Chevron Left
Back to Country Level Economics: Macroeconomic Variables and Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Country Level Economics: Macroeconomic Variables and Markets by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.3
stars
695 ratings
139 reviews

About the Course

This course discusses how macroeconomic variables affect individuals’ personal, professional, and public activities and lays the foundation for the analysis of the mechanisms that drive macroeconomic variables. It start in its first module by introducing the key macroeconomic variables and explaining how they are defined and measured in order to enable the students to interpret macroeconomic data properly. In the second module, the course offers a perspective for separating out various parts of the economy driven by different processes and for combining those components to develop a richer view of the whole. In particular, it applies this approach to the analysis of the relationship of the trade deficit with the budget deficit and private savings, offering insights about some key determinants of the balance of payments. The third and fourth modules focus on the analyses of the foreign currency and money markets to provide fundamental models of the interest rate and exchange rate determination. They also discuss how these variables interact with each other and with the macroeconomic conditions, particularly monetary policy and the expectations about the future trends in the economy. These analyses lay the foundation for more comprehensive models of the macroeconomy in the next course of the Managerial Economics and Business Analysis Specialization. At the end of this course, you will be able to: • Systematically assess the national and international economic environment in which you live and work. • Analyze macroeconomic issues using key tools. • Be a more effective professional in your line of activity. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

ML
Mar 8, 2020

The quizzes and assignments may be hard but that's how I learned so much from this class. Prof Hadi brought this course in a way that made me understand the actual situations.

GN
Jun 13, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. Professor Hadi is great. This is my first Economics course. Professor explains all the fundamentals in a very easy and detailed manner.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 131 Reviews for Country Level Economics: Macroeconomic Variables and Markets

By Moksha C

Jun 28, 2016

Excellent !

By Chơn N V

Oct 12, 2020

good

By Deepthy B

Jul 3, 2020

Good

By Daniel C

Jun 19, 2016

The content covers very good the most important theories and concepts in macro economy and explains in detail the relationship between them. I wish the course would take more advantage of interactive multimedia tools in order to support the spoken word with visual means.

By DUSTIN W

Apr 23, 2016

This is a good course, but be sure you have a foundational level of understanding of Macroeconomics before starting - it doesn't provide a lot of background before diving into more advanced topics.

By Omkar G

Jun 23, 2020

The lectures could have been more engaging and interactive. This seems to be a problem of the lecturer I guess. But overall it was a great experience learning.

By Phani M

Feb 12, 2020

The scope of subject has been a lot reduced. Not ideal for an MBA course - doesn't cover most relevant & current topics - but good in overall teaching.

By mujtaba s

Aug 18, 2019

I personally don't think he explained some of the material too cleanly. I did a lot of outside reading to understand some of the concept better.

By Harris S

Oct 12, 2016

Learn something about the money supply and demand and their relationship with the exchange rate. but can hardly used in daily

By Anup P

Feb 25, 2020

Professor needs to make the content more interactive and must include more examples since the concepts and theory is too dry

By Kavi K

Feb 10, 2020

Interesting and pertinent material but some of the video content is dry and makes it hard to grasp the concepts.

By Fady S

Dec 2, 2019

I don't have any problem with the course but the lecture PDF Sources

By Steve M

Jun 9, 2019

Content is interesting but presentation is a bit dry.

By RUDY W

Nov 5, 2019

Hard to understand, need more explanation

By ricardo p o

Mar 31, 2017

it was good, could be more dinamic though

By Jon N

Feb 26, 2021

Very disappointing. It's a challenge to listen to the lectures, read the notes and still try to pass the tests. The professor doesn't do a great job of explaining some pretty complex ideas and to make matters worse, there are a lot of them - and they build on each other. I'm generally a good student, but I had to work VERY hard to pass the quizzes in this course and even though I did, I can't say I actually learned anything. This one was very disappointing.

By John F

Aug 2, 2020

Complex topics, relationships and topics are not adequately explained in lectures. Quizzes go far beyond the introductory material, and often ask for formulas and concepts to be applied in a way they were never fully explained.

By Vidushi G

Jul 24, 2020

QUITE BORING, BECAUSE OF THE WAY THE COURSE IS STRUCTURED

By ananya s

Feb 6, 2021

it should be more interesting

By Anas A

Jul 21, 2020

If you can read english, find interesting book that talk about Macroeconomics as this course is very dry and the teaching methods used are not applicable to this era (reading from the slides). It was very difficult for me to engage in the lengthy videos.

By Natalie C

Jun 11, 2018

Inadequate lecture materials for test and assignment preparation. Students should not have to go outside of required readings in order to learn required content for course.

By Abdullah F A M

Jun 5, 2016

the videos are too long

assignments are difficult

and dr asfahani is not like dr larry

i loved dr larry much more

dr asfahani is not interesting in his presentations at all

By Kausar K

Jun 10, 2019

Content is very dry; slides have too much text and don't depict concepts well. Formulas, and teaching methodology is not structured.

By Andres P T

Jul 16, 2020

Very poor teaching. The professor has no engagement to the class, and it is very difficult to follow with him.

By Elizabeth B

Jun 23, 2020

Incredibly boring. The professor is very nice and clearly is an economic expert, but is not at all engaging.