Chevron Left
Back to Developing Data Products

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Developing Data Products by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
1,863 ratings
349 reviews

About the Course

A data product is the production output from a statistical analysis. Data products automate complex analysis tasks or use technology to expand the utility of a data informed model, algorithm or inference. This course covers the basics of creating data products using Shiny, R packages, and interactive graphics. The course will focus on the statistical fundamentals of creating a data product that can be used to tell a story about data to a mass audience....

Top reviews

SS

Mar 04, 2016

This is a great introduction to some of the many ways to present your data. It's probably the easiest course in the specialisation but shows off an impressive array of widgets and gadgets.

RS

Nov 19, 2018

This course was amazing, it could definetly be more deep in each of the subjects, but gives you so much practice in tools that are very useful in the day by day of a data scientist

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 348 Reviews for Developing Data Products

By Giovanni M C V

Feb 16, 2016

Excellent course with great didactic. Congratulations!

By Christie M

Jan 09, 2016

Great introduction to available tools to get the job done.

By Pablo O R

Nov 10, 2016

Really nice course.

By Lun X

Apr 21, 2017

Great class!

By Bruno C G

Oct 20, 2016

Great course, a lot of information!

By Ramiro A

Nov 30, 2016

Excellent content and very Practical

By Lauren B

Mar 03, 2016

I loved learning how to build a Shiny application. I know this skill will serve me well moving forward.

By Tan W M

Jun 26, 2016

very useful to design a data product.

By Bassey O

May 03, 2016

Love this course and enjoyed the shiny apps building exercise.

By Avirup N

Mar 07, 2016

Nice demos!!!

By Marcus S S

Feb 26, 2017

Really nice course! It extends our vision of what is possible to build as a data scientist. Strongly recommended!

By Phanikumar T

Aug 28, 2016

Great Course.

By Michael S

May 19, 2018

Excellent course

By Richard I C

Feb 06, 2016

The material is great; and learning to use Shiny and creating an application is a lot of fun.

The only complaint I have with this course was it being put into the new Coursera platform. I felt like I was beta testing the new platform and that distracted from focusing on the course and the assignments within it.

By Amit K

Jun 28, 2017

Wonderful.

By Paul A

Apr 14, 2016

The best course so far and pulls everything together, surprised how much I have learnt over the specilaisation

By jose r

Jul 05, 2018

excellent

By Henk S

Dec 06, 2015

This is my comment as a beta tester:

1) The changes to the lessons have changed the course for the better.

2) If you want to be factually right than the statement that Bootstrap is a style should be changed on a few places. Bootstrap itself is not a style, although it is used as a style guide for the development of products. Obviously this is not a big issue and people that delve into will find the facts easily.

Bootstrap is an HTML, CSS, and JS front-end framework with a strong support for themes which people also call styles. Many themes/styles are available to build responsive, mobile-first web sites. Bootstrap was created by a designer and a developer at Twitter in mid-2010 and was released to the public in August 2011. It has become one of the most popular front-end frameworks and open source projects in the world. Bootstrap has a few easy ways to quickly get started, each one appealing to a different skill level and use case.

By Juan E F N

Sep 01, 2017

Brian Caffo is the best! No one could explain better than him. Congratulations for this excellent course, you are my inspiration to become a better data scientist.

By Jay S

Sep 03, 2016

Excellent Course!

By SATHYANARAYANAN S

Sep 11, 2017

Very good for anyone wanting to get into the field of Data Science using R

By Paul G

Jan 16, 2016

very interesting and useful for R programmers

By Matthew W

Mar 31, 2016

Fun making some apps and presentations in the context of Data Science.

By Chigrinov S

Feb 07, 2016

For me the course was really interesting. Yes, all topics are not covered in deep details - but lecturers show what technologies exist and for what purposes. So if you're interested in some of them - it is up to you to discover more (useful links are included). Really nice and useful overview.

By jose m

Apr 27, 2016

Nice I like a lot, shiny nice tools. thanks to the teachers.