Chevron Left
Back to Data Communications and Network Services

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Communications and Network Services by Cisco

4.8
686 ratings
104 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to the third of five courses in the Cisco Networking Basics Specialization. Now that you know the basics of what an network is and how the devices on a network communicate with each other, it is time to explore the network further. In this course, you will learn the benefits and limitations of the IPv4 addressing system and why NAT and IPv6 were implemented to address the limitations. You will also explore common network services and protocols such as email, web services, instant messaging, DNS, HTTP, HTML, SMTP, Telnet, and SSH. At the end of this course, you will be able to: 1. Describe the role of network services including DHCP and DNS. 2. Use Cisco Packet Tracer to configure a router to perform DHCP services for a LAN. 3. Explain use of IPv4 private addresses with NAT. 4. Compare TCP and UDP protocol operations for efficiency and reliability. 5. Describe the network services and applications for file transfer, web access, email, remote access and instant messaging. 6. Observe how web requests are processed by the web client and the server. 7. Use various tools to verify network operations....

Top reviews

UJ

Mar 09, 2019

I have learn in this course is very basic things which is very confusing for me but thi course clear my all concept abut dhcp,natting etc.I am very thankfull to coursera to allow me this course.

AB

Dec 15, 2017

In word word this is amazing.\n\nEvery thing which will train you for CCNA is inside this course the best discussion forms questions I ever found.\n\nSimply awesome must join right now !!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 102 Reviews for Data Communications and Network Services

By Eiad S D

Jun 22, 2018

tutors make this course very easy to understand, materials are well explained, and their strategy to focus on some mistakes to never do it again is very successful

By DANJUMA B D

May 25, 2019

Brilliant course..... Thank you Coursera

By Yoav K

Sep 14, 2018

Like all classes so far this was a necessary and great class for students new to the networking world (like me...) made by Cisco together with Coursera. Thank you!

By arman

Jan 29, 2019

Awesome course so far. Cant wait to complete the whole course. Both the instructors are very helpful.

By Sizolwethu D

Jan 18, 2019

Very informative course material. All the information covered is part of CCNA certification course.

By Salman D E

Dec 30, 2018

Thank you very much I learned alot from this course .

By Israel N

Jan 02, 2019

Good course for a beginner. Enjoyed the course and am already using some of things I learned here.

By Guadalupe F

Feb 26, 2019

Very cool course especially the IPv6

By Oluwatosin S A

Feb 26, 2019

THANK YOU COURSERA/CISCO.

By Usman J

Mar 09, 2019

I have learn in this course is very basic things which is very confusing for me but thi course clear my all concept abut dhcp,natting etc.I am very thankfull to coursera to allow me this course.

By Mohammad Z

Mar 12, 2019

Thank you so much it's very useful course for the beginners and it shows the information in a good way.

By 1815782

Mar 18, 2019

excellent

By Prashant J

Mar 24, 2019

excellent

By Sujoy D

Mar 24, 2019

Very Informative and descriptive course. Every topic is well explained and each quiz is excellent for better understanding

By ashishverma

Apr 07, 2019

nice course

By IDDI S

Mar 28, 2019

Thank you very much for the detailed and well presented course. Thanks to the lectures and entire crew..the content is well understood and I have earned alot from the content of this course. See you on another courses. Thanks once again.

By Travis P

Mar 28, 2019

Just wish more people would take this course so it doesnt take so long for peer reviews.

By DIKSHITA U

Apr 09, 2019

great

By Adelin Y J M

Feb 07, 2019

Great course. It is very helpful.

By Marcelo D A G

Dec 28, 2018

Very good. Simple and direct.

By Udayanga D R

Oct 28, 2017

It was a really nice course. I always recommend cousera course for everyone. Thanks for cousera team and cisco team to start this course

By Upadhyaya A N

May 23, 2018

Very nice course which gives us deep knowledge of networking.

By Белоусов М Г

May 31, 2018

Exellent!

By Ammad M

Mar 22, 2018

Highly recommended for Network engineers and technicians. I learned a lot about basics of Networking.

By Tsehaye Z M

Apr 04, 2018

So helpfull