Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics by University of Cape Town

4.8
stars
2,329 ratings
713 reviews

About the Course

If you’ve ever skipped over`the results section of a medical paper because terms like “confidence interval” or “p-value” go over your head, then you’re in the right place. You may be a clinical practitioner reading research articles to keep up-to-date with developments in your field or a medical student wondering how to approach your own research. Greater confidence in understanding statistical analysis and the results can benefit both working professionals and those undertaking research themselves. If you are simply interested in properly understanding the published literature or if you are embarking on conducting your own research, this course is your first step. It offers an easy entry into interpreting common statistical concepts without getting into nitty-gritty mathematical formulae. To be able to interpret and understand these concepts is the best way to start your journey into the world of clinical literature. That’s where this course comes in - so let’s get started! The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion which you become eligible for, if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

Top reviews

AM
Dec 15, 2018

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

LK
Jul 28, 2017

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 707 Reviews for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

By Yazhi ( L

Nov 19, 2017

Very comprehensive and systematic course for health care professionals who work with clinical trials and the related statistics.

By Samar S

Jun 18, 2017

It was a very helpful course, now I know which method I will use in my clinical research and also how to read others.

Thank a lot

By Md H

Jul 29, 2020

This is the 1st course I ever tried on coursera and its amazing. Really helpful for preparing my dessetion and thesis ... :)

By Miki M

Feb 9, 2020

Thank you for providing the course. it was really helpful for me as a clinical study manager for post marketing surveillance.

By Seema

Feb 15, 2021

Dr. Klopper has been the best guide and narrated all the course material in a very convinient way. This was the best course

By Ying G

Aug 6, 2020

Interesting and easy to follow-up. This course gives me a better understanding of how to read articles. Thank you, teacher!

By ALHARITH H E E

Mar 26, 2020

i enjoyed every moment and didn't feel any effort acquiring this huge amount of information and skills, thank juan klopper.

By Wayne F

Oct 29, 2018

An excellent course! I would recommend it to anyone interested in statistics or who needs to communicate with statisticians

By Lazaro A V

Apr 8, 2017

Un curso magnifico. Muy claro y explicito en la cual se aprende mucho siendo muy didáctico y entretenido. Muy recomendable

By Sarah E

Jan 10, 2021

Concepts explained well and takes you through the content at a reasonable pace with with examples to help understanding.

By Megha N

Jul 24, 2020

Such an excellent course. I thank the course instructor Dr.Juan Klopper for making this topic so simple and interesting.

By Jorge E A

Jul 26, 2018

Excellent introduction (or refresher) to statistics for the non-statistician! Dr. Koppler is a very compelling speaker!

By Obaida I

Dec 25, 2017

It is Very simple and useful. I recommend people who want to understand clinical research to begins with this course .

By Julia F

Jan 26, 2016

Totally comprehensible and a most interesting course even for people not involved in the medical profession. Thank you!

By Aedrian A

Jan 9, 2021

A must-take course for anyone, regardless of background, interested in having a good grasp of the medical literature.

By Marcelo S G

Aug 16, 2020

Great course. Entertaining, easy to understand, with good examples and quizzes to help you strengthen your knowledge.

By dhanalakshmi v

Sep 14, 2018

Excellent Course! Really very easy to understand the content thoughout the course. Hats off to Sir. Juan H Klopper .

By Christian D S

Mar 26, 2018

Very comprehensive review of clinical research statistics. Was a very good complement to my medical school training.

By Andrea S D

May 31, 2019

Simple, clear, not time consuming, direct to the point, if you are looking for an insight into clinical statistics!

By Dra. E V M

Jul 21, 2020

Excelent course, the professor has a gift in explaining complicated things and making look easy. I'm very pleased.

By Juliana L d O C

Jul 13, 2020

Excellent course! I've learnt so much and I feel much more confident when reading scientific papers. Thanks a lot!

By Neilan M

Jul 10, 2020

Great course, well run, learned a lot and at a good pace! I managed to do this whilst revising for my final exams!

By Julian F

Apr 20, 2020

Excellent course if you want to understand by a didactic way the biostatistics behind the papers. Thank you Juan!

By Muhamad A B A B

Oct 9, 2020

Interesting course as you learn statistics using clinical researches. Presentation is so engaging and confident.

By Amir M A

Aug 14, 2020

A great introduction to understanding research and it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies