Chevron Left
Back to Data-driven Astronomy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data-driven Astronomy by The University of Sydney

4.8
stars
981 ratings
289 reviews

About the Course

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

Top reviews

SK
Sep 10, 2020

Really amazing course! Gave me insights into how data analysis works in the field of astronomy and how one can use different machine learning techniques to classify the huge amounts of data generated.

MC
Feb 28, 2020

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 286 Reviews for Data-driven Astronomy

By Aayush

Jul 1, 2017

A great course that helps one understand the basics of data analysis and how they are used in observational astronomy.

By Carlos N

Apr 19, 2018

It's been a very interesting and enriching point of view of astronomy. I loved the way computing can help astronomy.

By Ted S

May 24, 2017

I've been looking for a class like this for a while. Nice intro to python and accessing and manipulating astro data

By Steve B

Jun 19, 2018

I used it to learn Python which made it more challenging but the content inspired me to get through it... excellent

By Diogo S

Sep 3, 2017

Astonishing course!

From Python basics to Scikit and the universe in a few weeks got smoother than I expected.

By Gonzalo B

Aug 7, 2018

A great introduction to Data-driven Astronomy and a good way for starting to learn Python by solving problems

By Ahammed A

May 9, 2018

A great course for a good understanding of the tools and the theoretical requisites of data driven astronomy

By Eshita S

Mar 26, 2020

if you want to put some hands on the modern of doing observational astronomy, go for it. an amazing course .

By SHUBHAM K

Jul 20, 2019

Great lectures, interactive coursework, and easy to understand yet overwhelmingly powerful concepts! Lovely!

By Martin R T

Oct 26, 2020

An amazing course that everyone interested in Astronomy and programming must take!! I highly recommend it!!

By Caden G

Nov 21, 2020

Very relevant, topical material and some good actual hands-on practice with highly applicable techniques.

By notsoseamless

Jul 11, 2019

Really interesting course.

I now need to make further study of the techniques introduced on this course.

By Daanish P

May 1, 2020

wow, this course made my quarantine time :) thanks dr. tara and simon murphy for this beautiful course.

By Terence

May 15, 2020

Very good module. I have learned a lot about how to analyze huge data by using computational skills.

By Daniel N H

Sep 19, 2020

Absolutely gorgeous! It has exceeded my expectations in so many levels that I can't even explain...

By Cecilia G

Jul 5, 2019

Great course, does help to have a background in python so more time can be spent on the activities.

By p v k

May 12, 2019

Outstanding presentation in making even a novice like me understand the fundamentals of the course.

By SOURABH S

Dec 22, 2018

Ultimate Course,A proper mixture of Data Science,Statistics,Machine learning and Astronomy.Loved it

By Abhas P

Jun 26, 2020

Only complaint, there should be an option to save the codes we have written. Even in text format.

By Craig T

Aug 28, 2018

Really good basic intro to data analysis, particularly applying this to the astronomical domain.

By Ivet M

Jun 15, 2018

I've enjoyed a lot this course. I've learnt a lot of things and I would recommend it to everyone

By Adel B

May 27, 2020

Pretty good introductory course for applied data science on astronomy. Overall captivating!

By Thomas M

Aug 14, 2019

Excellent course. One of the best things I learned is that I need to learn statistics now.

By Baibhav N

Feb 7, 2021

Excellent course

Recommended for ml applications in astrophysics and astronomy

Simply class

By Gaston M S R

Dec 15, 2017

Excellent overall Course, fantastic content, teachers and organization. We need more!!!!