Chevron Left
Back to Advanced Converter Control Techniques

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advanced Converter Control Techniques by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
269 ratings
46 reviews

About the Course

This course covers advanced converter control techniques, including averaged-switch modeling and Spice simulations, modeling and design of peak current mode and average current mode controlled converters, as well as an introduction to control of single-phase ac grid tied rectifiers and inverters. Design and simulation examples include wide bandwidth point-of-load voltage regulators, low-harmonic power-factor-correction rectifiers, and grid-tied inverters for solar photovoltaic power systems. Upon completion of the course, you will be able to model, design control loops, and simulate state-of-the-art pulse-width modulated (PWM) dc-dc converters, dc-ac inverters, ac-dc rectifiers, and other power electronics systems. This course assumes prior completion of Introduction to Power Electronics, Converter Circuits, and Converter Control...

Top reviews

GD

Nov 26, 2018

I had trouble engaging with this course, things get more complicated and boring than the previous courses. Things also get more practical, still a great course.

TK

Mar 13, 2017

Amazing instructor and material.\n\nGives great insight on the opperating principals of how SMPSs all around us work.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 41 Reviews for Advanced Converter Control Techniques

By Parthkumar S B

Jul 24, 2018

I have gone through 3 courses before this one from the power-electronics specialization and this course seems to be the best one yet. It doesn't only depend on theory, but also provides a great hands-on experience on LTSpice. Small signal responses in frequency domain are fun and very much relatable to Bode plots in theory. In addition, the course content on Inverters and PFC rectifiers and seems much more intriguing.

By Ertuğrul K

Jan 13, 2018

It was a great course. Thanks a lot!

By PANDU R R S

May 15, 2016

Dear Prof,

I take the opportunity to thank prof. Dragan Maksimovic for his detailed explanation and excellent course material. I have learnt many exciting things while answering practice and Home work quiz questions. Looking forward for Magnetic design (next course in specialization). Once again thanks prof. for all that you gave to us through the course.

Thanks

Pandu S

By srinath

Mar 11, 2018

Fantastic course. Learnt a lot. Topics are dealt with in more depth and detail than the book.

By Rubem P

Feb 08, 2018

Fantastic course! I learned a lot

By Orlando T

Aug 26, 2016

Excellent quality of simulation files and homework assignments. This course denotes a tremendous effort and hard work. I feel proud to have completed it, this course is by far one of the most challenging I have taken at coursera, and now going for the capstone project to complete my specialization !

By Hwasoo S

Dec 30, 2017

g

By zeeshan H

Jan 13, 2018

Great course

By Kiran K V

Sep 20, 2016

Best Course Available

By insend

Dec 29, 2016

useful

By Thierry G

Apr 24, 2018

Excellent course. Explanation are very clear. Concepts are progressively introduced wh

By Miguel B A

Oct 03, 2016

Excel

By Jayakrishnan H

Jan 08, 2018

I cannot recommend this course as well as the whole specialization enough. Absolute value for the money spent.

By Ólafur Í B

Mar 20, 2018

Great course

By Kao S

Nov 04, 2016

Good course

By Julio E F

May 15, 2017

Great Course!

By angelo p

Apr 24, 2017

An excellent theoretical and practical introduction to average switch modeling, peak and average current mode control. Dr. Maksimovic really demystifies the control loop modeling. I highly recommend the course for power electronics students as well practicing engineers.

By MUKESH K

Sep 01, 2016

Very knowledgeable and impressive

Thanks

By Sufi S H J

Aug 05, 2017

A must take course for power engineers.

By Pablo Z

May 16, 2016

Excellent course.

By Iván R

Dec 03, 2016

Excellent

By Mayank

Nov 26, 2016

This is very helpful for me cause i am pursuing Power electronics engineering degree

By Guillaume V

Aug 27, 2017

Very interesting as the first other 3 courses. This specialization goes with the book Fundamentals of Power Electronics.

By SURYA V

May 27, 2016

Good!!

By Yehia K A

Nov 26, 2017

Excellent course. Needs to be extended into 2 more courses to discuss more details on PFC rectifiers & PV systems.