Chevron Left
Back to Competitive Programmer's Core Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Competitive Programmer's Core Skills by Saint Petersburg State University

4.5
stars
218 ratings
37 reviews

About the Course

During the course, you’ll learn everything needed to participate in real competitions — that’s the main goal. Along the way you’ll also gain useful skills for which competitive programmers are so highly valued by employers: ability to write efficient, reliable, and compact code, manage your time well when it’s limited, apply basic algorithmic ideas to real problems, etc. We start from the very beginning by teaching you what competitions there are, what are their rules, what specifics problems have, how to read problem statements, how to organize your work, and what you should and shouldn’t do. So it’s fine if you’ve never taken part in programming competitions before. We’ll focus on skills essential to competitive programming: inventing solutions and proving their correctness, estimating their running time, testing and debugging programs, how to benefit from structuring code. We’ll also cover basic algorithmic ideas: brute force search, dynamic programming, greedy algorithms, segment trees. On competitions, there are a lot of specific pitfalls, perilous to beginners — but that’s not to worry, as we’ll go through the most common of them: integer overflow and issues with fractional numbers, troubles of particular programming languages, how to get unstuck in general. And, you’ll hone all these skills by solving practice problems, which are just like problems on real competitions. You could use any of the following programming languages: C, C++, C#, Haskell, Java, JavaScript, Python 2, Python 3, Ruby, Rust, Scala. We assume that you already know how to write simplest programs in one of these....

Top reviews

YY

Jun 16, 2019

A very informative and detailed course on competitive programming . A perfect course for a beginner to begin with . Grateful to tutors and the material they presented.

AG

Oct 22, 2019

The Course covers all basic topics that are essential for partiticipating in competitions. The discussion forum is very useful and the instructors give prompt replies.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 36 Reviews for Competitive Programmer's Core Skills

By Jayadev

Feb 11, 2019

It's really hard to understand the teachers...

There is not much can do if one gets stuck at the assignments.

The material is kinda of slow and boring..

By Dhruv N S

Oct 19, 2019

One of the best course on coding and competitive programming !! 👏👏

Please add lecture slides of each week to download

By Manish W

Nov 08, 2019

the course that helps you to build the confidence to the most desired skill that is competitive programming

By Maksim

Dec 08, 2018

English level of the course authors is very poor. Also explanation of tasks and approaches is very week. I reviewed many tasks explanation after it on youtube.

By Rohan p

Sep 25, 2020

I really enjoyed the assignments, specially Dynamic_programming's assignments. test cases are really good. Another best part was that instructor do respond you your doubts in discussion forum , whether you need some help in a particular test case or you need some hint or general intuition etc. I do recommend this course for beginners.

By Mohd A

Nov 10, 2019

The Course covers all basic topics that are essential for participating in competitions. A very informative and detailed course on competitive programming. A perfect course for a beginner to begin with. Grateful to tutors and the material they presented.

By Amol G

Oct 22, 2019

The Course covers all basic topics that are essential for partiticipating in competitions. The discussion forum is very useful and the instructors give prompt replies.

By Zakka F

Jun 21, 2020

Although at the beginning I find it a bit difficult to follow the lecture, because of the limitations of English of both the lecturers and me, after 1st or 2nd week it's quite easy to follow it. The course was fun and challenging, it's hard enough you need to spend several hours a week to finish the programming task, but not too hard to make you giving up.

By yogender

Jun 16, 2019

A very informative and detailed course on competitive programming . A perfect course for a beginner to begin with . Grateful to tutors and the material they presented.

By Jiganesh P

Jun 27, 2020

Very Well Structured Course, Learned a Lot of Concepts and This Course is Highly Recommended By me.

By Nipun A

Nov 29, 2019

Amazing course, I wish they had more videos around the topic

By Subhadeep D

Feb 06, 2020

An Excellent Kickstart to your Competitive Coding Skills.

By Mohaimen S

May 05, 2020

This course show me a lot of thinking technique.

By Rahul K

Dec 02, 2019

Master beginning to competitive Programming

By Someron B

Jun 20, 2019

The best course for comparative Programming

By John O

Jul 11, 2020

Great course with awesome problem sets!

By Viktor M

Sep 23, 2019

Excellent and very useful course!

By Ashutosh K S

Mar 15, 2020

awesome course to master in cp

By Akshat U

Jun 12, 2020

Great course for a beginner.

By Ankit s

Oct 06, 2019

I just loved the course

By Alexey B

May 22, 2020

Nicely Done!

By Pankaj S

Nov 07, 2019

Excellent !

By Karthick

Aug 24, 2019

Great one

By sk s a r

Apr 13, 2020

awesome

By PUJA B 1

Jun 03, 2020

Good