Chevron Left
Back to Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Creative Writing: The Craft of Character by Wesleyan University

4.5
stars
1,582 ratings
457 reviews

About the Course

At the center of a good story are the characters in it. In this course aspiring writers will discover how to build and bring to life complex, vivid and unforgettable characters. We will study the choices a writer makes to bring all characters to life on the page, and we will perform written exercises in order to develop a variety of writing and pre-writing techniques, in order to create a variety of characters. We will learn how to use our own life experiences, and the people we know (and how not to!). We will develop inner (thoughts and feelings) and outer (appearance, habits, behavior) lives for our characters and see how that can lead us to richer and more interesting stories. We will breathe life into our characters and let them surprise us....

Top reviews

SS
Aug 10, 2016

I loved this course! Extremely useful and hands on. The course instructor was really impressive, both informative and empathetic, both arty and to the point. Totally admired her style of instruction.

N
Sep 25, 2020

The course was very well-structured and challenging. The instructor is very experienced and good, thus used relevant materials for this course, be it the guests, or the assignments, or the examples.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 452 Reviews for Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

By Jenny B

May 1, 2018

I found the tasks in this course quite challenging but pleased I persevered and grateful for some great feedback.

By Nicol H

Sep 18, 2020

This was a very good course. I learned a great deal that has assisted me in building full, not flat characters.

By Cristofer C L

Aug 7, 2016

This course was very helpful in showing us how to create characters that writer and reader both can really know.

By Orjuwan M A J A

May 17, 2020

I was to thank the professor for her wonderful torturing . I have learnt quite a lot and gained many experience

By Najwat R

May 31, 2018

Excellent course that teaches you the nuances of character, point of view and narration. Highly recommended.

By Seeta T S R

Feb 27, 2021

This was a really emotionally rewarding writing course - lectures, interviews, and completing assignments.

By Luisa F S R

Sep 17, 2020

The videos are clear and concrete. The practical exercises involve putting the subject matter into action.

By Viviana H A

Aug 21, 2020

De los cuatro cursos de creative writing fue el que más me gustó, Mrs Amy Bloom, una excelente profesora!

By Juanita J

Oct 5, 2017

Enjoyed the material and content which was challenging. I end this course with r more pieces to develope.

By Rachel N

Sep 22, 2020

Lots of information and excellent voice finding course. Recommended for everyone with desire to be heard.

By Deleted A

May 15, 2017

Great course! Best quality writing class I have taken in years. The specialization is amazing. Thank you.

By Shweta B

Jun 11, 2018

Its fantastic specially the assignments are very good and help you understand your skills and weaknesses

By Anastasia M

Dec 4, 2020

I love this course because It teaches me new things and I like how the videos go slow in the right pace

By Donald S P

Jun 14, 2018

very interesting exploration of the components of character, and the discussion of voice, etc. Loved it

By Jenny J G L

Feb 16, 2018

Very interesting course. I've learned a lot. The best part of this course is the challenging exercises!

By Bridgit

Nov 19, 2018

Love this course. The videos were well presented and explained and the assignments were good practice.

By Frankie W

Mar 8, 2019

Amy Bloom was amazing. I loved her style of teaching. I would absolutely take a class with her again

By Lynnette O

Feb 2, 2017

I had no idea how much I didn't know! I enjoyed the class and felt like I learned a lot. Thank you!

By james r

Mar 21, 2019

I see a marked improvement in both my confidence and skill as a writer from each of these classes.

By Amnah M d P Z E

Apr 13, 2020

I think this course teaches you a lot of writing skills and really helps to make a good character

By Renee C W

Sep 6, 2018

Insightful lectures and great assignments that challenged me as a writer, further honing my craft

By Shalini N

Jul 17, 2018

Great course! Nice assignments! Makes you really think through different aspects of your writing.

By Rajesh D

Aug 26, 2020

The course enhances creative thinking and writing skills. The professor gives ample of examples.

By Aprielle T

Aug 30, 2018

I learned a lot from this course which will definitely help me with my writing and career goals.

By Claretta T W

May 1, 2016

I enjoyed the pace of this course and the constructive feedback I received from fellow students.