Chevron Left
Back to Building Cloud Services with the Java Spring Framework

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building Cloud Services with the Java Spring Framework by Vanderbilt University

4.3
stars
181 ratings
61 reviews

About the Course

This MOOC describes by example how to build cloud services via the use of object-oriented design techniques; Java programming language features; Java Servlets, the Java Spring Framework; and cloud computing platforms, such as Amazon Web Services. Due to the importance of building secure and scalable mobile/cloud platforms, this MOOC will not only show you how to build cloud services, but how to do so securely, scalably, and efficiently. Security and scalability topics will be woven into discussions of cloud service creation so that students learn, from the start, how to create robust cloud services....

Top reviews

PP
Sep 8, 2019

This is one of the courses that I would definitely recommend. Quizzes and especially programming assignments really helped my understanding. Plus Prof. Jules is one of the great instructors.

TW
Sep 11, 2020

Great Lectures and explanation. However before taking this course need to have a good understanding on OAuth2 subject. The lecture does not cover OAuth2 but the assignment required this.

Filter by:

51 - 61 of 61 Reviews for Building Cloud Services with the Java Spring Framework

By Sridhar M

Sep 1, 2019

Contents are good but it's good for beginners only.

By Yashika V

May 31, 2020

Some videos from Week 4 were missing.

By Ognian K

Dec 12, 2020

a good course. I would recommend it.

By Josiah N

May 13, 2020

The course itself i.e. the material covered is super useful. Very well taught and in nice bite-sized chunks. The assignments are also very relevant and are a nice opportunity to get the hands dirty.

But (and this is a huge but which I am sure will be in a lot of other reviews) the maintenance of the programming assignments could be a lot better. The assignments use older versions of different tools such as spring and gradle. As a result, certain things such as running the files and creating a submission become very difficult as they seem to use features which are now deprecated. The process of sorting through all this, though unintended, still had me learning a lot. It however made me take a loooot more time than I should have with the assignments. I easily spent 50% of my time fighting with the tools and the other 50% doing the assignments. The forums were however super helpful in this regard.

It would be great if the course maintainers accepted some of the pull requests on Github that would make the programming assignments run more smoothly.

I really enjoyed the course otherwise

By claudio m

Aug 31, 2020

The course explains some of the concepts of Spring and how it relates to its successor Spring Boot.

Some of the concepts that are required in the assignments are slightly mentioned in the lessons or maybe they are explained just from a theoretical point of view.

Overall is a good course that gives solid foundations to start coding in Spring Boot, even if not updated with the most recent Spring Boot versions.

By kunal s

Nov 30, 2020

Although videos talk about cloud services and high level cloud concepts, the assignment fails short of the same. No cloud services related assignment. But definitely a good refresher of the spring boot.

By Anku G

Oct 26, 2020

The course is good, but no support from teaching staff on discussions at all.

By Chen C

Aug 14, 2020

Exam questions are more difficult to answer, and later learners will have a better learning effect. There are detailed answers for reference after submission.

By Saksham K

Apr 10, 2020

The videos are not well explained. They are of short duration and do not explain the topics well

By Apoorva S

Sep 14, 2020

Not helpful for beginners to Spring

By Konstantinos C

Oct 20, 2020

Avoid this course. The title looks promising but the course fails at many levels.

The lectures are quite good but not what the title suggests. It is more like a quick review of basic Spring features (in random order). The end result is that this is neither a beginner nor an intermediate-level course(and certainly not advanced).

The quizzes are too easy and some of them bugged. Not really useful in anything other than slowing you down.

The assignments are really problematic. Outdated and not offering any flexibility to apply what the course tries to teach. It is more 'hack your way' through the grading system than implement a service/application. You can actually get a perfect score without implementing a lot of stuff.

The end result is a huge waste of time. I would not recommend this course unless it gets a serious upgrade.