Chevron Left
Back to Country Level Economics: Macroeconomic Variables and Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Country Level Economics: Macroeconomic Variables and Markets by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.2
stars
412 ratings
72 reviews

About the Course

This course discusses how macroeconomic variables affect individuals’ personal, professional, and public activities and lays the foundation for the analysis of the mechanisms that drive macroeconomic variables. It start in its first module by introducing the key macroeconomic variables and explaining how they are defined and measured in order to enable the students to interpret macroeconomic data properly. In the second module, the course offers a perspective for separating out various parts of the economy driven by different processes and for combining those components to develop a richer view of the whole. In particular, it applies this approach to the analysis of the relationship of the trade deficit with the budget deficit and private savings, offering insights about some key determinants of the balance of payments. The third and fourth modules focus on the analyses of the foreign currency and money markets to provide fundamental models of the interest rate and exchange rate determination. They also discuss how these variables interact with each other and with the macroeconomic conditions, particularly monetary policy and the expectations about the future trends in the economy. These analyses lay the foundation for more comprehensive models of the macroeconomy in the next course of the Managerial Economics and Business Analysis Specialization. At the end of this course, you will be able to: • Systematically assess the national and international economic environment in which you live and work. • Analyze macroeconomic issues using key tools. • Be a more effective professional in your line of activity. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

AB

Jul 23, 2017

Great course for a beginner like me. All the concepts are explained clearly with examples. The language used is simple which makes it easy to understand.

SK

Feb 11, 2020

This course was a great insight to how economies work, and what is the relationship between money demand, supply, interest rates and yields.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 67 Reviews for Country Level Economics: Macroeconomic Variables and Markets

By Winthrop Y

Apr 02, 2016

Good material, fair presentation, too many peer evaluations.

By Kendra G

Jun 07, 2019

I thought I would really like this course because I really enjoyed microeconomics, but this course was not very intuitive, could really use an update, and the teaching style was not effective for me. Would recommend a curriculum designer come in, or maybe work with the microeconomics professor to re-shape how a lot of the concepts are explained. Definitely the most difficult to understand course I've taken so far.

By Kyle F

May 17, 2019

Very monotone and therefore very hard to follow and pay attention to. The Prof also seemed to frequently interject random material that distracted you from the learning objectives.

By Innocent O

Apr 27, 2019

The instructor was not engaging and made the course quite boring

By Ankita B

Jul 23, 2017

Great course for a beginner like me. All the concepts are explained clearly with examples. The language used is simple which makes it easy to understand.

By Sandeep K

Feb 11, 2020

This course was a great insight to how economies work, and what is the relationship between money demand, supply, interest rates and yields.

By Shenglan Z

Sep 19, 2018

Concise yet very helpful. The reading material is well prepared. After this course, I can fully understand all the financial news.

By Lawrence A

Feb 13, 2020

The course is quite enlightening, gained invaluable experience in understanding and interpreting a countries economic status

By Suman D

Jun 12, 2018

Amazing way delivering the courseThis was my first Coursera courseI loved every bit of it.Thanks a lot Professor

By Joe F

Jun 18, 2019

Very interesting topic especially with the trade wars that are affecting the US and China currently

By Gotamist

Apr 29, 2018

I'd love to see a graduate level macroeconomics course from the same professor, Prof. Esfahani.

By Vatsal G

Feb 07, 2019

It was a well planned course. Learnt quite a lot also the teaching quite was excellent.

By Andrew T

Jul 04, 2017

excellent material from an extraordinary faculty and unique learning environment

By Miguel L

Feb 17, 2020

Best Course. I was able to learn a lot, so now I can understand Forex markets.

By Brandon M

Jun 26, 2017

Great intro to Macroeconomics. Learned so much and can apply my knowledge

By syedzainaliraza

Mar 11, 2017

This is an excellent course. well designed with historical examples.

By Keith K D

Jun 07, 2019

Great course to learn how bank, government and the economy works

By ARVIND K S

Sep 01, 2019

Great course for a foundation in macroeconomics and finance!

By Devkinandan

May 14, 2016

Very helpful and simply explained. Everyone should love it.

By Enrico D

Jun 04, 2018

Excellent course given by an excellent professor.

By Yu Y

Mar 17, 2018

Very nice slides prepared with clear explanation.

By Arun J

Aug 15, 2016

well detailed course, much needed for the topic

By Phillip D R

Feb 11, 2020

Excellent course, and impeccably instructed.

By Daniel E P S

Aug 12, 2019

Good course, it delivers what it promises.

By Dmitrii I

Apr 03, 2018

Very well structures and explained course