Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Communication Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Communication Science by University of Amsterdam

4.7
stars
1,350 ratings
322 reviews

About the Course

Since Antiquity, scholars have appreciated the importance of communication: as social beings, we cannot exist without communication. We need to interact with people around us, to make sense of the world and to position ourselves in a wider social and cultural reality. In this course, we look at how and why communication evolved as a science and reflect on today’s dominant paradigms. The course also extends beyond the boundaries of communication science itself, exploring dimensions of history, sociology and psychology. Join our class, together with people all over the world. Introduction to Communication Science explores some of the basic theories, models and concepts from the fields of mass, interpersonal and intrapersonal communication. The course begins with a consideration of several basic models, subsequently progressing to the history of communication theory, linear effect-oriented theories, the reception approach and, finally, exploring theories on the production and reinforcement of culture through communication. Upon completion of this course, students should: • have knowledge of the history and development of communication science; • have knowledge of the dominant theoretical approaches within communication science; • have knowledge and understanding of the most important models and concepts in this field. Beginning the week of February 16, 2015, you will be able to join Signature Track, a system that verifies your identity when you take an exam. This option will allow you to earn a Verified Certificate, which provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Amsterdam logo. Before then, you can complete a “test run” of the exam. You can then re-take the exam after the Verified Certificate becomes available. For information regarding Verified Certificates, see https://courserahelp.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/201212399-Verified-Certificates"...

Top reviews

ZK

Mar 05, 2020

It is wonderful course. I found that teaching methodology and exam every thing was perfect. My best wishes are for the Coursera as well university of Amsterdam for preparation of this useful course.

LS

Feb 21, 2017

This course was incredibly delightful and very helpful, as a media and communication student, this course widened the information I had and helped me with my home university courses. Thank you!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 319 Reviews for Introduction to Communication Science

By Carlos A M G

Aug 21, 2018

A wonderful opportunity to get up to date in the field of communication sciences. Greetings from Bogotá, Colombia!

By Natasha

Dec 06, 2015

It was a very interesting course and I like it very much. Thank everyone, who have been spending time to create it

By zyue

Jan 29, 2018

Really helpful!it‘s an interesting course, which helps me to have a deep understanding of communicaiton theory.

By Rachael M

Feb 23, 2016

This was a great introductory course into the world of Communication Science. I learned a lot from this course.

By Sandy R K

Apr 10, 2020

Great course! Easy to follow thru because the visuals are fun and the content is very subtantial and direct.

By Nurzhan A

Mar 10, 2018

I would strongly recommend this course for those, who is shifting from another field to the communications.

By Zoë W

Nov 03, 2015

An excellent course, very interesting material, extremely well presented. Thanks so much for providing it.

By ZAHIDUR R S

Apr 23, 2017

It is awesome.But if video quality can improve and add some interesting video,it will be much more better.

By Shweta

Sep 22, 2015

A wonderfully designed course. Really helpful and gives an in-depth view of the science of communication.

By JOSÉ L L

Nov 20, 2017

Excelente curso. Muy buenos para estudiantes y profesores de la Carrera de Comunicación. Lo recomiendo

By Felipe d J G M

Mar 20, 2017

Excelente curso. Muy recomendable. MUCHAS GRACIAS al profesor

Rutger de Graaf, PhD y a todo el staff.

By 武昊阳

Sep 30, 2016

我的本科专业是广告学,课程里有传播学概论这门课,但是学校老师也好,教材也好,课堂也好,效果都不好。在coursera学完这门课以后,我才真正对传播学有了一个入门的了解,也产生了继续学习研究的兴趣。感谢!

By KEERTHANA J R

May 04, 2020

It's my pleasure with great experience and opportunity for me to be part of this course.

Thanking you

By DarlingLOK

Mar 08, 2017

Explain the basics in easy-to-understand language. Extremely useful for beginners. Cute visual aids!

By Mohamed G

Aug 17, 2017

A so great Prof with interessant courses ,some day i want to take a coffe with you in Amsterdam !!

By Xi C

Jun 30, 2020

Great information for psychology major students. Very structured and informative content design.

By Colum D

Aug 28, 2016

A great introduction to the Science of Communication, very interesting and properly articulated.

By Tomas P

Feb 04, 2016

Muy buen curso, lo recomiendo ya que brinda mucha información y al mismo tiempo es entretenido.

By Bahram H

Nov 29, 2015

Great course. Many thanks to this amazing University and its staff for making the world better.

By Andrea G

Sep 14, 2015

Great material, great methodology and lots of knowledge to apply in a communicators daily work.

By Shirien N

Apr 03, 2020

Very interesting course on the history and most important approaches of communication science.

By Anany D

Mar 29, 2020

I recommend this course to each and every individual who has great interest in Public speaking

By 吴正达

Jun 24, 2018

Very elaborating comics. This should be the way of MOOC rather than solely reading PPT slides.

By 王婷玉

May 16, 2020

this is excellent and the way of teaching is really easy and acceptable! thank you so much!

By renata c

Jan 31, 2016

Great course! Great capacity for synthesis of complex subjects, and tests are very useful