Chevron Left
Back to Core Database Concepts

Core Database Concepts, Arizona State University

3.9
52 ratings
15 reviews

About this Course

This course introduces the world of database systems. It provides the foundation that will enable learners to master skills in data modeling and information, as well as extract information using existing database management systems. The following main topics are covered: database design/modeling, data storage and indexing, query processing/optimization, transaction management, database security, and data analytics....

Top reviews

By JD

Jun 24, 2018

Good introduction to databases. Got a deeper understanding of storage and retrieval, indexing,... Enjoyed the postgres assignments.

By GM

Nov 12, 2018

I want to say specially about Professor of this course is best fit personality for core data.I love her.

Filter by:

15 Reviews

By Ilya Beleychev

Nov 20, 2018

Not for totally noobs. Well designed course if you want to fill spaces in your education.

By Ghullam Mohiyuoddin

Nov 12, 2018

I want to say specially about Professor of this course is best fit personality for core data.I love her.

By Maxim Zapara

Nov 03, 2018

Some test assignments are ambiguous. The content in the Week 4 is not complete, one video file is shorter than it has to be. Lack of support from the platform

By amit trugman

Nov 02, 2018

automated grader is impossible to work with.

By Miltiadis Sarakinos

Nov 01, 2018

Very nice course. I liked the programming assignement. I think the subject matter of the 4th week was covered a bit superficially.

By Jose Emilio Quiroz Ibarra

Oct 26, 2018

the evaluations of the practice exercises are not clear.

By Max Sfnv

Aug 28, 2018

Overall the course syllabus is really good, however the implementation is very disappoinnting:

> The lecturer explains the material really poorly. I literally have to look up definitions on youtube / google to be able to understand what different terms mean. He used some terms in the definition of these terms, which makes no sense. This is not to comment on his knowledge, just on his ability to explain what he knows in plain English

> Homework scoring system is really bad. The feedback is vertually absent, the solutions are not presented afterwords.

By ANNA BAROU

Aug 23, 2018

Great course to learn DB concepts. Lectures are well organized and assignments built up difficulty smoothly. At the end of course, student feels familiar with DB/ tables creation and queries.

By Pablo Acuña

Aug 05, 2018

There's an incomplete video in the last section (locking). Also some weeks required much less time.

By Alireza Tajadod

Jul 17, 2018

Firstly, The feedback returned on the programming assignment is not helpful. There is no way to find out what you did wrong. Even though my local database was working perfectly on first submission, I had to make 10 more submissions to get only 10/20. I still have no idea why it ended up working.

Secondly, having one really long assignment in week 2 and then short quizzes rest of the course is a terrible set up. Not only does it discourage people from moving on but there simply isn't enough training by that point for most students to complete the assignment.