Chevron Left
Back to Data-driven Astronomy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data-driven Astronomy by The University of Sydney

4.8
stars
1,241 ratings

About the Course

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

Top reviews

SK

Sep 10, 2020

Really amazing course! Gave me insights into how data analysis works in the field of astronomy and how one can use different machine learning techniques to classify the huge amounts of data generated.

MC

Feb 28, 2020

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 360 Reviews for Data-driven Astronomy

By Gaureesh C

Aug 15, 2020

Great course for Astronomy enthusiasts as well as for people looking to improve coding skills in python, sql and machine learning.

By Yogita P

Jun 12, 2022

This course is really amzing and helpful to learn about astronomy and astroomical data analysis using python and machine learning

By Давыд А

Dec 26, 2021

I just want to say thank you very much! It's a great course. I got acquainted with the basics of big data analysis in astronomy.

By Pier-Francesco R

Jun 17, 2019

It's a good start point if we want to understand actual astronomy and the analysis of new big surveys like SDSS or the next LSST

By John A

Dec 10, 2020

An excellent introduction to the uses and benefits of data science in Astronomy, using real world examples. I really enjoyed it

By Marco P

Sep 14, 2021

Great course and a great opportunity to learn about data analysis, classification of galaxies and astronomy. Very inspiring.

By Abhijeet B

Apr 23, 2020

Excellent course designed to provide a good introduction to data analysis in astronomy with plenty of hands on excercises.

By Timothy J N

Apr 16, 2020

This course really gave me an understanding of the methods of modern astronomy as well as the basics of working with data.

By Dhruv P

Dec 2, 2019

For the first time, I've learnt the application of programming languages in the field of Astronomy. A course worth taking.

By Jeremy J

Jul 24, 2020

Clearly presented overview of necessary techniques in data wrangling with real world, astronomy sourced, coding examples.

By fouchereau r

Jan 15, 2020

Was a pleasure to take this course, It is well balanced between astronomical information and Machine Leargning concepts.

By Aayush K

Jul 1, 2017

A great course that helps one understand the basics of data analysis and how they are used in observational astronomy.

By Carlos N

Apr 19, 2018

It's been a very interesting and enriching point of view of astronomy. I loved the way computing can help astronomy.

By Ted S

May 24, 2017

I've been looking for a class like this for a while. Nice intro to python and accessing and manipulating astro data

By Steve B

Jun 19, 2018

I used it to learn Python which made it more challenging but the content inspired me to get through it... excellent

By Diogo S

Sep 3, 2017

Astonishing course!

From Python basics to Scikit and the universe in a few weeks got smoother than I expected.

By Максим Р

Jan 18, 2023

This course really increased my skills in python and its libraries. Thank you so much for this opportunity!!!

By Gonzalo B

Aug 7, 2018

A great introduction to Data-driven Astronomy and a good way for starting to learn Python by solving problems

By Ahammed A

May 9, 2018

A great course for a good understanding of the tools and the theoretical requisites of data driven astronomy

By Christopher N

May 7, 2022

Great content and exercises. I learned more about modern astronomy and techniques for working with big data.

By Ka W P N

Feb 1, 2022

A high quality course. You could learn not only Astronomy, but also practical application of Python and SQL.

By Ishita -

Mar 26, 2020

if you want to put some hands on the modern of doing observational astronomy, go for it. an amazing course .

By SHUBHAM K

Jul 20, 2019

Great lectures, interactive coursework, and easy to understand yet overwhelmingly powerful concepts! Lovely!

By Martin R T

Oct 26, 2020

An amazing course that everyone interested in Astronomy and programming must take!! I highly recommend it!!

By Caden G

Nov 21, 2020

Very relevant, topical material and some good actual hands-on practice with highly applicable techniques.