Chevron Left
Back to Computational Neuroscience

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Computational Neuroscience by University of Washington

4.7
584 ratings
136 reviews

About the Course

This course provides an introduction to basic computational methods for understanding what nervous systems do and for determining how they function. We will explore the computational principles governing various aspects of vision, sensory-motor control, learning, and memory. Specific topics that will be covered include representation of information by spiking neurons, processing of information in neural networks, and algorithms for adaptation and learning. We will make use of Matlab/Octave/Python demonstrations and exercises to gain a deeper understanding of concepts and methods introduced in the course. The course is primarily aimed at third- or fourth-year undergraduates and beginning graduate students, as well as professionals and distance learners interested in learning how the brain processes information....

Top reviews

CM

Jun 15, 2017

This course is an excellent introduction to the field of computational neuroscience, with engaging lectures and interesting assignments that make learning the material easy.

JB

May 25, 2019

I really enjoyed this course and think that there was a good variety of material that allowed people of many different backgrounds to take at least one thing away from this.

Filter by:

126 - 134 of 134 Reviews for Computational Neuroscience

By Erik B

Aug 25, 2019

Overall I enjoyed this class, but towards the end it gets more into machine learning and away from the neuroscience.

By 徐锦辉

Sep 01, 2019

A better tittle for this course is 'From neuroscience to artificial intelligence'.

By Steven P

Nov 14, 2019

Really interesting overview of the concepts, math and coding necessary to understand how neurons work. The lectures are hit and miss when it comes to explaining the content, a majority of the lectures focused on derivatives and mathematical concepts which lost me. The supplementary videos, especially with Rich were really valuable and helped to synthesize some of the content. Felt like there was a ton of information packed into this course, just not all completely applicable.

By Bartłomiej L

May 23, 2017

I love the information that has been given there. The problem I have with the course (and it's a big one) is that you start each lecture with great detail and then go to what exactly you want to achieve. Because of this it was easiest for me to understand when I watched all the videos each week and then went backward to get it.

I highly recommend "start with why" videos and book by Simon Sinek, it might give you some info on how to make the lectures more comprehensive.

Having said this - the merit is great and I love having the knowledge. It is just that it isn't well laid out.

By Christopher L M

Jun 03, 2017

[3.5 stars] The course provides an overview of some interesting topics. I would have prefer more emphasis on applications, perhaps in the form of additional exercises. Overall, I have my adventure hat on and I am excited to push on further into the neuro-jungle.

By Renjith B

Feb 20, 2018

I just started the course. But it is exciting for me as a Machine learning and deep learning practitioner!!!

After week 1, the learning curve is steep. The topics are exciting but lectures are not engaging.

By Julia G

Oct 01, 2017

The professors who teach the course are very engaging and are able to make a challenging topic into something interesting and entertaining. The course is very math and programming-heavy, so make sure to brush up on these concepts and be prepared to know how to conceptualize neuronal behavior with mathematical equations and programming functions and vice versa. If you have any questions to post on the Discussion Forum, be prepared to look for the answer outside of the course - the response times of the mentors or other students are horrendous and there are even some instances where questions are never answered. This, as a biology person who had little to no experience in programming or advanced calculus, was the most frustrating aspect of the course. In regards to computational neuroscience as a course, the material itself is beginner-level, but the math/programming is definitely not (more like intermediate/advanced).

By Jiazhi G

Aug 20, 2017

Nice content. Opens the gate of CNS for me.

But some explanations are just too virtual to be understood easily.

At last few weeks, the course talks about the relationship between NS and ML, which is astonishing.

By T Q

Nov 10, 2019

The first instructor is like Siri reading textbooks. Neither of the two instructors explained the concepts and calculations clearly. Just as another review says, they directly jump from too simple to too complicated. Overall this is one of the worst courses I have ever had.