysis and the results can benefit both working professionals and those undertaking research themselves. If you are simply interested in properly understanding the published literature or if you are embarking on conducting your own research, this course is your first step. It offers an easy entry into interpreting common statistical concepts without getting into nitty-gritty mathematical formulae. To be able to interpret and understand these concepts is the best way to start your journey into the world of clinical literature. That’s where this course comes in - so let’s get started! The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion which you become eligible for, if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

Top reviews

AM

Dec 16, 2018

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

LK

Jul 29, 2017

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 335 Reviews for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

By Sandeep K

Aug 27, 2017

Prior to this course I had little introduction to the clinical trials domain. Found this course to be extremely helpful in my learning. Thanks for the design and content of the course.

By veki

Feb 20, 2016

Great course! Easy to follow, gives you basic understandings about statistics in medicine.

By javed a

Nov 20, 2016

its very useful test. Information id presented in a very simple and lucid way , easy to grasp and remember. The notes provided are very useful. Thanks Dr.Juan H Klopper. you were very helpful. Allah Bless you

By Ali Y E

Dec 15, 2016

very good start to understand basics of clinical research and its statistics

By Mark A D

Aug 24, 2017

Clear concise presentation of the most relevant topics, structure was flexible but rigorous.

By apichaya

Dec 10, 2017

This course provides all of basic knowledge for the best understanding of medical research.

By Bothwell X

Jun 11, 2016

Really good. Worth the time invested double.

By Melanio U M I

Sep 17, 2017

Great Course!

By skye r

Jan 26, 2016

I have been looking for a course like this for years.

By Daniel C

Feb 13, 2017

This course is an excellent introduction to statistics in clinical research. Dr. Klopper is clearly passionate about the subject. This is reflected in his engaging video lectures and the high quality of the material presented. I now have a much better understanding of the meaning behind commonly used statistical tests and variables in the medical literature.

By Washington C d A

Jan 10, 2017

The course is very good, and I learned a lot.

By Carolina N H

Feb 29, 2016

Very informational, exactly what I was looking for when I enrolled.

By Owais A K

Apr 07, 2018

A wonderfully constructed, practically oriented course! The instruction is lucid, the flow of topics logical and the quizzes helpful for showcasing real-world application of the concepts taught. Would HIGHLY recommend it to all those interested in understanding the logic behind statistical analyses and tests. Thank you for a wonderful course experience Dr. Juan and the entire team!

By Shihabeddein S A A

May 15, 2016

Excellent introduction in statistics

By Itamar T

Oct 29, 2016

Excellent course. Gives all that is needed in order to practically understand and criticize every piece of scientific paper in clinical context.

By Nguemeni C

May 31, 2017

Great course. I enjoyed taking it and the instructor really explained complex concepts with elegance. He makes everything very easy to understand by providing step-bystep reasoning and appropriate examples. Thanks also to the amazing mentors.

By Merna N E S

Jul 02, 2018

I'm so glad to complete that great course ♥

By Basem A

Oct 02, 2017

it was really helpful but missing some graphic illustration to be more clear for the learner

By Aravindan V

Feb 15, 2016

Superb Course!! A beautifully structured introduction to the statistics needed to understand clinical research. Please be warned that this is not a course devised to learn statistics or how to conduct clinical research. It is exactly what the title suggests, an overview of statistics used in clinical research and how to understand them. Dr.Juan Klopper is a great teacher and his videos are succinct and filled with nuggets of key concepts. I would strongly suggest this course for a deeper understanding of clinical statistics.

By Zarnain S

Jul 04, 2016

amazing course. Recommend it to everyone out there!

By Yun-Ju C

May 06, 2016

It's amazing and very very helpful! I'll definately recommend this to my colleagues, classmates or those who just entered this field.

By Laura F

Jun 20, 2018

Excellent course, and I mean it! Highly recommended!

By Ahmad S A

Aug 08, 2017

great experience i got it through this course thank you

By Alejandro M M

Jun 29, 2018

Excelent course, it helps u get all u need to understand from basics to specialized papers.Thx, Juan!

By Shivesh T

Jun 02, 2018

An excellent course to achieve a basic understanding of the statistics behind clinical research. This is a foundation course and will not be enough for you to fully grasp everything required to conduct and analyse your own research but it will serve as a sturdy stepping stone. I very much recommend this to anyone who is starting out in clinical research.